2001 Daewoo Matiz Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance3567 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Excellent city car, excellent price for an average person

Faults:

No problems as such with the car.

The only thing that could be a bit suspect is the carpet in front of the driver is flimsy and wears quick.

General Comments:

I have written this review on the Daewoo Matiz for all the people out there who consider themselves average and need a small car to run around.

Well, need I say more?

The Daewoo Matiz does its specification excellently, 56/58 mpg can't be laughed at.

Whatever most people say, being a 0.8 it gets laughed at for being a hair dryer, in actual fact it isn't that bad, we cruised 50 or so miles, with 3 adults, and one child in the back at almost 80 mph the whole way. Not bad motorway travelling for a 0.8 wouldn't you say.

So if you're clever, and get over silly British prejudices that don't strongly exist these days anyway, you can get real bargains and value for money with these manufacturers.

Servicing and AA cover is excellent, second in the world only to BMW, that's a fact. We even put our other car on the same AA cover.

Interior is much more roomy than it looks, a small Tardis!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

30th Jul 2001, 08:28

I too was a happy camper until I had the first problem, but it could be down to having a good dealer, but then should not Daewoo sort out the bad ones?

On Friday I should be having the problems caused by the first service sorted out but then, as with the headlight problem, another 6 week wait for parts. Can you wait 6 weeks each time a part is needed?

7th Aug 2001, 13:45

Re the performance of the Matiz - I used to drive a Nova 1.2, Toyota Starlet 1.0, and a Corsa 1.2. I'm contemplating a Matiz so came on here to read some of the comments.

Having checked out the performance figures in the Parkers Car Guide (albeit on paper and not through experience), the Matiz 0-60 is just as good if not better than the above, and the top speed is approximately the same. The engine might be smaller, but obviously car design has moved on a bit, so if I can get the same performance (not much) but with much better fuel economy then that's a bonus.

Re the 6 week wait for a headlight - that's a bit of a hassle, but I had a few very minor problems with my Toyota. Being a base model small car, you would think parts would be reasonably priced. How about £185+VAT for a window regulator (manual) or a total of £310+VAT for 2 parts to sort out the wiper linkage. They might have taken only a couple of days to arrive, but I would rather wait longer than pay silly money.

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

A good all round car, and at 6,500ukp, a bargain too

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A great little car that's big on inside, I'm 6' 3" and fit in a treat, along with pram, baby seat etc. etc.

A worthy successor to the 2CV.

Not a fuel efficient as I expected - but still get around 45 - 50 mpg.

Better than you would expect on the motorway.

Bought brand new 4 months ago, but still waiting for the handbook etc. I've contacted the dealer, but it still has not arrived.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 gasoline from Ecuador

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance400 kilometres

Summary:

The best car I could buy for $10000

Faults:

Nothing bad really. It just came without the full covering in the rear right door. This was fixed immediately by the dealer.

General Comments:

The car is great overall, very fast despite the small engine it has.

The stock sound system (Pioneer KEH1015) is great especially if you add a small Bazooka in the trunk.

Cornering is good at low and high speeds.

Steering wheel is very soft when driving.

It is incredibly spacious inside, especially for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

2001 Daewoo Matiz SE 0.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

Brilliant, buy one now!!!

Faults:

None so far, although someone did reverse into me!!

General Comments:

An absolutely brilliant little car, I highly recommend getting one and having the fun of driving it.

Very roomy, even my 6' 4" hubby fits in with room to spare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 02:01

Fair to say that it is a great car, once you get over the predjudices of a Korean manufacturer you can get real value for money.

17th Aug 2001, 04:39

I've had my Matiz for nearly 2 weeks now and I love it! It's bright green and definitely gets you noticed! Bit concerned that if I get a chip that I won't be able to get paint for it - any ideas? Hopefully it won't give me any problems!

22nd Sep 2008, 04:00

Very good car for the money. Brakes are a minus. The engine I like most.

20th Jan 2009, 21:27

I've had two Matiz cars and both have been great. No serious problems mechanically. My current 'Mk 2' version from 2001 is a brilliant town car that is easily to manouvre and park and returning 42mpg urban and 50 mpg on motorways. An 800cc engine is never going to rip the tyres' apart and it will wheeze a bit when fully loaded but these limitation should be obvious to anyone before buying.

Overall a brilliant car, but make sure you have a reasonable dealer because most of them are rubbish.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews