Citroen GS Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1978 Citroen GS Club from UK and Ireland

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Club Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance24500 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Extremely over-engineered, but superior to 70's British offerings in every way

Faults:

The main problem with these cars now is rust. Mine has rusted on the under-tray.

The exhaust leaks and there are a lot of complex pipes in the exhaust system.

General Comments:

The GS has the smoothest ride quality I have ever experienced and yet the handling is superb with well weighted steering and a feeling of solidity and safety at speed.

The UK cars have a lovely sporty aluminum effect round dial dash.

Although performance is good for a 1.2 car it uses more fuel that most 2 litre cars if you drive it hard.

The engine is a flat four air cooled overhead camshaft unit so was amazingly smooth and turbine like for its time. This means that you don't get any of the nasty low pitch roar that you get from a normal engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

17th Jan 2007, 17:23

I owned a similar GS Club in the 1980's and it was a fabulous car. Economical, reliable, stylish, sporty and roomy. All I wanted for a young family. Then Citroen had a brain explosion and started going backwards quickly. They stopped making the GS and started making the ugly BX. Reliability went downhill and so did the company. Fast forward to current times. If you read Citroen reviews or talk to Citroen owners you will find a library of complaints with poor build quality, faulty electronics, safety hazards... need I go on. What happened to Citroen?

18th Jan 2007, 14:04

So, in your opinion, the GS is more reliable than the BX? Dream on. The main selling point of the BX was in fact reliability. Remember the slogan "Loves driving, hates garages"?

15th Jul 2007, 18:24

He is not dreaming, I work with Citroens and the BX is a lot more faulty than the GS ever has been. The GS is a very simple construction (yet very technical sophisticated) which will go and go, just with a right amount of care. The BX will need a lot more care to last as long as a GS. The GS is also a safer car.

3rd Dec 2010, 04:58

Amazing car, noise and fuel consumption DIMINISHED at top speed. Rust was omnipresent.

1973 Citroen GS 1015 1.0 ccm petrol from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 ccm petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 kilometres
Most recent distance99900 kilometres

Summary:

Spaceship from the seventies

Faults:

Oil dripping from return pipes.

Clutch worn.

Destroyed bearing of an upper front suspension arm.

Torn seats (from age)

Some rust, but not critical (yet)

General Comments:

I got the car from the original owner with original everything (even tires). After a bigger service by an Cit-enthusiast mechanic (don't go to Citroen dealers, please!) the car goes like new. It glides over bad roads like a speedboat, engine buzzes and never misses a beat. It might not be the fastest car on the road, but once you learn to drive it properly (try not to loose speed in corners) it's great, brakes set standard then and are still good today (all 4 disc, inboard at front).

And it looks really cool, stylish outside and futuristic inside (Cyclops eye speedometer).

Buy one today because they might be extinct tomorrow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2003

11th Aug 2004, 10:29

We shall never look upon its like again - a car devised by engineers rather than accountants, with an eye to the future of motoring and not just the next trip to the out-of-town shopping centre. I have had 5 gs/gsa models in 12 years (with two at present) and find them somehow timeless in conception even though by today`s standards the build quality, solidity and rust-invulnerability leave something to be desired. A true practical classic.

Dan Rubinstein, UK.

25th Nov 2006, 14:58

I think it would be amusing to take your G to a Citroen main dealer and ask them for spares.

26th May 2008, 20:51

The main dealer would not recognise her as a Citroen :)

I have GS 1015 '72.

1975 Citroen GS Pallas 1.2 petrol from Switzerland

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance153000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A car that has to be conserved, because there will never be anything similar again

Faults:

Engine recently started to lose quite a lot of oil.

Some rusty spots appear regularly on the rear wheel arches, floor pans and beams.

General Comments:

I like the looks of this car. To me it's a true design classic, however still unrecognised.

The combination of a floating suspension, good roadholding and super-precise steering is still unmatched in its class (and far beyond).

It's not the quickest car and can get noisy if pushed, but normally power is sufficient, and only on long travels a 5th gear is badly missing.

Seating and boot are quite roomy for the car's size.

The key to a reliable GS is regular (and sometimes expensive) maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

26th Aug 2002, 00:42

Bravo! The GS is indeed a design classic that, sadly, is almost extinct. My '77 Club is also losing oil (leaking return tubes - $1000+ repair...) and rusting. Although I love it dearly, I am ready to move on to a more modern car.

28th Aug 2002, 15:44

Of all the cars that my parents owned when I was a child, my father's Citroen GS Pallas was the one that made the most impression.

Quirky?

Yes - but one hell of a car.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews