2005 Citroen C4 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2005 Citroen C4 SX 1.6 from Greece

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance250 kilometres

Summary:

I would buy one more if I had the cash!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have had this car for a week now.

It hasn't let me down yet. Although the only other car I've ever driven is the Honda Jazz, I must say the difference is immense.

The C4 is extremely comfortable for both front and back passengers.

It is very quiet, meaning really soundproof. The electrical stuff all works swell. Everyone who has seen it was left impressed and with remarks like : "It's like a spaceship!".

The brakes are ace, the sound system rocks and the gas consumption is excellently low. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants to drive tommorow's car, today!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

15th Oct 2005, 11:26

A review after 250 km. You must be kidding us.

21st Oct 2005, 05:02

OK now I've had it for 2 weeks with 500kms on it! it's still great!

15th May 2006, 14:48

What about now? Is it reliable?

2nd Sep 2006, 04:21

How about now? Has it shown any problems? And how about parking? I live in Athens, will it trouble me to find a space to put it in?

2005 Citroen C4 VTR+ 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Modern, comfortable and value for money

Faults:

N/A.

General Comments:

I took a gamble buying this car, but I've been extremely pleased with. Looks quite different to a lot of cars and it turns peoples heads! I haven't seen that many on the roads, but that makes mine stand out more. Performance, reliability, comfort all excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

6th Jun 2006, 16:05

VTS is a rather heavy car getting towards the 1400kg mark its not gonna be blisteringly quick even with a 180bhp. still manages the 0-60 sprint in around 8 seconds though.

The car does feel a lot slower than it is though after driving a small little 1.2 clio I can say the clio felt like I was doing around 100mph when I was doing 60 the C4 I feel like I'm doing 30 at 60.

2005 Citroen C4 HDI VTR + 1.6 TDI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carLexus GS300

Summary:

An excellent car no complaints

Faults:

Nothing so far so good.

General Comments:

Excellent car, got it because although brill my Lexus was costly to run and this is saving me 2K per year, less tax/insurance and 60 + mpg.

The only criticism is that I would have preferred an auto, maybe next year.

And the ride is firm, but ever so quite.

Not used to thinking when pulling away at junctions, but at speed the acceleration is superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2005

11th Apr 2006, 12:37

An update from the owner, now done 17000 miles, all trouble free until the heater started to play up, dual climate control and the drivers side is hot or hot only! Dealer will resolve under warranty, but the resolution is to replace the heater unit, a two day job! Worried that this may happen after warranty expires now!

Still a terrific motor though!

Any body else had this problem??

2005 Citroen C4 HDi VTR + Coupe 1.6HDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6700 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Just as alive with technology as i was expecting, Excellent Car

Faults:

The only things that have been wrong are that there was a small paint blemish on the roof near the windscreen, but this was easily sorted and roof sprayed by dealer under warranty.

Slight knocking from drivers side front wheel, but will discuss at cars first service.

A couple of squeaks and ratteles, but again will discuss at first service.

General Comments:

When I was looking to buy a car, I looked and test drove all the usual 3 door medium hatchbacks, but none stood out so much as this car.

The center of the steering wheel doesn't move and though its strange to get used to at first, its excellent when in normal everyday use. Everything is logically placed and has a quality feel to it.

I had a C3 while the roof was being sprayed and I couldn't believe that the 2 cars were from the same manufacture. so many worlds apart from the rest of the Citroen range.

Excellent dealer network, have found that they will help you as much as they can.

Flip out boot divider is another great innovation as I hate having things that roll around the boot when going round corners or turning slightly.

Very economical diesel engine, has been improving all the time currently running at 57mpg.

Plenty of space all around this car, feels a lot bigger inside than it actually is, doesn't feel as cramped as Golf or Astra.

Amount of standard kit included with this car for the price is amazing, cruise control, climate control, speed limiter, auto wipers, auto lights, etc.

All the other models in this class seem to be very boring like the Astra and the Focus, but this car has won me over by the way it is different and it works.

The back window on my car (coupe) can be a little difficult to get used to, but is not a big problem.

Hope this review is helpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

28th Oct 2006, 13:49

On your own with that one, but theres many things it could be. Control module, ECU etc. If its just dying id say possibly a faulty ECU is the culprit though. Sometimes these things happen with all electronics and the same can happen whatever car you get.

Seen it happen on other cars that are supposed to be luxury cars that are ultra reliable. They can't really say that when its spent a few times on the hard shoulder and bits fell off it though. My C4 on the other hand had a couple small niggly faults, but in the year I have had it the most annoying thing was a rattle that was easily fixed by tightening a screw.

3rd May 2007, 09:29

Had my 110HDI VTR+ with EGS gearbox for just over a month. Absolutely delighted. Superb car.

No faults as yet.

Fuel economy excellent (averaging just under 50 mpg).

Almost silent on motorway at 70mph (only 2100 rpm)

Very comfortable.

High Spec (Cruise Control/Traction control. auto Lights, Wipers etc)

One delighted owner.

13th Jan 2008, 14:48

I don't know why why people purchase Citroens in the first place. I guess price is the over-riding determining factor in almost all cases. They should spend more and get a better quality, safer car.

12th Mar 2008, 16:24

Quality on them is fine. And the C4 carries the best safety rating in it's class. For Both passengers and pedestrians... Do your homework next time.

Yes you get the odd lemon, but the same is true of any brand.

20th Jun 2009, 15:18

After having Vauxhalls for many many years, I have for the last 3 years come to Citroen. My latest being a C4 VTS 2.0HDi, had the climate control repaired under warranty (common fault easily fixed by fitting new plastic cog on duct motor), all I can say about this is is "WOW", it looks like a £20k car and I paid close to a quarter of that. I am averaging 55mpg, yet when needing power to overtake it is there in abundance, my friends find it hard to believe it's a diesel (the only real give away being on start up). With all the steering wheel controls and gadgets I refer to myself as a pilot nowadays ;-)

8th Mar 2010, 07:24

I have just bought a C4, but I am amazed to hear a high noisy engine sound after 45 mph, isn't that weird? What could it be? Thanks for any help.

2005 Citroen C4 VTR Pack 1.6 HDi from Portugal

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 HDi Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3300 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A huge evolution for a Citroen

Faults:

Wheels weren't properly balanced from factory, causing some vibrations between 120/130 km/h. This was repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

This car doesn't feel like a regular Citroen.

Once you get inside this car, you notice that it has better materials than the previous Citroen models.

This car is very quiet, at any speed. The noise from the outside is very low (both from wind and road), making it a very comfortable car.

The seats aren't as soft as usual in a Citroen, but they are very ergonomic, like if it was for a sports car.

This version comes with 17" wheels and 'low profile' tires (205/50R17). While they provide good grip, this combination makes the car a little sensitive on roads with bad pavement, or bumps.

For its class, this car comes with virtually every piece of equipment you can dream of, and it's realy easy to use it.

The engine is enough for a family car, with a good torque and excellent fuel economy - I never got more than 6,2 litres/100 km.

Another good thing in this engine is that you feel that you have more power above the 1.800 rpm mark, but you still have a good engine below that mark, making it a very smooth engine to drive.

The brakes are great and very sensitive.

This car is an huge evolution from the previous models of Citroen, it's well built, and has lots of equipment.

It was a good surprise!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews