2001 Citroen C5 Reviews - Page 6 of 11

2001 Citroen C5 HDI LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

This is the worst car that I have ever owned

Faults:

This car has suffered from multiple electrical problems. A fault would occur, for example the suspension would drop, I would stop the car to investigate. On starting the car that fault would rectify and another fault would occur, for example the hazard lights would start to flash and I would be unable to stop them.

The drivers seat would lower during driving.

General Comments:

As a result of the faults I have been frightened to drive this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2003

5th Apr 2003, 20:02

Get rid of it before it kills you!!!

2001 Citroen C5 Exclusive 2.2 hdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 hdi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

Citroen need to get there dealership up to scatch

Faults:

Poor dealer Pdi

Traffic Master not set

Not cleaned before delivery

Tyres with cut marks u/s

Seat comfort

Only just fits in garage

Needs a lot of effort to stop

Heavy car

Suspension queries harder ride than Xantia

Seats marked

Luggage cover warped

Build date 01 May 2001 Sold 10/12/02.

General Comments:

Poor dealer support

Promised to sort out faults at 1250 miles not done just blank promises

Caledonia Newport

Never paid for a service always messed up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

2001 Citroen C5 HDI 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Very Stylish and comfortable, but suspension too sophisticated

Faults:

The suspension is faulty. The front of the car goes up and down continuously after it has been switched off and locked. I had it back to the garage 3 times already and the fault persists. When I tell them the fault they don't seem to understand the problem and certainly don't know how to fix it.

The information display is faulty since I got it. The temperature and M.P.G data shown are crazy numbers and I'm slow to let them pull out the display in case they upset any other assemblies behind the dash.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and handles very well on the open road.

The boot is gigantic and is great for traveling on holiday or carrying bulky loads.

The suspension is a bit too sophisticated and will inevitably cause more problems when the car gets older.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

2001 Citroen C5 SX 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carRenault Safrane

Summary:

Excellent value, spacious and good performer

Faults:

External temperature computer currently not functioning.

General Comments:

This is the first diesel I have owned and am extremely impressed with its performance, ride and lack of noise. The car is extremely comfortable and spacious for its class. I do have some minor niggles to report: the visibility of extremities is difficult to judge; sometimes the wipers seem noisy and recently we had a problem with the immobiliser in a multi-storey car park. The car wouldn't start despite removing and replacing key several times. RAC called - and as soon as RAC man removed and inserted the key the car started! Well it was Christmas. He said there might be problems due to a nearby police transmitter interfering with the immobiliser system. Fuel economy is great for what is a pretty large car and the extras and accessories which come as standard are remarkable. I have the full scale satellite navigation which is excellent as long as no-one's put in a new one-way system since the CD which supplies the maps was made.

I bought the car pre-owned by Citroen which knocked around £5,000 off list. Overall I am impressed.

As mentioned above the 2.0 HDI diesel unit is excellent. I wouldn't know I wasn't driving a petrol fuelled car except perhaps where high rev torque is involved where I think the diesel is superior! And fuel consumption of over 40mpg for a car this size is impressive - and I'm not a slow driver. If I was I think I'd probably get over 45.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

31st May 2009, 11:48

I agree completely with this positive review. The fuel economy I'm getting my own 2.0HDi is 45 and over, and like yourself I am not a slow driver. So far I have experienced no niggles, but am prepared to deal with them as the car is amazing all round.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 34 reviews