2001 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX1 3.0 Mitsubishi from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Mitsubishi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired504 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres

Summary:

Crippled by manufacturer's politics

Faults:

The transmission, after working PERFECTLY for 112 000 kilometers, just died on the freeway. Cost of repair is over 5000$ (car has not been fixed yet).

The car has never been raced, and maintenance was done at the dealership.

What is worse, is that I just read that the oil was not good in the transmission of this model and the Eclipse, but NO recall has been made from the manufacturer!

The automatic transmission of my last car was still good after 15 years and 359 000 km. So why does that one fail after that little time, and especially so abruptly...

General Comments:

The car is good, or was; good handling, nice look. But because of that crappy transmission, I could be rolling in a nicer car for the total amount.

Never buy Chrysler badged cars http://www.daimlerchryslervehicleproblems.com/

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2006

2001 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

This car is reliable, sporty, and classy

Faults:

The passenger side electric lock will get stuck sometimes and that person will not be able to get in. This happens very infrequently so I'm not going to get it fixed.

I messed up my passenger side front wheel and strut on a huge pothole. Had to replace front struts and I bought a new wheel and tire from a salvage yard for only $120!

General Comments:

There isn't a lot of leg room for the driver and the pedals seem too close to the seat.

The ride is rough on the highway and it seems like I can feel every every bump in the road.

There is plenty of cargo room in the trunk.

The back seat is kind of small and people keep complaining about hitting their head on the light switch.

This car gets surprisingly good gas mileage on the highway. Almost 30mpg.

The only worry I have about this car is the automatic transmission. I waited too long to change the fluid and the mechanic said the fluid was being cooked. Not good. My tranny shifts OK now, but I would advise to get the fluid changed per the maintenance schedule.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

30th Oct 2006, 01:01

I bought a 01 sebring, and for the most part am very pleased with. besides the fact that I had the trans replaced under warranty "yes" lol at about 70000 miles, it has never let me stranded... I agree with the lack of room in the back, it sucks. even more so when you have people in the back anyone that is over 5'10 is jamb up against the steering wheel. Also I have been getting some suspension noise that I have yet to figure out... overall a good fun car... not recommended for family use though... no room.

16th Jun 2009, 16:16

I agree... great cars! Parts are a little $$$, but maintain them (or find one that was properly maintained, if you're looking at buying one), treat them kindly, and they'll love you back. I just can't get past how well they handle.

2001 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

Great car for price

Faults:

The only real problem I have had with this car is the main computer. Luckily car was at my house and was towed to the dealer (had no 1st gear automatic transmission).Which dealer replaced at no cost to me, but dealer had car for 1 week with no loaner.

General Comments:

Car has great styling, as in my opinion of all Chrysler vehicles. Car has great pick up for a six cylinder. But is a little uncomfortable for long drives (not much leg room). Excellent car for the price. Little disappointed that Mitsubishi produces all parts for this car (same as Eclipse) thought I was buying an American made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

30th Jun 2004, 05:53

Just so you know this is an American car, as an owner, I will assure you not only did you buy an American car, but a top notch one. This car is manufactured like most other Chrysler products in MI. The coupe while taken from the Mitsi line is a Chrysler as the wheel base and design do not share mitsi curves or inspiration. I do agree with you that the wheels do not take the abuse of the roads today, but 17 inch wheels on this car make it stand out.

25th May 2005, 15:27

Mitsubishi DID produce this autmobile... it IS the same as an Eclipse - at least in 2001 and 2002. The Sebring Coupe and Stratus Coupe of these years were completed in America... Normal, Illinois to be exact. The engine, transmission and other components are Mitsubishi. PLEASE, research before you speak and confuse others.

1st Feb 2006, 11:46

I too thought I had purchased a American made car. What a disappointment to find otherwise!

4th Aug 2006, 19:27

I have a 2001 Sebring and I have regretted every day since I bought it. The radio recently crapped out, the braking system is poor, The seats sit too low and my head almost hits the roof. The ball joints constantly need replacement. I cannot get steel rims for my snow-tires, because of the wheel stud pattern. I will never buy another Chrysler as long as I live. There is more, but I think you get the idea.

15th Apr 2009, 18:19

The braking system is not poor at all if working properly... drive a V6 Mustang from the same year if you want to see poor braking.

Seat sits low since it's a 2 door coupe... if you wanted to sit high, you should have got a pickup truck. I'm 6'3 and have never hit my head on the roof.

I have yet to replace a ball joint after 30000km I've put on it... and I got the car at 110K.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews