1999 Citroen Xsara Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1999 Citroen Xsara Estate 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Good shopping trolley!

Faults:

The only fault was the electrical connector under the seat for the airbag. Dealer did repair it free of charge.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable, although it is under powered. The clutch is horrible... it constantly snatches and stalls the car. Dealer has changed the clutch cable, but it hasn't really made any great difference.

I must say the dealer that I bought the car from in Bray Co. Wicklow has been excellent. Top notch service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1999 Citroen Xsara West Coast 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Luxury at a low price

Faults:

The dealer gave poor service; car was not cleaned properly or serviced. The dealer gave poor excuses.

General Comments:

Very good value especially when second hand.

All the luxuries make the car nice, air conditioning, remote locks, good stereo.

Good handling and excellent driving feel.

Economical for a car of that size and has good performance.

This is my second Citroen, the qualities of the Saxo (ride, handling, comfort) are magnified in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

1999 Citroen Xsara Exclusive 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6500 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A bit of a rusty nail

Faults:

Rubbish build quality ruins what would otherwise be a good car. Loads of silly little faults, (particularly electrical) really let this car down.

Also the paint chips and scratches very easily.

The worst that went wrong was when the gearbox for no apparent reason 'locked up' in busy traffic.

Dealers are unsympathetic and just want to empty your wallet.

General Comments:

Wouldn't contemplate buying another car from Citroen after this disgraceful piece of crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

1999 Citroen Xsara SX 1.6i petrol from Belgium

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 440 Turbo

Faults:

All 4 doors not aligned properly causing damage to the paintwork and a rattling noise when driving over rough surfaces. Fixed under warranty.

Water entering at bottom right front door. 4 times at the dealer, cause still not found!!!!

General Comments:

Engine is extremely noisy, dealer assures me it is normal.

Interior noises from various plastic parts even when driving over very smooth surfaces.

Doesn't compare with a BX16 TRS I had in terms of the fun you have while driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2000

1st Apr 2005, 23:16

Car now has 31000km. The two electric fans on the radiator have been replaced!!! Oil was leaking from left drive shaft entering gearbox. 2 times fixed, first time with original Citroen part, leaking started again a year later!! Use of very cheap parts/rubber in this car.

1999 Citroen Xsara Exclusive 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Faults:

Rubbish, don't buy one whatever!!! Loads of electrical faults, broke down twice in first 1000 miles!! HATED THIS CAR, ABSOLUTLEY RUBBISH, DON'T EVEN LOOK AT ONE!!!!!!

General Comments:

First impressions were good although this rapidly changed, handling is horrid. It's got a bit of an old biddys image. Wouldn't even contemplate buying another car from Citroen, I was going to move onto a Xantia 2.0 turbo but have now changed my mind completely. I will move back to Vauxhall for my next car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

27th Jun 2001, 12:44

If its reliability you are after get Japanese, either Nissan or Toyota. Their cars are indestructible and have engines capable of high mileages not seen on other makes.

1999 Citroen Xsara SX 1.6i from Singapore

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance8500 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 200

Summary:

Safe, comfortable car, value for money.

Faults:

Air bag light flashing, could be short circuited, waiting to repair at 10,000 km service.

Driver seat back support too soft at the spine area. Solve by stuffing a small pillow into the back pouch of the seat.

General Comments:

Generally happy with the car. The comfort will be very high if not because of the seat problem. A quiet car to my surprise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2000

15th Apr 2003, 08:09

I am also a owner of Xsara 1.6. I agreed with you that the driver seat is too soft, I am experience back ache too. But all the whole I like your comments. I hope you are just like me so far no regrets.

1999 Citroen Xsara West Coast 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1230 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo Exclusive

Summary:

An extremely comfortable and well equipped family car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the fourth Citroen I have owned (XM, AX and Saxo previously) and I rate it very highly. Four previous cars to this were Renaults and the only downside to them was the local dealership. I have found the local Citroen dealer to be the complete opposite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2000

1999 Citroen Xsara Exclusive 1.8 from Germany

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Absolutely nothing yet. Runs like a clock.

General Comments:

Superb car. An incredibly better ride than the current golf: a lot more sportier and more comfortable too. It also, from my point of view, has a more original and classy design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 1999

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews