2001 Daewoo Matiz Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE (Extra) 0.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Excellent value - we love it

Faults:

Sony CD player jumps sometimes.

Folding seat catch jammed.

General Comments:

Beautifully built - faultless on collection. Materials are lightweight, but well designed.

Performance is everything you could hope for in such a small engined car, but you need to row it along on the gearlever and you are not going to lose your licence without knowing! It will shoot straight past 70 in 5th. Great fun to rev and cruises quietly on flat motorways. Not recommended in very hilly areas though.

Space is amazing - room for four 6 footers. Boot is small and oddments space/glovebox appalling.

Interior has quality feel despite budget materials.

Ride is fine, although can be quite busy.

The dealers seem a pretty wet bunch and I'm still awaiting handbook, service folder and advice on running in after 2 months!

Excellent value - we love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

15th Apr 2004, 06:53

My review above was posted after 2 months - I have now had the car for almost 3 years and intend to buy another the same shortly. Glad to get rid of the useless Daewoo dealers - Vauxhall/GM are much keener although not yet fixed all problems. Problems are all minor; car has stood up to use very well. Red paint looks like new, upholstery not worn. CD player has not jumped after the first couple of months. Door winder needed tightening and there has been a slight rattle from drivers door since new - I think it just needs a tweak to the lock, but have to convince dealer!

Overall, excellent value and completely reliable even on cold days. Have had to buy wipers and two new tyres.

22nd Dec 2005, 03:44

You obviously have the right idea - replace your Matiz (if you can bear having another one) when the warranty runs out, otherwise it will end up costing you a fortune!

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE+ 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2800 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

Excellent economy with surprising comfort

Faults:

Experienced difficulty with the driver's seat belt not reeling in. Repaired without fuss by the Daewoo service centre.

General Comments:

Before buying we read several road tests criticising motorway performance. Went on holiday one week after purchase, did 400+ miles in a week including 200 motorway miles and was pleasantly surprised by the good performance.

Overall economy is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2001

31st Aug 2007, 16:23

Update on 'Matey' - our Daewoo Matiz. Bought from new as our previous car (Vauxhall Senator) was 'over the hill'. Relatives had bought a Daewoo previously and rated the dealership highly. Good part exchange, 0% finance over 3 years so a done deal! Four and a half years later and the children are growing; I am 6 feet tall and to get comfortable moved the drivers seat as far back as it would go, restricting rear passenger leg room. Size apart, an excellent small family car which ran faultlessly for 20,000 miles. Disappointing part exchange when looking at a Picasso, but much better at a Daewoo dealer so a Tacuma, midi people carrier 'Tank' replaced 'Matey'

2001 Daewoo Matiz SG High Performance 0.8 petrol from India

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance1488 kilometres

Summary:

Great and grand car, very cute too

Faults:

Not much. A few small things though.

Mileage is only 13 kilometers per liter of petrol in the city limits (they claim 18).

Central remote locking is giving some problems. Doesn't open sometimes and then I have to repeatedly press the open button, or enter from the passenger side of the car!

General Comments:

This is a great car to own!! Really!!!

I am enjoying myself immensely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance350 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Value for money - love my bright green bug-eyed car!

Faults:

Nothing, absolutely fine at present.

General Comments:

For a small engined car it is surprisingly nippy. It handles well, although you seem to absorb quite a few of the bumps in the road.

Quite spacious inside, nice lay out on the dashboard.

Like my cyber-green colour but am concerned that I won't be able to get any touch-up paint for it. Has anyone got any info on this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

24th Aug 2001, 05:51

You can get touch-up paint from Daewoo centre where you bought the car. Not cheap though.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews