2002 Citroen Berlingo Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2002 Citroen Berlingo Multispace 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 107

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

Exhaust system replaced at 30,000.

General Comments:

A versatile car with a huge carrying capacity. Basically a converted van, it drives like a car and can keep up with most on the German autobahns.

Not a thing of beauty, it has great space and is very comfortable for a 6.3 height person to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

2002 Citroen Berlingo forte 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12552 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Good value for money!

Faults:

Brakes have been squeaking since (approx) 3000 miles.

Had an independent garage take a look, they could find no problems. Brakes still squeak, usually, when coming to a dead stop.

I have noticed other commercial Berlingos suffer the same problem?

General Comments:

Bought ours new in October 2002, no major problems so far.

For a large car with only a 1.4 engine, it performs very well, accelerating as fast as other traffic, and fuel consumption is pretty good.

As mentioned by other reviews, can roll when taking sharp bends. But I understand this is common with such tall vehicles?

Brilliant for our 3 young girls, with plenty of space in boot for large dog, pram, and everything we need on a family day out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

25th Jul 2005, 03:02

Has anyone else received a recall letter from Citroen recently, asking for their Berlingo to be brought in and fitted with new suspension cups on each front suspension spring? Taking my car in next Tuesday. Brakes still squeaking!

15th Dec 2005, 04:55

Has anyone had any problems with a knocking sound from under the the berlingo - cups fitted, but this problem has been persistent especially with passengers and over rough roads.

Suspension? but what? otherwise car is OK.

2002 Citroen Berlingo Multispace 1.4 I from Malaysia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 I Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Try her out and she will surprise you

Faults:

Air-bag light keeps blinking due to sensitive switch. To be replaced under 3 year warranty.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Very versatile vehicle.

Thought I was downgrading from my ZX, but this car handles just as well except there is some roll on the tight corners... but can still attack the corners.

Holidays with the family is absolute fun. Can take in whatever the kids want to bring along.

45 liters will fill her up giving me a range anywhere between 580kms to 700kms.

Will cruise at 120km/h and top a little around 155 km/h. Cross winds will push her, but trust her and keep focused ahead and all will be well.

20,000 km servicing intervals are excellent. Cost of maintenance has dropped a lot for me. Just about to take her in for 80,000 kms and the engine still purrs along and petrol consumption is constant. Doesn't seem to consume any oil... but the oil is really black now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

25th Mar 2005, 03:39

Black oil= looking for trouble. Just change your oil every 10000 kms, it's the way to go for many years of trouble free motoring.

26th Mar 2005, 04:20

In reply to the above comment, thanks for the advise, I will be talking to my service centre with regard to the oil. The oil I use now is fully synthetic.

2002 Citroen Berlingo Forte 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance775 miles
Previous carCitroen C15

Summary:

A cheap, but unreliable runabout so far

Faults:

Gear lever popped out of gearbox after 26 miles from the showroom.

Gear lever popped out of gearbox again following repair to previous fault at 770 miles.

General Comments:

A very comfortable car.

Extremely disappointed at the gear lever popping out of the gearbox twice after only 775 miles from new.

Rear tailgate difficult to close without slamming it hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

7th Sep 2004, 06:33

Difficulty in closing tail gate is due to air not being able to escape.

17th Apr 2010, 14:28

Hi.

The gear lever popping out is a plastic cup and ball that can become dislodged. It is on the linkage from the lever to the gearbox, and if it's not popped fully home, or is damaged, it will keep coming loose. But it is an easy and cheap fix.

2002 Citroen Berlingo Multispace Forte 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance280 miles

Summary:

Should have been good value for money

Faults:

Gear lever became detached within the first 24 hours of use of new car. Reason given for this was the lever had been forced out by owner. Car towed to garage.

On return, lever became detached when delivery driver demonstrated that all was OK! Car towed to garage for replacement of gearbox & selectors.

Same fault recurred a few days later; garage then found that only one selector had been replaced.

Total mileage to date is approx 280.

General Comments:

A comfortable car with excellent facilities particularly for transporting my three dogs.

Easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

28th Apr 2009, 09:14

Sounds like you want to use a different mechanic if you can. Not sure of the gear selector, but it really sounds like the dealership should have checked over it pre delivery.

2002 Citroen Berlingo Multispace 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

The most car you'll get for under £10,000

Faults:

Nearside rear door needs a "knack" to close it.

General Comments:

After driving a turbo diesel Xantia estate, the Berlingo has a much more "hands on" feel, undoubtedly due to the simpler suspension and different characteristics of the HDi engine.

Having had three diesel Citroens before this one, I had admired the Berlingo concept, but didn't want the sluggish "commercial" diesel engine. As Citroen had already overcome my earlier reservations by adding two sliding rear doors, I felt when they added the HDi option that I really had no excuse not to rush out and buy one.

It is undoubtedly quick enough to satisfy all, but the most urgent of commuters, and surprisingly agile for a spare room on wheels. The slightly raised driving position inspires confidence, as does the airiness of the cabin and the fact that those "things" that live in cars, such as umbrellas, cassette boxes, maps, torches, etc., all have somewhere to be stowed away.

Until you get used to it, high speeds on motorways can be a bit unnerving; those slab-like sides seem to enjoy playing in lorry slipstreams and cross-winds, but that aside, handling and roadholding is solid, unlike the ride which is unmistakeably Citroen, i.e. excellent. Brakes are good too, which is just as well as I always seem to be going faster than I think! Oh yes... and 45-50mpg!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

5th Mar 2003, 17:23

Looking into a CBM after seeing it on Top Gear I found all these reviews helpful, especially this one which actually included the mileage which is always helpful. I may try a test drive as a result!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews