1989 Citroen AX Reviews

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Underrated come on nova boys :-)

Faults:

Hand brake cable and rear near side drum ceased.

Small hole in the boot.

Immobilizer plays up when cold.

General Comments:

Brilliant car if kept maintained and looked after mines 1 lady owner until me and a full services history it runs like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Great fun and a great buy - keep them on the road!

Faults:

The carburettor started to tighten up and parts needed replacing.

Head gasket blew at 90,000 miles (due to ragging).

Bit of wear in seats.

Many bulbs needed replacing.

General Comments:

This is a great little car and you won't regret owning one, even if it is just a run-around.

My old car was and AX 1.1 and you can really feel the difference in speed between the two.

Spares can be expensive if you buy from Citroen. A head gasket, for example, will set you back around £45. However, the GT actually uses the same engine as the Peugeot 205 XS and GT, so many parts are available at scrap yards.

The interior carpets and other fittings are fine and the seats are especially comfortable.

Pedal layout is annoying, but you will get used to it.

I have managed to recondition and fit a new engine for as little as £250- so there is still an opportunity to keep high-milers on the road.

Before the car needed engine replacement it was incredibly reliable and always started first time- even in the winter.

A cheap and thoroughly fun reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2003

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carNone none

Summary:

Bargain and its only a 1.4!

Faults:

Does anyone own an AX with the Side mirror stalks still working? both mine snapped off and me mates!

General Comments:

Great car stuck together with bluetac though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

24th Nov 2003, 05:22

Yeah I've got an AX with everything working and still in one piece (including the door mirror stalks!!) even though it's a 1989 TGE with 99000 miles on the clock it still goes like a bomb!!

2nd Jul 2004, 10:46

The adjuster stalks are liable to break easily due to Citroen making them that way, Citroen say it's a safety feature in case of accidents.

2nd Apr 2006, 15:29

The replacement stalks are about £3.00 from a Citroen main dealer.

All you have to do to replace them is to remove the inner door trim, Then remove the mirror from the door and it pops off the ball joint - It's pretty easy and takes about half an hour to do!

3rd Apr 2006, 03:51

Yes they are made very cheaply, but have you seen what that does to the weight, my misses had a 1.0 and in the manuel it had the weight as 650kg! That's 210kg lighter than a nova and 700kg lighter than my scooby. Although it had 6 times less power. But where can you buy a car that light these days?

1989 Citroen AX TXI 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles

Summary:

Fun, but it won't impress anyone

Faults:

The end of the exhaust pipe had to be replaced when I went for the MOT (£47.00). Other than that nothing apart from it took some time to start after rain...

General Comments:

I had little money when I bought the car, so I knew what I was going for. That's why I went for a left-hand-drive. It had spent most of its life in sunny Italy so there was no rust. The owners were great so no problems there.

Basically it got me from A to B and NEVER broke down. OK it's ugly, but at least LHD made it a bit different.

It got me from London to Valencia and back with two friends and although it wasn't the most comfortable journey we made it on a shoestring.

I would never get one again, only because now I have a Xantia, but it was well worth it when I was poor. And would do it again it I had to...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72550 miles
Most recent distance89790 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A technological masterpiece!!

Faults:

My alternator went.

Radiator been replaced.

C-V Boot worn, causing knocking noise round corners.

Brake Shoes.

Drums.

Brake disks and pads (been replaced with G-Spot Grooved Disks and Red Dot pads)

General Comments:

An absolutely brilliant ride.

A car you fall in love with.

My aim is to get mine in Max Power and other car magazies.

Got twin webber 40s, skimmed head, high performance clutch plate, and Kent fast road cam.

Front bumper modified with mesh inserts, Clio spot lights, and m3 front splitter smoothed onto bumper.

Bad Boy bonnet with GTi R bonnet scoop, musketeer rear bumper with exhaust in middle, flushed boot, 15" alloy wheels.

Lowered 110mm rear 75mm front, with adjustable shocks.

Loads more mods are on their way!!

I've had loads of cars and this is definitely the best!! No doubt about it. It is undoubtedly one of the finest hot hatches ever made!

Extremely good car.

Surprising how many other high performance cars you can beat!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews