1989 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GT

Summary:

Great fun and runs forever

Faults:

Starter motor failed, after 80,000 miles.

Alternator failed after 65,000 miles.

The odd wheel bearing etc.

General Comments:

Very easy to work on.

Engine strong as it's a Pug TU unit, AX GT has a high lift cam as standard.

Torque very reasonable.

Very useful around town due to excellent 0-40's.

Great road go-kart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2000

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carTriumph Spitfire

Summary:

Best performing car in insurance group 10!

Faults:

Gearbox bearing gone (£750 for a reconditioned gearbox).

CV joints.

Rear suspension.

General Comments:

Not bad looking and handling is not too bad although the ride height is quite high so it does roll quite a lot.

The thing squeaks like hell. On long journeys the radio must be turned up or else you'll go mad.

However it is the fastest non-turboed beast that you can buy so floor it in a straight line and you forget about the squeaks.

It also comes with central locking and electric windows as standard. So you've got to weigh up the pros and cons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

28th Apr 2001, 15:53

Why buy a replacement gearbox for the same amount as the car is worth?

5th Aug 2001, 04:56

Get it lowered, it makes the car look amazing and puts a stop to all that body roll. Handling will also be much improved.

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX TRS

Summary:

Quite groovy for a chick

Faults:

Electric windows - passenger side window has come off its runners.

Sideskirt came loose.

Rear seats squeak like mad.

General Comments:

As a female I was slightly frightened by the "GT" badge. I feel that it's a fast and fun car.

It accelerates quickly and surprisingly can take corners just as well as any other. I have kept up with a Saxo VTR and blew away a Nova 1.3 SR. I totally recommend it to young boy racers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

27th Nov 2000, 06:46

What do you mean a chicks car???????

2nd Dec 2000, 15:52

I cured most of the squeaks in the interior of my AX 1.5 diesel by careful determination of the source of the noise and then applying a small amount of WD40 by a special nozzle or cloth.

3rd Jan 2001, 16:25

Does anyone else have problems with the electric windows. The runner that the window sits on keeps coming off the electric arm in the door, and I don't know what to do?

31st Jan 2001, 21:40

Want to make it go even faster? Get a K&N filter, a full sports exhaust and give it a rolling road tune and it'll eat VTR's for breakfast... mine does!

19th May 2001, 05:22

What about us old 33 year old boy racers, it's like getting your youth back again - great little car.

Goes like hot snot - even with a fat lardy inside it.

Only one thing - I can't find a place for my carpet slippers and pipe.

23rd Jul 2001, 17:09

The reason the window mechanism comes off its runners is because the hinge pivot on the actuator arm is broken. This is quite common and can only be remedied by buying a new one. Is this my old car?! G*** DPJ?!!!

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Fast, cheap and feels it

Faults:

Electric windows - faulty.

Heater squeaks like mad and drives you crazy.

Wheel bearings need replacing.

General Comments:

The car is frighteningly quick off the mark. Beats all the Nova boys especially the sad 1.4SR.

The car as standard looks good and the 0-60 time with some mods should be sub 9 seconds. Not bad for a car that cost only £900

Handling is not bad but needs to be lowered for ultimate cornering.

Build quality lets it down as it feels like it's been glued together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

4th Jan 2001, 14:47

Use WD40 on the heater blower motor to stop the squeaking noise. My AX GT 500 is better than Hans' Beemer 318 coz it's faster and has got a leather interior.

29th May 2001, 13:59

My car is now starting to splutter now. Especially below 3000rpm. I think it could be that the carb is blocked up with carbon.

I am now looking for a rare white AX GTI. I own a 89 black GT and although it looks smart, you cannot beat a white one.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews