1999 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1999 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 2.5 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82500 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A very study well built car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I was very impressed. Recently, I hit a black bear on a highway in Pennsylvania. I ended up going over the bear rather than into it. (The bear was dead.) After I cleared the bear, I pulled over to see what damage has been done to the car. When I looked, all I could find was a broken fog light. The aluminum wheels weren't even scratched.

I am very impressed with this car. I will most definitely buy another Chrysler in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

8th Aug 2008, 22:57

This is hilarious - you're going to buy another car from Chrysler because you successfully ran a bear over? lol.

1999 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Your typical american car

Faults:

Front right tire magically deflates. (from first day). it happens 4-5 times a year.

Sunroof rattles on every bump @10000.

Vent/AC/heater fan motor rumbles like no other @40000.

Driver side door handle breaks @45000.

Speed censor in transmission shorts out @52000.

E/G valve clogged @55000.

General Comments:

Definitely should have gotten the extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

29th May 2003, 14:43

While I agree with your issues about this car, I have to take exception to your comment that this a typical American car. This is a Mitsubishi, designed and built (based on the Galant) -- IE this is a Japanese car! If you ever looked under the hood you would have seen the very large Mitsubishi Diamond insignia. So when you say that you would not buy another car from this manufacturer I hope that you realize that means a Mitsubishi. I owned two Mitsubishis and would never own another typical Japanese car.

1999 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

It is good, and pretty

Faults:

Well, really my car has gone well through the years, the only problem that I have gotten was the air compressor.

General Comments:

The car is really beautiful, it runs good, all you have to do is to change the oil engine and all that stuff to put the car working.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2003

1999 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A car that leaves me stranded without warning is totally unreliable.

Faults:

Driver's door panel fell off twice. Passenger's door panel fell off once.

Moon roof incorrectly installed.

Leaking valve stem causing tire to be replaced at 4000 miles.

Battery has to be replaced about every 7 months without warning.

General Comments:

The question should be, "What things have "not" gone wrong with the car?" I purchased my 1999 Chrysler Sebring LXi in March 1999. Less than 3 weeks after taking delivery the driver's side door panel came off. The moonroof did not open correctly (the dealership did get this fixed in one trip). After owning the car for about 2 months, the car would pull real hard to the left when I stopped. I checked the tire to find there was only 15 pounds of air in it. The problem was a leaking valve stem. Chrysler would not do any warranty work on a tire. Unfortunately, I had to replace this tire after only 4,000 miles. The driver's door panel fell off a second time. Instead of using the plastic clips to reattach the panel, Chrysler used some sort of glue. About a week later the passenger door panel fell off.

I thought I finally had my car problems under control. Wrong... My car is now exactly 4 years old with 43,000 miles on it. I have just had my fifth new battery installed. The technicians at my 5-Star Chrysler dealership cannot find any drain on the battery. When I got my fourth battery in August 2002, the alternator had to be replaced. Does anyone know what causes these batteries to go bad. The dealership has told me 1) we must have gotten in a bad batch of batteries or 2) the location of the battery next to the engine is a design flaw. The heat from the engine draws the battery down or 3) heat is worse on a battery than cold. My car is parked in a garage at home and at work. Needless to say, I will never buy a Chrysler product again. The Sebring is a beautiful car. Who wants to be stranded every 7 months without warning? Not me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2003

23rd Jan 2004, 13:57

A bad alternator will drain batteries, if you do not realize the alternator isn't working. You will be using the battery all the time, instead of when just starting the engine. I had to recharge my battery once a week until I could afford a new alternator.

28th Feb 2004, 08:59

I have a 98 Sebring convertible that I've had for 2 years. I also have issues with the door panels (just loose... not falling off... yet). I have also experiences multiple dead battery issues in the last few weeks. Heading off today to purchase a new battery (first one). Base on comments above I think I'll pursue an alternator test.. Anyone now an easy method?

27th May 2005, 11:34

We had the same battery problem, but our mechanic, not the dealer came up with a couple of reasons and we've had no problems since.

1. If the seat belts aren't COMPLETELY retracted it drains the battery

2. Be sure the trunk is shut. If you accidentally hit the remote opener, or just don't shut it all the way (which it's sometimes hard to tell because it doesn't just pop all the way open.)

Hope this helps others... other than the battery problem, we love the car.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews