1997 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1997 Citroen AX Dimension 994cc petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 994cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Cheap insurance, Cheap car to run

Faults:

Air filter had never been changed by the previous owner, and was over 3years old! This severely hampered performance, but was inexpensive and easy to change.

Plastic feeder hose for the rear washer jet split, causing my rear passengers to get soaked every time I washed the rear screen, this was cheap to replace, but wasn't easy and took a lot of time.

General Comments:

The car is quite nippy right through the gearbox, but the top end speed is poor.

Nice looking, GT-Spoiler and body colored bumpers add style.

Seats are a bit soft, and are OK on short journeys. But on longer distances they become rather uncomfortable.

The car was involved in several minor accidents. I found the parts to be reasonably cheap and extremely easy to fit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

21st May 2003, 12:39

I would disagree with the seat "problem" I think the seats are brilliant really comfortable.

8th May 2004, 05:14

I think the top end speed is good I don't no how you can complain about doing 110mph in a 1.1 when most do about 90mph.

17th Jun 2004, 14:42

I am a 17 year old girl and the Citroen Ax is my first car. There were a few little things that needed amending such as a few bumps and bruises, but nothing major. The car is fantastic and just adequate for my needs. The fuel consumption is great and hardly ever needs filling up. This type of car is great and is ideal for my first car. Definitely a good buy!!!

2nd Sep 2004, 17:11

Its the most comfortable seats, what is the guy on about?

I have a black AX forte and to be honest for what it is there isn't anything I dislike about it.

18th Oct 2004, 04:58

I have just bought an AX (1994) and was truly surprised at the comfort of the seats - excellent. In my opinion, they are unusually comfortable for today's cars. I also find it quiet, very nippy if required, and economical.

4th Mar 2005, 15:32

OK, Sorry guys & gals. I was wrong. My seats were obviously just abused by the previous owner.

I must admit, my friends seats in his 1989 G-reg AX are more comfortable than mine ever were.

6th Apr 2005, 14:34

Agree with your review (except the seat thing!), and my AX has the same thing with the rear window.

I have never bothered to get it fixed though, as you said it looks quite a pain to do.

3rd Nov 2008, 11:54

There was no 994 cc AX I'm afraid. It was a 958cc TU9 engine.

The same as used in the 205, 106 and Saxo. It performs best however in the lightweight AX.

16th Jul 2013, 20:34

That's weird, 994cc was listed on the V5 document.

1997 Citroen AX injection 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Summary:

Fast, furious and cheap

Faults:

The body kit becomes faded and loose.

There is a bit of rattling, but that's nothing, and the AX is a pain in the ass to get a decent set of alloys for it; I got a wicked set from AEZ.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and I love it. For a 1.1i, it canes all me mate's Novas clean off the start. The speed off the mark is shockingly fast.

When I finish my first year's no claims, if I complete it LOL I will buy an AX GT. These cars will easily beat over most hatchbacks like Novas Clios and Corsas.

0-60 in 8 seconds and top speed 110mph, and that's just in a 1.1i. The AX GT must be rapid.

A good point about this car is that it is cheap to repair the bodykit e.g AX GT bumper brand new cost me 60 bucks, that's dirt cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

25th Nov 2002, 13:43

Erm, 8 seconds in the 1.1i? You've got to be joking. Maybe if You had just a drivers seat and a steering wheel no doors or nothing. I don't reckon I'd get near that in my standard GT. Tip, get a stopwatch out.

17th Aug 2004, 22:35

Dude, the forte model was also a 1.4 which had similar performance to the gt. that'll be what you've got.

11th Feb 2006, 09:21

Hey...! I've got an 1.1i white AX and it is rally fast! with changed exhaust and with all seats doors and all standard eq has 0-100 10 sec. and top speed is 183km/h :) Bite the dust :) )

15th Feb 2006, 07:20

Seriously, its more like 13 seconds for 0-60...

15th Feb 2006, 13:02

Best not to respond to silly pisstakers, just ignore them

25th May 2006, 05:18

Right - let me see - my 2.5l BMW 3 series coupe has a 0-60 of 7.3seconds. My old Clio 172 Cup, tuned to 185bhp had a 0-60 of around 6seconds.

Can you even believe yourself when you type that an 1100cc engine can do 0-60 in 8seconds?

Ha ha ha ha ha - oh damn, I've broken a rib!

21st Feb 2008, 12:51

0-60mph in 8 seconds?!! I was sure it only took 5 seconds! The GT model did it in 2.8 seconds.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews