1999 Daewoo Nubira 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Junk - Never again will I trust GM

Faults:

Gear shift was stuck, wouldn't go into gear.

Drivers side visor fell off at 59,000 miles.

Front hub cap just rolls off car.

Back hub cab rolled off and will not go back on.

Console shakes from the engine vibration.

Radio knob, when turned down, turns the volume up.

At 68,000 timing belt went taking both idler pulleys, the water pump, the pistons and the valves. Very expensive. There were 3 other Daewoos with the same problem in the same shop.

Repair Manuals are almost impossible to find.

General Comments:

Daewoo, now GM, is by far the worst vehicle I have ever owned.

Cheap and bankrupt, mechanics and dealerships are charging outrageous prices for fixing these things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

20th Oct 2003, 20:40

I have a 2000 Nubira with 55,000 miles...

FOLLOW THE MAINTAINANCE SCHEDULE!

If you don't replace your timing belt within the required time, don't complain when it snaps. You have lost that right.

I am getting pretty tired of people trashing these cars, I love mine, and I do get a lot of flak over it. Maintain it, and it will do well for you.

Dave.

11th Sep 2004, 10:01

2000 Leganza with 125,000 miles. Bought new with little problems. Regular services. Replaced timing belt twice myself. Six months later, timing belt idler pulley explodes leaving me stranded. Now I don't know if the engine is trashed or not. What's with that!!!

14th May 2006, 22:04

I bought my 1999 nubira new from the dealer and I've been driving it for 6 years now, i can say its one of the best cars I ever had except for high speed performance. otherwise I believe if you treat it right you should get great value for your money.

8th Aug 2006, 23:23

I have a 1999 model and have 190,000km (118,750 miles) it's been regularly serviced and smashed twice. It still runs fine.

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 DOHC from North America

Summary:

Couldn't make a better choice given the budget

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

Great car for the price. Offers more than many more expensive cars.

The engine is very responsive, plenty of torque.

Easy to drive, very precise and good handling.

Very good brakes, all disc. Haven't change pads since got it.

Loaded with many extras: sunroof, heated leather seats, excellent sound system, PW, PD, anti theft, remote door locks, fog lights, alloy wheels, many more.

Excellent bucket seats, firm and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Looks well, but is a big disappointment

Faults:

The most recent problem is the automatic transmission is requiring overhauled. With only 31000 miles recorded this is worrying to say the least. It has yet to be repaired therefore with the lack of spare parts available, this is again a worry. Having driven only 5000 miles since purchase and now having a bill for #1500 (pounds) you could say running costs are a bit high.

Other faults include a problem with the front suspension in that it is soft and when going over a hump, the exhaust manifold strikes the ground.

Spare parts are a nightmare whereby I have been attempting to replace the off-side wing mirror glass, since September 2002. Service staff are as much use as a chocolate watch.

General Comments:

In general the Nubira is fairly comfortable, but does not handle well on twisted roads and the brakes are a bit on the soft side. All in all between the after-sales, or the lack thereof, and large bills I would not recommend these to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1999 Daewoo Nubira Sedan 1.7 from North America

Summary:

Cheap. You get what you pay for!

Faults:

A rattle in the dash area passenger side since day one. We hoped it would go away.

At 625 miles, the car stereo would not turn off, even with the ignition turned off. The dealer replaced the stereo (twice).

We had a horrible vibration in the car at about 7000 miles, it continued for several months. The dealership continued to deny there was a problem. After many visits, they replaced the transmission, but this did not solve the problem. Eventually, they added new motor mounts that they had specially made for our car. A vibration still exists, but it is not as bad.

The tires wore off the front at less than 13000 miles. Definitely an alignment problem. The car does not seem to hold the alignment very well.

The latest problem has been ongoing since 10000 miles, where the rear passenger brake light will not work. The dealership continues to put lithium grease in the socket to keep a connection, but it stops working as soon as we leave the dealership. We have visited their location at least 12 times to get this fixed. According to the dealership, there is no fix.

General Comments:

Our biggest complaint is with regards to the dealership where we bought the car. They do not know the first thing about customer service. They do not fix the problems with the car during our visits, and we are continuously returning for the same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

18th Jul 2002, 20:19

I have had the same problem with the tail lights since purchase. The dealer does, indeed, fill the sockets with white lithium grease, and sends me on my way. They don't seem to know how to fix their own cars.

28th Apr 2006, 19:21

OK heres the thing I've had a 2000 Nubira for 3 years now and have run it all, but into the ground... ya know over use... but had the timing belt break (normal) had the O2 sensor go out (normal) had the windows stop working (now that pissed me off... wire totally burnt out... still working on a fix for that... but the brake lights...I've got your solution! Even if it is unilateral... change out your brake light switch... it cost me 9 dollars and haven't had a prob since.. the brake light switch is located behind the brake pedal it unscrews... I went to advanced and zone and they both ordered the wrong part so be careful... bought the switch for 9 bucks from the dealer and put it in myself...easy!!

But now I have a prob... dash lights just stopped working... not a fuse and not a bulb... any idea what it could be???