2007 Dacia Logan Preference from Romania - Comments

21st May 2008, 09:27

I think the engine is the one from the 1998 Renault Clio. Not a WRC engine but looks reliable :)

22nd Mar 2009, 03:54

Hello again.

I am the original reviewer. Now the car has 20 000 km on the clock. It is going strong, however I had two problems: the left indicator light from the back of the car stopped working, but the dealer fixed it in 5 minutes.

The second issue is that it is losing cooling fluid (about 200 milliliters / 5000 km). The mechanic said that it was due to the car being on sale for a long time and a rubber component got old. The replacement is not expensive (20 EUR), but he said that it is not covered by the warranty, and I don't like this because I have taken good care of the car and the warranty should be bumper to bumper.

Now there is also a 1.6 liter GPL version on the offer. If you are interested, you should get that one as it is more powerful and performs better at high speeds.

23rd Nov 2009, 05:59

The car now has 30 000 kilometers on the clock. Everything works perfect. The seats are comfortable for long journeys but lack any lateral support. There are no squeaks or rattles even though I used some really bumpy roads. Happy owner for the moment :)

2nd Apr 2010, 03:41

The Logan has now 40 000 km on the clock.

At 35 000 km the engine developed an oil leak due to a bad sealing ring. My warranty was out, so I searched the web for the problem and found out this was a common problem for 1.4 engines manufactured between November 2007 and March 2008.

I wrote an email to Dacia customer service, and Dacia agreed to fix the car free of charge, although my warranty was out. Nice of them to stand behind their products. My next car will probably be also a Dacia (MCV or Duster because I need more space).

Other than this oil leak that was fixed free of charge, the car is like new. It passed the regular technical check without any problems (mandatory once in two years here in Romania).

I intend to upgrade the software of the engine control unit in order to increase the power to 82 hp.

27th Jul 2010, 02:03

Original reviewer:

I have upgraded the software of the engine control unit in order to increase the power from 75 HP to 82 HP. A guy from Logan club Romania did the software upgrade for 35 EUR. I think it's the cheapest way for getting more power.

It didn't change the car into a sports car, but the engine revs much easier now, and the acceleration has improved.

The fuel consumption is great, and the LPG kit saves a lot of money.

13th Jan 2011, 07:20

The Logan has now 50000 km on the clock.

I am still a happy owner. Nothing went wrong even though I traveled some really bad roads.

There are a lot of tweaks and things you can customize on your Dacia Logan, especially here in Romania where there are a lot of Logan owners.

11th Feb 2012, 18:42

I'm happy that you are having a trouble free Logan; these cars are very common here in Morocco. It has a balanced reputation among the hype, it's being manufactured here in Casablanca since 2005.

The 1.5 dCi engine sucks, injectors give up in no time and are extremely expensive to replace (300 Euro per one, 1200 Euro for a set), and it also becomes smoky over a few years, regardless of the prices. In fact we are getting ripped off here; 10000 euro for the base model, which is as follows:

No A/C.

No central locking; you have to manually close the 4 doors each time you leave.

No stereo.

No power steering.

No speakers.

No electric mirrors.

No wheel covers.

No painted bumpers.

No defroster.

No ABS.

No airbag.

No name it.

No, no, no... nothing!!!

In fact I should have mentioned the things that exist, rather than the things that don't.

Long story short, you get only the chassis and the engine mounted in it for more than 10000 Euro. That's awkward, and the service is of extremely poor quality. Most people (95%) don't even do the periodical checks at the Dacia/Renault dealers.

28th Feb 2012, 09:49

To the previous commenter:

I have entered the Morocco Dacia site, and I have configured a Logan with 1.4 litre engine (base engine) AND air conditioning AND electric windows AND frontal air-bags AND remote controlled central locking AND power steering.

The price is 102 400 MAD (less than 10 000 euros).

Please check your information before sharing it to others.

7th Mar 2012, 17:32

To the previous commenter:

First off, I was talking about the diesel "dCi" version (and so was the original review).

On the other hand, there was recently a price cut because the government decreased taxes over European vehicles 2 weeks ago.

Now the price of a standard dCi is : 9000 euros (with no features/accessories as I mentioned before), and the MPI 1.4 is 7000 euros.

Let's add 3000+ euros of optional features (which have always been standard in the least expensive cars two decades before) to the dCi version; the current price becomes 12000+euros, and was 13000 a month ago.

7th Mar 2012, 17:47

Just checked again

Full option dCi is 126 800,00 MAD = ~12000 euro, and I repeat the "full option" is just like the standard version of 97% of nowadays' cars e.g : no heated seats, defroster, electric/heated mirrors, reverse sensor, ABS... a lot of missing features.

12th Mar 2012, 06:11

First of all, the original review is about Dacia Logan 1.4 MPI GPL (GPL is the same abbreviation as for LPG - liquefied petroleum gas).

The original review is about a 1.4 litre gasoline engine fitted with an LPG kit (nothing about 1.5 dCi diesel engine).

Second of all, can you show me another diesel powered vehicle with as much interior space as Dacia Logan, and at a better price?

13th Mar 2012, 15:21

Rio 1.1 CRDi diesel 74bhp 6-speed manual ISG for $10,954.17.

16th Mar 2012, 11:30

You are missing a very important aspect:

The Kia Rio's boot capacity is 288 litres.

The Dacia Logan's boot capacity is 510 litres.

The Kia's cargo space is nearly HALF of the Logan's cargo space, therefore the Kia Rio is no real alternative to the Logan.

17th Mar 2012, 10:20

You are missing a very important aspect:

KIA is an extremely reliable car with seven years of standard warranty, and it's very stylish and lovely.

The proof that Renault sucks is that it could not compete in the US market, and ended up withdrawing from it. But KIA/Hyundai are getting more and more popular.

In addition, the KIA Rio 1.1 CRDi is the most efficient car in Europe with 88mpg, with an impressively powerful and smooth engine, and it has a timing chain instead of a timing belt, so no worries about blowing the engine because of sudden belt failure, and also the costly fee of belt replacement.

Want more?

19th Mar 2012, 10:32

For a family car, 288 litres of boot space is not enough.

I really don't see the point when comparing the two vehicles.

I am taking my family every 4 weeks on a 1 200 km trip to my parents. Each time all the 510 litres of the Logan's boot space are completely used.

I really don't see how I could live with the boot capacity of a hatchback for the situation described above.

You just can't get the same amount of cargo space at a better price than the Logan.

I paid 7 500 euro for a car that fits 5 adults and their luggage.

You are trying to compare this with a hatchback model that is suited mostly for people with no family, or with people living exclusively in a town area.

So there you have it. Sure there are better cars than the Dacia Logan, but for a family that can't afford multiple vehicles, and needs a car to fit all family members at a decent price, the Logan is the only alternative.

A better finished hatchback (Kia Rio) will simply not do the job because of its inferior interior space.

For price sake surely you can compare the two vehicles, but they are simply produced for different purposes. Purpose wise there is no real competition between the two models.