1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.1 liter from North America


Affordable, solid and reliable vehicle


A valve gasket deteriorated in 3/04 at 38,000 miles and was replaced under warranty.

The exterior panels (but not front or rear bumpers) seem to dent easily, however even larger dings are reasonably cheap to have repaired.

Small plastic parts such as a ring around the buttons to put the rear seats down have popped out. Same with plastic bolt covers over where the front seat belts are bolted to the floor.

General Comments:

I am extremely pleased with my little hatchback and don't understand why other reviewers have had such a bad experience. I know other Daewoo owners with positive experiences like mine.

The Nubira hatchback has been a "no worries" reliable vehicle that handles great in all weather conditions for me.

I've driven in snow, ice, and hail as well as muddy dirt roads with no trouble.

Great visibility all around, standard heated mirrors are a nice touch on frosty mornings.

Very roomy interior and a surprising amount of legroom in the back seat for a compact car.

Interior cloth and carpet have held up very well and still in very new condition.

Solid enough for traversing back-roads for summer camping and hiking trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 11:54

I totally agree with you on the daewoo front. I have a Nexia and she has had a few problems, but with care and attention she is the best car I have driven in a long time, she handles beautifully, and drives like a dream all my family love her. I wouldn't swap her for anything else, no I'm no old man, I'm 30 years and she drives better than the peaguot 106 I had. long live daewoo!!

23rd Jun 2005, 13:31


I`m from the Netherlands and I drive a Nexia to, so far is it a very reliable car! He is from 1995 and it`s still going strong...

Maybe in the next future, I will buy a Nubira Hatchback (CDX) It will always be a Daewoo.

Greetings...a Daewoo fan!

1999 Daewoo Nubira 2.0 from North America


Junk - Never again will I trust GM


Gear shift was stuck, wouldn't go into gear.

Drivers side visor fell off at 59,000 miles.

Front hub cap just rolls off car.

Back hub cab rolled off and will not go back on.

Console shakes from the engine vibration.

Radio knob, when turned down, turns the volume up.

At 68,000 timing belt went taking both idler pulleys, the water pump, the pistons and the valves. Very expensive. There were 3 other Daewoos with the same problem in the same shop.

Repair Manuals are almost impossible to find.

General Comments:

Daewoo, now GM, is by far the worst vehicle I have ever owned.

Cheap and bankrupt, mechanics and dealerships are charging outrageous prices for fixing these things.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

20th Oct 2003, 20:40

I have a 2000 Nubira with 55,000 miles...


If you don't replace your timing belt within the required time, don't complain when it snaps. You have lost that right.

I am getting pretty tired of people trashing these cars, I love mine, and I do get a lot of flak over it. Maintain it, and it will do well for you.


11th Sep 2004, 10:01

2000 Leganza with 125,000 miles. Bought new with little problems. Regular services. Replaced timing belt twice myself. Six months later, timing belt idler pulley explodes leaving me stranded. Now I don't know if the engine is trashed or not. What's with that!!!

14th May 2006, 22:04

I bought my 1999 nubira new from the dealer and I've been driving it for 6 years now, i can say its one of the best cars I ever had except for high speed performance. otherwise I believe if you treat it right you should get great value for your money.

8th Aug 2006, 23:23

I have a 1999 model and have 190,000km (118,750 miles) it's been regularly serviced and smashed twice. It still runs fine.