2005 Citroen C4 Reviews - Page 5 of 8

2005 Citroen C4 i 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A fantastic automobile

General Comments:

This is an excellent car.

I was considering buying a second hand landrover freelander. After looking at the survey results on this website I changed my mind.

The C4 is great value for money in the Irish market.

Efficient on petrol.

As a 5 door hatch it has plenty of leg and head room for back passengers.

General handling is very good. The only problem is the suspension feels a little bit tight especially over potholes and bumps.

Reliable so far, it has 23000kms on the clock and no problems.

Excellent styling and looks. Its worth it just for that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

19th Nov 2007, 04:35

This is an update of my original review posted in April 2006.

The car now has nearly 60,000km on the clock. It is still going great with one or two very minor problems.

The cruise control and speed limiter stopped working a few months ago, every time I tried to use it would beep at me and the service light would flash.

I had it fully serviced last week and mentioned this, the guys in the Citroen garage just cleaned in and around the switch and now the cruise control and speed limiter are working.

Also the back wiper used to come on automatically when I put the car in reverse (if the front wipers were on), but they also just stopped working in the last few months. I mentioned this when getting the car serviced last week, apparently I need some sort of software update, but I could not be bothered with it, only a minor fault, but slightly annoying that it has stopped working, but do not want to pay for the software update.

If this has happened to anyone else and they fixed it let me know what you did.

Apart from that she is still running very smooth, have had two full services now, at 40,000km and 60,000km, both cost me about EUR 200, I also bought new front wipers myself which cost about EUR 30 and that is all I have spent on the car.

Very reliable and would recommend it.

Hope this helps.

29th Sep 2009, 02:31

September 2009 - Update.

Still have this car, and engine wise she is sound, although I do get the Citroen Service every 12 months.

This is to let you know that the service charges in Citroen dealers are through the rough.

Once it cost me near €400 to get a full service, i.e. sparks, oil change, filters etc.

After that I just did it myself.

The cars also devalues something terrible. I know times are tough and we are in a recession, but I am looking to change now and am getting offers of only €4k to trade in.

Finally, I was on a European Road trip with the C4 over the summer. I was driving along a motorway in Italy about 100km and the bonnet popped up, smashed into the roof, then came clean off. Thankfully there was no one else near us, but bonnet and roof were obviously badly dented.

I would seriously consider NOT buying a C4 just because of this.

There you go, I am selling this week.

Au Revoir Citroen.

2005 Citroen C4 VTR+ 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Zafira

Summary:

O.K, but would not have another

Faults:

Heater suddenly starts to blow cold even when the temperature outside is minus 1 pluse.

The carbon fuel filter cannister rattles and knocks intermittently and sound very much like the big ends.

The fuel pump as shattered 3 times once leaving a hole under the back seat into the petrol tank.

General Comments:

Never really had time to get used to it as it has spent more time in the garage than on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

2005 Citroen C4 SX diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellect fuel economy accelerates well lots of gadgets

General Comments:

Delighted with the car although the general build quality not as good as the Accord. Drives well. 43.6 to the gallon even though I spend a lot of time stuck in traffic. Hadnles well - spirited acceleration. Lots of gadgets, but not as much as VTs. Glove box jammed after a couple of days - Citroen still have not got the parts, otherwise no grumbles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

14th Mar 2006, 23:30

My fathers glove-box in his C4 was stuck closed the day after purchase, and my coin holder opens on its own and stays stuck open for a few days then before I can take it in to the dealer, it closes OK, build quality seems a bit loose, but the C3 build quality seems much hardier and stronger, does anyone know if these cars are manufactured at the same place?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews