1994 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1994 Citroen AX 1.1i petrol from Portugal

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres

Summary:

A very fragile car, but a low price and great performance!

Faults:

Brakes (all) and engine thermostat.

General Comments:

It is a very cheap car with a very, very nice performing engine! Bur, it has a lousy handling. If you are expecting to "drive safe" in this car, just forget it. This is a fragile car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

17th Dec 2000, 18:54

I disagree. This car has excellent handling properties, at least if you know how to drive a front-wheel drive car, and if of course all components are in good condition.

It handles like a kart, both on wet and dry roads.

23rd Dec 2000, 12:16

Unfortunately I must say that I agree with this 'bad handling' subject. Compared with other similar cars, the Citroen AX is by far the worst!

30th Jan 2001, 12:21

I also agree, the handling is diabolical. I have driven £50 Minis which handle better. Traction is bad also.

17th Apr 2001, 12:19

I think that the AX is very poor, but the AX GTi is simply the best of the smaller cars, it has nothing to do with the other AX`s. It brakes well, and accelerate even greater, it turns fast and it is beautiful. THANKS.

12th Jul 2001, 17:27

Well... The AX rides OK, however don't abuse of it, except the GT, GTI.

If something goes wrong... the paramedic will find you somewhere in the middle of the dash and the gear box.

1994 Citroen AX 14 TGS 1.4i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 kilometres
Most recent distance63000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A real mini Grand Turismo

Faults:

Brake discs replaced (warped).

Imperfect balanced wheels.

General Comments:

Very complete 5-door version (central-locking, electric windows, velour seat-covers etc.) with very long gearing.

Handling and comfort are good, performance is fantastic.

Quality is much better compared to the first generation AX. But the idea of a major collision with this car scares me.

Dislikes are the one-blade wiper and the fact you can't open the boot with one hand.

But most of all, it's fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2000

14th Dec 2000, 15:21

You may be scared of what happens in a major collision, but the AX has such an enormous amount of built-in safety with its excellent road holding and performance, that I consider it much safer than many other cars - if you are capable of utilising its driveability.

3rd Jan 2001, 11:53

I own an '89 AX 11RE, although the handling is boatlike and the power is anything but awesome I love it, but like you the thought of smashing it terrifies me because of the tin-can body.

1994 Citroen AX Forte 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Wow!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

What a superb small car... amazing economy (averaged 62mpg on a recent touring holiday in Cornwall which included a round trip of 600 miles from home) and impressive performance, nice and comfortable and well equipped too. It's cost me next to nothing to run for 4 years, never let me down, starts first time, every time, and actually looks quite good too!

My wife loves it, and it will be very hard to find a suitable replacement. Only negative factor is the relatively light-weight bodywork, which does pick up dents and scratches quite easily, otherwise, a terrific car which we have used a lot, and value highly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2000

1994 Citroen AX Echo 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A competent little hatch, but suspect reliability and woeful handling

Faults:

Not much actually:

Brake discs were replaced 3 times in 12 months.

A few dash lights went, mainly due to poor quality wiring loom and connectors.

General Comments:

It was my first new(ish) car and I was pleased with it at the time I bought it.

Nothing major went wrong in the 12 months I owned it, it started first time every time, and it got me from A to B in a reasonable amount of comfort and time.

With the rear seats removed it also came in handy for shifting things like fridges, washing machines, like a mini estate really, but oh how I whinged about its whining little hairdryer under the bonnet, its lack of power, its tinny bodywork, its dodgy workmanship and its plastiky interior.

But worst of all is its handling, DON'T LET ANYBODY TELL YOU THAT THIS CAR HANDLES WELL, it will swap ends just like that, and did on many occasions. Corners that could be taken flat at 80mph in the old Jetta could only be tackled at around 40mph in the AX PATHETIC.

I got shot of the car after only 12 months and with 3 years finance left to pay, that's how desperately I wanted to be rid of it in the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

17th Jun 2007, 13:16

I'm not surprised that you got through brake-disks at a high rate, and bad handling if you carted washing machines around in it!

OK, handling isn't brilliant in the first place, but the echo at least isn't set-up as a sports car, it has no anti-roll bar in the rear suspension for example. With a washing machine in the back, I will bet it wallows like a drunken hippo!

It's designed as an inexpensive everyday runabout, and as such they are brilliant.

1994 Citroen AX Echo 1.4 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.4 diesel
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Head gasket at 47,000.

Speedo cable at 65,000.

Otherwise only the normal service does.

General Comments:

Super car for running about town - very economical and easy to drive, light and willing. Performance is very respectable, sometimes surprising but quirky and fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

1994 Citroen AX Jive 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Cylinder head gasket, timing belt and alternator belt all replaced. 4th complete set of front shock absorbers in 3 years. Headlamp and dash bulbs blow regularly.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive but it's quite slow when three or more people are in it. Some parts can be expensive but just don't buy from the main dealer. Tyres are expensive and hard to find. 220 miles on just £10 of unleaded makes up for some expensive parts. Starts every time even from under thick snow. Buy one now!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

24th Jun 2006, 11:57

Unusual that you say that tyres were expensive and hard to find - I had no problems whatsoever getting tyres for my AX during the ten years I owned it, and from a wide variety of fast-fit outlets. Average cost was £35 per tyre incl. balancing etc (Continental brand).

Did have problems with dashboard lamps blowing quite frequently as it's a pig of a job to replace them - especially getting the speedometer cable back on once the instrument panel is back in position.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews