1996 Daewoo Nexia Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1996 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 Twin cam 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Twin cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A cheap Ferrari, but with less style

Faults:

Normal wear and tear, oil change, HT leads, etc.

Needed new exhaust when purchased.

A few rust spots, but nothing serious.

General Comments:

Incredible axcelleration, I clocked 0-60 in 6.8 seconds, which for a 1.5 is quick by all standards.

Able to cope with twisty country roads as easily as Barrichello does Silver-stone.

An all good quality car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

7th Aug 2003, 08:32

The only way you'd get a 1.5 Nexia to 60 in 6.8 seconds is to push it off a cliff. Wake up and stop dreaming. I reckon you'd struggle to beat 11 seconds. Or were you talking about 60 km/h?

7th Aug 2003, 11:37

You are kidding us all right? Daewoo Nexia 1.5 GLXi has 90bhp and is the top model. It books at 12 seconds 0-60. You really think that this car gets to 60 in under 7 seconds. That's the funniest thing I have heard all day.

24th Jan 2006, 18:07

Have any of you boys driven one yet? I guess not, 12 seconds, you having a laugh? Even the GLi can get to 60 in 10 seconds. I'd say the twin cam 16v GLXi can do it in about 7-8. You've got to remember, it's a light car, not heavy. You've got to take that stuff into consideration now lads.

13th Feb 2006, 03:16

You reckon 6.8? i'd say about 8 seconds, my nexia is the 1.5GLXi as well and I reckon that's about all you'd get from it. They are however very fast off the line, that's if you can get the gears without missing them. Good car, but just not the golf GTi beater you claim!

26th Jul 2006, 12:39

HE HE 6.8 seconds LOL Wakey wakey, the car is nippy, but it's no way a 6.8 sec car. 9 to 10 sec at a push downhill with a tail wind is more realistic. And yes I have driven one, my brother owns the GLI one. It's no pace car, just good cheap motoring.

4th May 2007, 08:55

That will be the Daewoo!!!

23rd Aug 2007, 13:18

I have Just bought a Daewoo NEXIA GLXi 16V, on a (P) plate 56,000 mile's on the clock. Full history for £495.. woohoo.. book price is a £1,000.

Its bloomin GR8.

Arnie8.

14th Nov 2008, 09:10

That's great because if your Daewoo 1.5 8v can do the 60 sprint in 6.8 seconds, than that means rather than 5.3 seconds for my 5.0 V8 BMW M5, that means it will do it in 2.9 seconds, and that means a Ferrari can do it in about minus 3 seconds going back in time.

1996 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 16v Twin Cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 16v Twin Cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Perfect balance of reliability, drive-ability and performance

Faults:

Nothing really.

General wear and tear such as brake pads and tires.

ABS light always on due to dirty sensor.

Drivers seat has collapsed lumber support. Understandable as a huge fat guy had it for the 100,000 miles before I did!

Air conditioning does not work properly as it has never been serviced since the car was new. (According to history)

General Comments:

Extremely enjoyable car to drive.

Power steering is excellent and light without loosing feel of the road.

Feels very nippy around town and not a slouch at motorway speeds. Will easily cruise at 100mph.

Seems to stand abuse quite well. Constantly hand brake turning in car parks :-) has had no effect on car!

Does under-steer through very tight corners, but predictable.

Very good looking car (in bright red 3 door).

Engine sounds very deep and throaty when revved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

1996 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Very poor build quality

Faults:

The timing belt broke after approximately 15,000 miles of use. Despite all attempts, Daewoo refused to help, saying it was my fault for missing the service (by 3 months). Until then, the car was fully serviced by the main dealer. Finally cost me over £1000.

General Comments:

Daewoo stress the customer service, until you have made the purchase. Then they're not interested.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews