2003 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Fast run around

Faults:

Doors were aligned properly.

Rubber seals around door have come off twice now!

Rear suspension was broken took garage over a month to find fault.

Fracture in windscreen.

Hand brake needed tightening twice

General Comments:

Overall the car is great to run about in now that all the problem have been fixed.

Anyone else had any of these problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

2003 Citroen Saxo Furio 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance711 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Underrated

Faults:

Nothing as of yet. The car is brand new and runs like a dream.

General Comments:

Wanted a VTR, but the missus couldn't get insurance for it, so we opted for a 1.4i Furio, as it looks like the VTR, and had the VTR wheels put on it.

This car is seriously quick. Not amazing 0-60, but the 40-80+ is scary. The car handles like a dream, and the steering is precise (point and go).

Just got the car on Friday. Drove it up to the Scottish Highlands, and round the Isle of Skye. I am seriously impressed with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

20th Nov 2004, 04:01

How can you say that a 1.4 is "scary" between 40-80?? Obviously you are more used to 1.0, I presume?

29th Nov 2005, 17:42

I have driven a VTR and I own a furio. I am not going to brag and say the furio is nearly as quick is the vtr. The furio is quicker than you might expect from a 1.4i engine, but then I was surprised at how fast the VTR was for its engine size. I plan on a few engine modifications for my furio.

Then I will beat all those evil VTR's!

I agree that the car is quick from 40-80, but after that, I'm eating VTR exhaust...

2003 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Beautiful car shame about the dealerships

Faults:

Drivers and passenger windows fall out.

Sunroof leaks.

Rear windows leak and rattle.

It leaks oil.

Loses gears.

Air bag lights on permanently.

Front suspension bags when braking.

Car won't start on a morning.

Passenger seat rattle and moves.

General Comments:

All the faults appeared on my first car I bought in 2002, reg Vardys decided to mess me about for 12 months and 17 visits to there dealership, in fact the sales guys asked me if I wanted a job.

They decided to replace my car for a new one which I bought this year, I have had this vehicle 2 weeks and the catalytic converter has collapsed.

I am therefore rejecting the car and spending everyday fighting with them because apparently all the previous faults and this one are in my head.

I was told by their service manager that if I wasn't happen to complain to citroen UK, who then told me to just take it elsewhere, and that I wouldn't be injured in a car crash when the air bags were not working as long as I wore my seat belt, not sure why we pay extra then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

8th Jun 2004, 16:17

What on earth is "front suspension BAGS?"

9th Nov 2004, 13:21

I think he means "bangs", not "bags".

2003 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carRenault Clio 1.4 RT

Summary:

Excellent sporty hatch for the money

Faults:

Nothing yet, I had to take the car back the first day I got it because of a scratch underneath the headlight, fortunately it was a plastic trim so they replaced it there and then.

General Comments:

I'm still running the car in at the moment, so she seems fairly quick in a straight line.

Also the handling around corners is very positive and doesn't feel like its coming unstuck taking high speed corners.

However, for saying the car has disk brakes all round, I was expecting the brakes to be a little sharper.

Also the build quality seems to be a little suspect. (only time will tell).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2003

2003 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance400 miles
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

Furio thrasher

Faults:

Brake pedal squeaks a little - though sorted out with a quick squirt or WD40.

General Comments:

After the Xsara VTR I had this car is a breath of fresh air. OK, there is far less equipment, but to have the feeling of a great chassis and an engine that actually pulls from low revs is great. It's quiet, roomy enough (I'm 6ft 2) and with the bodykit and alloys it looks the part. Compared to the VTR Saxo's I have had in the past the radio is much improved (although I will fit my stealth shelf in it!). It's fantastic fun and all for £7995 with metallic paint and a years free insurance. Why bother with the feable Furio (which has no alloys, skinny tyres and a sewing machine for an engine) when you can get deals like this! The deals just keep getting better and better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

10th Apr 2003, 15:42

Sorry I disagree with that! How can you say the Furio has a sewing machine engine when they're both TU units with about 200cc's difference. The only fast Saxo is a VTS! The 1.1 is not far from the 1.4 which is even closer to the VTR.

VTR's are also the most unreliable Saxo produced, so I'd collect some facts first!

2003 Citroen Saxo Desire 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance450 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A cheap modifiers dream

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I am impressed with the car so far. The handling is second to none and it looks great, but the interior looks like something out out of a German porn movie and the dash is in need of a new design. I have just fitted an induction kit and a back box and it sounds great, also the range of modifying products is huge. I am getting used to the "girlie" pedal positions and very impressed with the fuel consumption, I also got a good deal on the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 16 reviews