2004 Chrysler Sebring Sedan Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Chrysler Sebring Sedan LX 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

No problems yet.

The air conditioning could be colder and the heating could be warmer.

General Comments:

The 2.7 v6 is very powerful, smooth and quiet. It is also very good on fuel.

The headroom isn't sufficient for a taller person, but there is ample room in the cabin.

The car handles quite well and the interior noise level is minimal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

18th Aug 2005, 21:26

Very sharp looking car, handles well, but I find there is quite a few squeaks in the front end of the vehicle.

5th Sep 2005, 07:28

To quiet the squeaks and noises coming from front end or rear suspension try "spraying all of the rubber bushings and mounts found on the suspension with DOT 3 brake fluid". There is an additive in the brake fluid that keeps rubber soft and flexible, this is needed to keep the seals on the brake calipers from drying up and cracking resulting in brake failure. Put brake fluid in a plastic spray bottle and don't spray any fluid in your eyes or on any painted surfaces.

29th Jan 2006, 09:18

Original post update:

Six months later we now have 74,000kms. The only problem so far was the replacement of the fan blower resistor ($40.00CAN.no big deal and this is a very common problem). Since replacing the resistor and burping the coolant system every now and then, the air conditioning and the heater have been performing much better. The ABS brakes and traction control work excellent in our snowy winter environment. The gas mileage is the same with the V6 2.7 as it was with our I4 97 stratus. We are both very satisfied.

28th Jan 2008, 07:30

Original Poster.

Car is now 2 years older and has 127,000 klms. on it. Just changed the coolant and the heater seems to be working better. Coolant and the blower resistor are the only things replaced so far other than tires. Everything is original including battery, exhaust, brakes, spark plugs etc. It has been a very low maintenance vehicle. Wife just loves the car and the mileage is now a little better than the old 4-cyl. stratus (33 to 34mpg. Can. gallon combined summer driving, 29 to 31 winter). 37mpg. on a 200 mile highway run this past summer. Rides very smooth and quiet. We put 34psi. in the front tires (to compensate for the engine weight) and 32psi. in the back, resulting in the original tires lasting to 95,000 klms. and getting that good gas mileage.

14th Jun 2010, 15:53

Original poster update.

Car now has 185,000klms, and have replaced the upper rear strut mounts and the coolant outlet manifold (both common problems for this year and model). Have also replaced the tie rod ends. The car drives like new. Has been reasonably cheap to maintain. Wife still loves driving it. The only things to replace are the two belts.

17th Jun 2011, 13:52

Thank you for keeping this updated.

2004 Chrysler Sebring Sedan Touring/LXi from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Exceptional car for the price

Faults:

I've had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

I was very impressed with the car. The fit and finish was more than I expected for a car at this price. It had a nice quiet, smooth ride.

The car's performance was more than adequate and handling was surprising for a four door sedan. It felt nimble and responsive and had power when needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2004

2004 Chrysler Sebring Sedan LE 2.7 V6 from United Arab Emirates

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

An Executive Racer

Faults:

None at all. But only 5000 on the car so its early.

General Comments:

Decided to move up to a larger car (from a Skoda Octavia). Looked through a bunch of options in this price range from Chevrolet Epica (Engine too small), Toyota Camry (too boring), Nissan Maxima (too common), Mitsubishi Magna (feels cheap). Final choice was between the Honda Accord (nice car) and the Chrysler Sebring Sedan. Chrysler won out as it had a bigger, faster and smoother engine and the warranty is great (they even threw in 60000 Km worth of free servicing).

Got the LE with the 2.7 V6 (200HP), Autostick, power everything and alloys to boot.

Power delivery is seamless and when you really need to burn rubber it won't disappoint (especially in autostick mode).

Large roomy cabin, comfortable seats, nice dials, good music system, good fit and finish.

Ride is comfortable and more quiet than some more expensive cars.

It is not a common car in Dubai (UAE) so it does get stared at a lot.

Only fault I have found so far is that the car is a little "floaty" at high speeds (110 MPH and above). It doesn't grip the road like my Turbocharged Octavia would. But at lower speeds it handles well.

Best thing about the car is burning all those boy racers in their Nissan Maximas.

P.s: 0-60Mph in 6.5 sec.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

17th Jul 2004, 00:23

0-60 in 6.5 Sec.? That sounds a little unrealistic to me. Car and Driver Magazine did a test of all the main midsize family sedans sold in the U.S. and the Dodge Stratus Sedan R/T with a MANUAL trans. did 0-60 in the mid 7 sec range with the same engine. The Sebring is also not the sport model of the shared platform, it is more of the luxury model. The Nissan Maxima on the other hand, is a car that can do 0-60 in 6.3 sec with a 6-speed manual. My 1991 Nissan Maxima is faster than a V6 Sebring automatic, I know this because I have raced my friends mom's LXi V6 and beat it quite easily. The Sebring is a nice looking car inside and out, but Chrysler's quality control is not up to snuff, nor is it in any class close to the Nissan Maxima.

1st Jan 2005, 15:14

Who knows in that region they may well strip off all the emission controls which could account for better acceleration.

7th Aug 2007, 20:43

Wow... I refuse to believe that. Sebrings are nice, but nowhere near Maxima's quality, especially when it comes to acceleration. Even MY 1991 Maxima tears apart most stock sedans out there from a dead stop, excluding V8 cars.

21st Dec 2009, 01:04

I don't know about 0-60 in 6.5, but it has amazing pick up, especially for a luxury model. With over 75K miles, I haven't had any problems.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews