2001 Citroen C5 Reviews - Page 4 of 11

2001 Citroen C5 LX 2Ltr HDi 110 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2Ltr HDi 110 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Faults:

Recalled for change all 5 road wheels, after which had to fasten wheel trims on with 2 cable ties.

Drivers side rear door fails to lock sometimes.

Tyre wear fairly heavy compared with previous cars.

Appalling headlights, not bright enough and prone to flicker.

Occasionally engine runs at, seemingly, reduced efficiency. Intermittent and dealer unable to pinpoint.

Occasional Brake squeal, annoying "they all do that Guv"

General Comments:

As a family car this has few equals, fast comfortable & cruises all day at 70mph +

Huge boot and fold down seats give estate like cargo space.

My motoring consists of heavy commuter traffic or high speed motorway cruising with the occasional spell pottering around the lanes of southern Ireland yet overall fuel consumption is around 45 miles per gallon. I have achieved 52 mpg.

A whole lot of car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

2001 Citroen C5 SX 2.2 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 HDi Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ40

Summary:

The C5 is a great disappointment because it reveals its potential and, but fails to deliver

Faults:

External Temperature Sensor.

Antipollution fault.

ESP / ASR Fault.

Airbag Fault.

Overspeed Control Fault.

Dashboard momentarily 'died'

General Comments:

This car has a first class engine, but the supporting electronics do not do it justice.

This could be a great car.

There does not appear to be a wealth of expertise available to resolve the persistent electrical faults.

When running well the car is responsive, extremely comfortable and a joy to drive.

When the (intermittent) ESP / ASR fault occurs, the performance and power is the car is removed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2004

24th Oct 2005, 14:06

I’m sorry to hear about all the problems you have had with your C5. This is our 4th Citroen and we have enjoyed them all.

I was sorry to see our Xantia go because it just went on and on. I know people who have had much more expensive makes of car and have had nothing, but trouble.

I recently looked at the specification on a C class Merc and found almost the same spec on my C5 at a much lower cost.

2001 Citroen C5 Exclusive 2.0Hpi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0Hpi Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Excellent, high spec undervalued motor way cruiser

Faults:

Not much.

In two and half years of ownership two doors wouldn't open with the remote key and required new motors.

Very occasionally the volume control on the radio has jammed at full volume - fixed by switching off and back on.

There has been a rattle from the boot area since I got it.

The doors feel flimsy after the last car (Galant)

General Comments:

I love this car. It is superbly equipped with colour sat nav, 6 speed CD plus a dash mounted single CD, digital climate control, traffic master, rain sensor wipers, light sensing automated head and side lights, cruise control etc, etc.

The 2.0 litre Hpi petrol engine is superb on motorways. Excellent torque in mid range. The comfort level is also excellent with dial in sports mode and height adjustable suspension. The car gives around 30 m.p.g. with mixed driving

My only problem is it's time for the car to go... I have never had the same model twice, but this one is a serious temptation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

27th Dec 2010, 14:16

Totally agree, even in 2010, have a 2002 HPI and it has superb midrange torque for excellent fuel economy motorway cruising. Smooth as anything. Engine sounds like a diesel on idling, which is completely normal for the HPI.

2001 Citroen C5 Exclusive SE 3.0 V8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

Very spacious, very comfortable and very powerful, but desperately unreliable

Faults:

- Sat Nav computer crashed frequently and refused to come back up, even after switching off and restarting the car.

- Display frequently went haywire, with lines buzzing up and down the screen.

- One cylinder failed resulting in the AA having to tow my wife to the garage.

- Alarm system failed causing the alarm to go off at all hours of the day and night.

- Brakes squealed terribly, dealer said that this was a known problem and they were unable to fix it.

- Washer fluid level sensor failed.

- Airbag warning light came on occasionally.

- Steering wheel 'melted' - frequently after a long drive I would end up with some of the steering wheel stuck to my hand.

- Xenon lights were not very bright and the auto-leveling system cause the lights to 'jump' slightly which was very annoying on long journeys.

- Strange rumbling sound from the back at low speeds.

General Comments:

This is by far the most luxurious and most comfortable car I have ever owned.

Boot space is excellent too.

Loved the V6 and the semi automatic mode on the gearbox.

However, poor reliability meant that it was back in the garage up to twice a month, with most of the faults appearing to be unrectifiable.

Eventually it was the brakes squealing (really embarrassing in slow traffic) and the alarm problems that led us to sell the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

7th Nov 2004, 03:06

Citroen don't do a v8, it's a v6,

7th Feb 2005, 06:27

My 2001 C5 2.0 also had squiking brakes. The dealer also said it was a common problem, but fixed it without any further ado.

2nd Mar 2005, 06:08

I too have a C5 V6 Exclusive se. I have owned it for the last two years and as yours, it has spent a great deal of time at a dealership being repaired. My problems have varied, but the one and only consistent problem has been the Ignition Coils. They keep failing and up until recently where this has cost me just time and inconvenience, it has now cost me money. Lots of it to be exact.

26th Mar 2005, 10:13

I also have a Citroen C5 Exclusive, but not for long. It has been the worst experience of my life in terms of owning a car and will never buy another. I have had it two years and within months it developed a fault with the electric seat on the driver side and caught fire. Five months ago it developed a fault which caused the power to cut-out. It cost a small fortune to get it fixed and the fault is now back five months later. The last point to make is that the car cannot hold its value which is not surprising. I cannot wait to get rid of it.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 34 reviews