1993 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1993 Citroen AX Neon 954cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 954cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

The best decision I ever made

Faults:

A few problems with battery connections, but these were easily resolved by a good mechanic.

The paintwork is beginning to peel in some places, such as the driver door and boot.

An ongoing worry is the way the car is affected by high winds, which can make for unnerving driving.

General Comments:

This car is really cheap to run, the insurance is a bargain due to the small engine and I can do over 300 miles on a full tank of petrol (costing £25!)

All in all it has been a very reliable car, and was extremely cheap to repair after a shunt in the rear, as the boot is made of fibreglass.

It goes surprisingly fast considering the tiny engine as the car is so light although the speed can be affected considerably by carrying more than 1 passenger.

The car is comfortable for driver and passengers, but I would not recommend it for anyone who considers themselves tall as there is not much space in the cockpit. Ideal if you're short like me though as everything is within reach - even the passenger window winder!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

1993 Citroen AX Echo 1.4 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance96500 miles

Summary:

A student's dream car

Faults:

Cylanoid replaced at 93,500 miles.

Replaced brake pipe mountings for MOT.

Heater switch replaced just recently.

General Comments:

I find this car very pleasant to drive, the seats are comfortable and the car has a nice feel to it.

The engine is quick for a diesel, though you do have to 'floor it' to get any real acceleration. For overtaking, I usually find it helps to drop to 3rd gear.

There is not all that much space in the rear (though I am over six foot), but there is plenty of space for front seat passengers.

Overall, this is a brilliant car which can be had for under a grand, it will cost you pittance for fuel (I get 65+ miles per gallon) and I have had to do practically no maintenance work on the car.

I would definitely purchase another Citroen if this one is anything to judge them on, highly recommended!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2002

13th Oct 2003, 04:10

What on earth is a Cylanoid? Sounds like something from Dr.Who!

13th Oct 2003, 10:59

Isn't it a poison pill?!! (I Know I know cyanide)

Den.

1st Jan 2004, 09:56

I think "Cylanoid" might mean "Solenoid", as on the starter motor?

1993 Citroen AX Debut 1.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance101250 miles

Summary:

A decent, frugal and likeable small car

Faults:

Minor oil leak seems to have stopped by itself.

A little smokey when it starts up sometimes, but not surprising on an AX with this much mileage!

Other than that it has no real problems.

General Comments:

Makes a good first car as it is cheap to run and repair, plus insurance is OK compared to Fiestas and Novas.

For a 1.0i it is very quiet and goes very well and manages alright with 4 people inside.

The brakes are appalling and take a bit of getting used to, especially in the wet when heavily loaded as it simply won't stop!

The flimsy bodywork is covered in dents and scratches, including a shallow leg mark where the previous owner clearly nudged the door shut with her leg and dented the bodywork!

It does not feel very solid, but this does mean it is very light and economical.

It has a comfortable ride and handles fairly well, making it nice to drive, although the pedals are badly positioned, making long distance travel very uncomfortable as you need to have your foot on one side to press the accelerator right down (where it will spend most of its time!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

1993 Citroen AX Cascade 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance94500 miles

Summary:

Looks good, feels good, but a bit on the slow side

Faults:

Thermostat has broken.

Rear light bulbs and some interior bulbs have blown.

Radiator hose blown due to old age.

New battery needed.

I am worried that the head gasket may have blown or will blow soon.

General Comments:

The car is very easy to maintain, with the opportunity for many do it yourself repairs.

The 1.0l engine is quite underpowered and becomes quite hoarse at 60+MPH.

It is very cheap to run; almost runs on fumes.

Can be upgraded and modified to look quite stylish.

Handles the road quite well. The steering occasionally feels on the heavy side, but is generally OK.

Gear change feels fine, sometimes crunches getting into reverse.

Pedal layout is awkward and takes some getting used to.

Very comfortable seats and ride with good positioning.

Rear leg room a bit cramped, but comfortable ride.

Very poor security. Poor locks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

7th Oct 2002, 04:45

Sounds like a clone of my 1.0i AX Debut! They can do the mileage, that is for sure... and I wouldn't worry about the head gasket - I thought mine was going, but it is just a bit tired and smokes/whistles a bit - has done 2,500 miles on that with no problems!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 27 reviews