1989 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from Norway

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carToyota Carina

Summary:

Crazy fast car!!!

Faults:

The radiator was broken.

That's all there is.

General Comments:

Very fast car! Fun to drive.

With 185/60-13 tyres it's stuck to ground! There's no way to drive out of the road. You can cut corners in whatever speed you want and you're still on the road! I have reached 120 mph, but it still had more to go. I had to brake down because there was no more straight road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

1989 Citroen AX 10E 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

Have recently bought this car with three months tax and seven months MOT for £170. It needs a little tidying, and is hardly the fastest thing around but it has averaged 62 mpg which is what I need as my other car is a 2.5 V6 Cavalier which at best does 32 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles

Summary:

It's a Prince Naseem on wheels!!

Faults:

Clutch, carb, brakes, starter motor and ball joints.

General Comments:

What a fantastic little car. I have had nearly all of the hot hatches and as far as value for money and great FUN goes then this is the car!

Its fast 1.4 engine doesn't have quite the same kick as the 1.9 205 GTi (well you would not expect it to!) However it's like a little Prince Naseem on wheels, where does the power come from?

If you're thinking of buying a Nova GTE or XR2 in the same price range, wake up! This car is quicker, better looking, faster around bends and is more fun to drive than any of its rivals!

Comfortable sports seats and round switches with dials is still cool which is not bad for a late 80's hot hatch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

1989 Citroen AX TRE 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 XLD

Summary:

Biggest pile of unwashed pants

Faults:

Alternator, alternator, alternator and the alternator. Wheel balance permanently out.

General Comments:

Not strictly mine - it's my friends but I drive it from time to time. I have to say this is the biggest bag of spanners to come from France! Performance is poor at the best of times - 0-60 in about 14 secs - I drive a 205 diesel and average it in 11 secs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

1st May 2001, 16:03

Which cliff have you pushed your 205 off specifying that acceleration data?

BTW I achieved to improve my 11TREs acceleration from 13.7 to 11.3 only with driving it properly.

9th Jun 2001, 03:56

My first car was a 1.1 RE and it had a 0-60 of 10.2 seconds as standard, so either you can't drive or your car's shagged!

14th Mar 2005, 06:31

11 seconds- I very much doubt it! I've had a 205 diesel and mine did it in about 16s, down a hill!

29th Mar 2006, 06:36

Hey concerning the first comment about the "AX TRE", there is no problem with the alternator, Iv'e beaten auto electricians to it!!! its just the wiring loom from the alternator to the starter then to the battery, problem can be resolved by cutting an old jump lead to size, putting on the right connectors then literally go from the back of the alternator were the original wire comes from to the positive side of the battery, sorted, and this and my advice has saved loads of pounds too many people anything else just ask!!!

Speedyfudge@hotmail.co.uk.

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

It's a hairdryer in a crisp packet!

Faults:

One brake line snapped - bit dodgy!! & the gear box - but it's okay, we just tied it back together again!! Fun stuff.

General Comments:

Really quick! For a first car after only having driven a diesel learner car it was a bit of a shock to race all of my boy racer friends in turbos and the like and win!! I did (do) drive a bit quick though!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

1989 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

I have had the AX GT for about 5 months, and not much has gone wrong, apart from a brake problem (compensator )and the dash bulbs tend to blow many times....

Apart from many rattles it seems to be quite a good car....... SO far!!!!!

General Comments:

The little car is quite fast, with good acceleration. At higher speeds the car tends to shake and rattle a bit.

Bodywork very very thin, and can dent very easily!!!

The Citroen AX GT is generally a very good fast small car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews