1994 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Citroen AX Jive Diesel 1.4 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96050 miles
Most recent distance98500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Highly economical tin can

Faults:

The heater fan stopped working. This could be a bit annoying when it rained, as the windscreen constantly misted over. Finally found out it was a faulty switch, and was replaced. But wasn't cheap!

The gear lever seems to be very sloppy. Although actual gear change is quite crisp, the lever itself seems to move all over the place. Can make getting it into gear a bit hit or miss.

General Comments:

This is a very nice car to drive. I bought it mainly for the economy, but thinking it would be the typical Citroen - noisy, basic, and dated. But this isn't the case at all. It's very comfortable, the interior looks quite modern for a 9 year old car, and it's extremely nippy!

But of course, the best point of having a diesel is the fuel economy. And that's also excellent, it easily manages 65+ mpg. And it's also quite cheap to insure, unlike a lot of other diesels.

I think the Citroen AX is also quite a stylish car. It's styling is very unique, and I think it's much better than the Peugeot 205s of this age. I can see why Citroen carried on making the car for as long as they did.

The only problem I've ever found, is that a lot of Citroen's and Peugeot's are very difficult to fix when things go wrong. Parts are expensive to replace and difficult to get to, and main dealer services are quite expensive.

The car has certainly restored my faith in Citroen, and diesel cars as a whole.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

1994 Citroen AX Debut 1.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A cheap run about!

Faults:

New tyres on the front wear badly.

Drive shaft at 35K

New discs and pads at 31K

Donking noise from front wheels, mechanics have had a look, but can't find whats wrong.

Heater fan switch broken, would cost £170 to fix!

General Comments:

A good economical quirky car that can do 55mpg even with my heavy right foot! It quite nippy round town. Loses on the motorway with its 4 gears. Handles well even when loaded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2002

29th Jul 2002, 18:20

Same problem with my AX Echo - Knocking is rust behind the brake disc exceeding 0.1mm.

The Heater switch (and motor) I picked up from my local scrap yard at a total cost of £15.00 - a Haynes manual tells you how to install it.

Don't know who quoted the £170?

21st Oct 2002, 11:04

Similar problems with my AX Jazz, heater switch broken, 3 lots of drive shafts, 3 lots of brake disc's, constant uneven wear of brake pads and front tyre's. But in spite of all that, I love it! I have had the car 6 years now and I admit, she is getting on a bit, been round the block a few times (and the country) but still plenty of life left.

1994 Citroen AX Debut 1.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A nippy economical car

Faults:

New wheel bearing.

Due to warped brake discs, new brake pads and the discs have been replaced. Citroen parts are not cheap with pads and discs costing £110 including labour, and £58 for the wheel bearing.

General Comments:

Very quick for a little 1.0 car although it has a poor top speed. 4 speed gearbox means that the engines does rev a bit on the motorway.

Petrol lasts forever even if you drive hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

2nd Jun 2003, 09:05

Brake discs and pads are not expensive. I suggest you may have been ripped off. Brake pads are about 5 quid each, discs are about 7 quid each.

1994 Citroen AX 1.4 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi

Summary:

Cures you of wanting to buy Citroen cars for life

Faults:

Radio stop working at 13 months old.

Head gasket blew at 62,000 miles.

Clutch arm broke off at 23 months old.

Eats light bulbs including dashboard ones (£50 to replace them at a Citroen garage, hell to do because of the bad design).

Headlight mounts break (two new headlights to get it through one MOT).

Two more clutch repairs.

Gear-box repair.

Lots more stuff too.

Last few months:

4 sets of front brake pads.

3 sets of front discs.

1 set of front calipers.

It got so silly the dealer stop charging at the full rate.

Still vibrated on braking though.

January spending so far about £500.00:

Calipers above.

1 battery.

Two front wish bone bearings (vibration stopped).

4 glow plugs.

One plug stripped the thread in the engine block.

1 engine block repair.

General Comments:

I bought this car because I wanted low fuel consumption. What you save on fuel and insurance is dwarfed by the running costs. The 1360 aluminium diesel engine is well known in the trade as being a duff design. Get rid of it is most expert's advice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

16th Aug 2001, 17:25

I have owned a 1994 Citroen AX 1360cc diesel from new. It now has 136000 miles on the clock. It has been serviced every six thousand miles (almost!), but not by Citroen as they are extortionately expensive.

Problems:

Broken clutch arm after 8 months - warranty repair. No problems since.

Radio broken, replaced under warranty.

Had to replace 2 sets of boot lid hinges (the welded bits!). Previous sets snapped for no apparent reason.

Stop solenoid valve replaced twice after the original and the second one leaked from the connector on top.

Eats dashboard bulbs, have given up replacing them, as it's a real pain to remove the dashboard.

Had to have both CV joints replaced (at different times) after the CV joint gaiters split - I think these components are made from butter, as they fail very quickly when the gaiters split, and they're not cheap!

All niggly faults, all repaired quickly.

Engine has been very reliable, car is extremely comfortable, although not exactly sporty. Seem to be able to fit most of the known universe in the boot, despite the small size, with a bit of thought given to packing! Very economical even when thrashed up and down the motorway every day for 7 years.

Generally pleased with it. Always worth getting it serviced properly.

Don't forget it's a diesel and cheap. Don't expect Ferrari handling and performance!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews