1995 Daewoo Nexia Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1995 Daewoo Nexia GLE 1.5 injector from Hungary

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 injector Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance159672 kilometres
Previous carTrabant 601

Summary:

A very nice car with the standards of the yesterday before

Faults:

Central door lock strikes at 12 000, 31 000 and 77 000 kilometers.

The petrol pump was changed at 124 000 km.

Accumulator went wrong at 141 000 km (at age of 7 years, a very good Varta was it!)

The injector was adjusted in March 2003.

General Comments:

Oh, my good old Nexia! I lost you in the last month by a crash. You was so injured that you are unrepairable. I am very sad without you. You was a really poorly maintained car - no air condition, no airbag, no ABS, - but a really fine power steering, electronic door lock and electronic windows. Your petrol consumption was really acceptable, only 6,9 liters per 100 km, a good average by the very many driving in the cities and a lot of "deep flights" on the German highways. Your engine was no more silent, and some spots of corrosion was on your backside region.

You must know, I loved you, I am very sad, that you are no more repairable. I hate the ugly transporter which damaged you on the Czech mountain road!

Rest in peace, Nexia!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

1995 Daewoo Nexia GL 1.5 SOHC 5Door from Norway

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC 5Door Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Fit some options, and you'll have a sports car with insufficient engine-power

Faults:

-Had to replace the entire windshield wiper linkage at 60.000 Km.

-Replaced push-button for the hatch.

-My car have a tendency to get it's wheels off-centered.

-Some rust in paint-job (damages).

-Hard to find styling and tuning options for this car.

-Way to small engine.

-They could have done a much better job with the interior.

General Comments:

-Have not yet had any major problems with this car, never failed to start.

-Handles like a dream with stiffened suspension and wider tires (195/45-16").

-A quite simple car, you don't need to be a rocket scientist to fix small problems on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1995 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great value for money runabout

Faults:

Rear window motor gone @ 6yrs.

Halfords managed to drop a valve when replacing timing belt @ 4yrs - all sorted under warranty.

Air-con doesn't blow very cold, but uneconomical to recharge/fix.

Driver's seat broke @ 7 yrs (not really it's fault, I'm a very big chap!). There are plently of nexias in scrap yards now - a replacement seat was only £25.

General Comments:

I bought the car when it was just over 3 years old with less than 30,000 miles on it. It had the warranty extended to 5 years.

It's basically a Mk II Astra with an fuel injected Isuzu engine. Apart from the timing belt problem, which was entirely Halfords fault, it hasn't missed a beat in over 4 years. Admittedly, in that time I have only covered some 17,000 miles, but it is used for the short work/nursery run every week day. It never fails to start, even when left for weeks at a time in the winter. I just make sure it gets serviced properly every year and that's about it.

If you want a cheap reliable car packed with extras (electric everything, ABS, airbag, air-con) you'd have a problem to beat a good low mileage Nexia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2003

1995 Daewoo Nexia GLXI 1.5 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53150 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Money Pit

Faults:

Head Gasket went at 60,000 miles, Feb 00.

Rusting of passenger door, not covered under warranty, August 01.

The distributer went, resulting in a £400 bill, Sept 02.

The windscreen wiper linkage decided in the middle of winter that it had done its job and stopped working. (this was after it had wrecked about 6 sets of wiper blades. Cost to repair £90 for second hand linkage arm, Nov 02.

The Petrol sender unit likes to wind you up, one minute full tank of petrol, next empty it really is a guessing game.

The Air con unit sprung a leak in the summer and lost all its gas, never had it fixed as cost was too high for repair and re-gas, from Sept 02 - now.

Engine management light comes on and goes off when traveling on Motorways, however no problem is ever found when put on the Daewoo wonder testing machine. April 02 - now.

The car leaks in the boot through the plastic airbridges on the side of car. Jan 01 - now.

The radiator leaked, which was fixed, now the thermostat has gone so car overheats, oh plus I now have no heat in the car only cold air, Dec 02.

General Comments:

I purchased the car as I loved my old Astra mark 2, I wish I had never bothered.

The car was cheap to buy and now has no resale value at all, it is a money pit.

Daewoo have now sold out, gone bust or whatever and the parts are very hard to find and are very expensive.

I was told that the Nexia was predominantly still Vauxhall parts... wish someone would tell my car and Vauxhall that as nothing seems to fit it or work.

I do have a couple of good remarks about the car, the inside is roomy and light, I love the shape. The car does handle well and will quite happily plod along at slow speeds as well as those faster speeds.

I cannot wait to get rid and buy something better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

1995 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Reliable, fuel efficient motoring

Faults:

Back windscreen wiper intermittently fails.

Otherwise nil to date.

General Comments:

Came with alloys, power steering, ABS, electric windows and electric sunroof for £3,500.

Driving the car is very easy and it handles well.

Fuel economy and insurance are both very good and I can find no signs of any rust to date.

Local dealer - staff pleasant and competent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

1995 Daewoo Nexia Gli 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

It's now an older car and one or two not unexpected things have needed attention. However the exhaust manifold gasket is particularly prone to excess corrosion due to overheating.

There is a particular problem, one which prompts me to write..Inherited from Vauxhall (Nexia came from the Astra), the ignition switch is likely to burn out..when it does smoke will appear to billow from the dash, very scary if you don't know immediately what it is!!

General Comments:

My dealer told me (inadvertently) that this is an inherent problem with the starter unit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

29th Dec 2000, 14:54

After 48,000 miles the head gasket went. Had problems getting hold of an Daewoo head gasket. I found out that a Vauxhall Astra cylinder head gasket fitted the same.

Having fitted the gasket to the engine I noticed the cam was running dry on 1 and 2 valves. Having stripped and unblocked the cam and refitted the engine, it ran a little rough to say the least. The fault was found by disconnecting the injector cables one at a time. This produced no difference in the running, the fault was then traced to 2 spark plugs. Having changed the plugs the engine now runs like a new engine again.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews