2001 Chrysler Town and Country Reviews

2001 Chrysler Town and Country LX 3.3 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles

Summary:

Spacious, cheap maintenance, smooth ride. Don't abuse this vehicle and it will last you a long time

Faults:

Passenger window motor got tired; had to replace it.

General Comments:

Love this van. Been on plenty of road trips; it never failed. Engine and trans 100%. Been to the shop maybe 2 times since I got it. Turns on everyday. Spacious, however I wish I had the LXi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2011

2001 Chrysler Town and Country Limited FWD 3.8L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres

Summary:

This is the best mini van on Earth. Better than any 2010, 2011 or anything else

Faults:

Oxygen sensor went; nothing happened, it just sucked back a lot of gas.

Power liftgate stopped working. Had to do it manually; that was sad.

Headlights fogged up, all it does is age the car, but getting that done soon.

General Comments:

This car is the best I've ever owned. Planning to keep it for a very long time.

Very comfy and very powerful, and has lots of torque. This van also has so many other pros that I can't say them all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2010

2001 Chrysler Town and Country LX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

I really like this van

Faults:

New transmission @ 100,000 miles.

2nd transmission @ 200,000 miles.

Battery replaced @ 216,000.

Thermostat replaced @ 200,000.

Fuel pump @ 180,000.

Presently needs a new muffler.

General Comments:

I call this van my big, fat American van! I really love it. I have 4 kids, and it runs and runs. I can easily fit them and their friends. It always starts right up. Very dependable. I know Fords and Chryslers are notorious for their transmissions.

This van is not great on gas mileage.

All in all, I am glad we bought it, it has been very dependable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2010

2001 Chrysler Town and Country LX 3.3 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good van if you keep to the maintenance schedule!

Faults:

Have gone through two water pumps, though we don't tow anything.

The driver's side power window went out at 70,000 miles.

The rear windshield wiper stopped working last week.

Brakes wear out a little quicker than with other vehicles because the van is so heavy.

Otherwise, everything else still works fine!!

General Comments:

We bought our Town and Country used from our local dealer 6 years ago. I was nervous to take it on, having heard so many bad things about Chrysler products, but I have to say that I have been pleasantly surprised by the reliability of the van.

We did have odd water pump issues (we're on the third water pump) although we don't tow anything. But that's really the only major problem we've had with the van.

The transmission is still working fine, as does the air conditioner, and even the power door, and the van still looks great after all this time!

I did notice that we do go through brakes a little faster in the van, and if you're looking for good gas mileage, this thing sucks gas like a pig, even with the 3.3 V6.

Otherwise, if you are willing to stick to the maintenance schedule, this could be a good affordable family vehicle for you.

I know a lot of people with Town and Countrys near the same year as mine that are still dependable and on the road, and they too keep to the maintenance schedule. So don't push off the maintenance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2010

2001 Chrysler Town and Country Ltd V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Lots of nice bells and whistles, but a very poorly designed and built car. Shame on Chrysler

Faults:

Sliding door motors and rear door motors have all failed twice; first at about 10K, and then again at about 30K.

Rear wing window motors failed at 35K.

Battery failed at 15K and has just failed again.

Air compressor failed at 36K.

Air conditioner leaked out also at 36K.

Car began to stall recently. It was something attached to the transmission. Had to replace.

Brakes wear very quickly and have had to replace often.

Now it is making a loud noise (sounds like a school bus engine idling) both at idle and driving.

General Comments:

I have had mostly Honda Accords (still have one that is my backup for when the T&C fails), and am not used to major repair costs on a car with such low miles. I need a reliable mini-van as I pick up 6 children for car pooling. I am ready to trade this one in, but not sure what to get instead.

I will not get another Chrysler; way too many headaches.

Gas consumption is excessive as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2010

1st Mar 2013, 09:12

I don't think 2001 was such a good year for these vehicles. The newer ones are better I believe.

2nd Mar 2013, 11:05

Before you buy your next truck/car or SUV, read the new Consumer Reports Annual auto issue that is due out this month. It will give the good and bad vehicles made today... both new and used. Last year's issue has a section for the worst of the worst vehicles made between 2001 to 2010. About 25 cars made the list. The Chrysler Town and Country, Dodge Caravan and Dodge Grand Caravan are on that list.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews