2004 Citroen Berlingo LX 2.0 HDI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Been a good car until now

Faults:

Just went to use the car, and heard a noise from the front off side wheel. Got out to check and the front tyre had exploded. Removed the wheel to find a suspension spring had broken and gone though the tyre.

Car was OK when used last night.

General Comments:

Interior fittings are poor. Glove box does not fit, seats show fittings though the covers.

Good performance and MPG.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2009

2004 Citroen Berlingo Forte 2.0 HDI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap to buy, quality lacking

Faults:

Alternator failed in warranty. (at 15000 miles).

Rear door lock fell in. Poor repair by dealer.

Water leaking in to passenger foot well. Fault found to be behind windscreen wiper shroud above bonnet, black plastic stuck on rain guard comes away in hot weather, replaced with homemade rain guard made from vinyl flooring, and then silicon-ed in place to channel water into drain over driver footwell. Used original as template and added a few inches to improve design. Do not impede wiper arms above.

Engine cover mounting bolts fell off 5th day.

Spare tyre stolen from under car, due to poor carrier design.

Clutch judder on pulling away.

General Comments:

Engine pulls well.

Very economic on diesel.

Quality of trim/switches poor.

Clutch very hard, more like a lorry.

Clutch judder on pulling away, you need a strong left leg.

Material on back of seats prone to tearing.

Rear seats when folded, catch front seats, restrict leg room. Could do with more space between the front and rear.

Gearbox clunky/stiff.

Visibility out back/parking poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

2nd Jul 2008, 09:04

Yours must have a clutch fault, as my 2.0HDi clutch was fine and like a cars. Get it looked at as you also state the gearbox is stiff. I think the plate is warped and release faulty, causing both issues.

I would agree about the engine cover-the service dept broke mine and just placed it back on the top of the engine after the (expensive) service.

I would totally agree about the issue of the rear folding seat tearing the back of the front seat-this is a design fault and I was lucky to notice it before damaging my front seats. As you say, the front seats need to be pulled forward one notch to flip the rear seats which is daft.

Rear visibility is poor, but the car is fitted with internally adjustable mirrors, the nearside being electric and it is simple to adjust downwards to the kerb when manouvering. A reversing camera is easy to fit and could be simply plugged into the DC socket in the boot.

I owned a 2004 Berlingo 2.0HDi and a 2007 Fiat Doblo 1.9 Multijet 120 and was surprised at how well built the Doblo was after the Berlingo, even if slightly more basic and with a harder ride.

I would sort the clutch asap before losing faith in the car-you have a fault with yours-this is not a design fault.

I wonder if the new 2008 Berlingo 2 (just launched) has the above issues resolved?

29th May 2009, 09:05

A friend's Berlingo van has developed a fault; the clutch won't engage, no crunching, goes into gear, just won't drive.

2004 Citroen Berlingo Multispace Desire 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Value for money roomy and fun

Faults:

Passenger door central locking motor not wired up on delivery.

Ongoing knocking noise from front area only in the wet?

General Comments:

Great car, very practical for young families, loads of room, great fuel economy, good pulling torque power. good visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2006

4th Aug 2006, 14:24

I am having the same problem with the knocking noise. Been in and out of the dealers numerous times. Each time they state they cannot hear the noise? Does anyone know what it could be??? Please e-mail sharcold1971@blueyonder.co.uk.

18th Sep 2006, 16:23

I've had my Multispace Desire 2.0HDi since 2004. The knocking noise is almost certainly the engine mounts needing to be tightened or replaced. I've had mine done twice under warranty.

26th Jan 2007, 04:20

I see reviewers of these vehicles are making a common mistake when rating for running costs; The Berlingo reviewers give a 1/10 and 2/10 yet the car is incredibly cheap to run. Perhaps a lower rating should mean 'cheaper' rather than dearer?