1999 Daewoo Nubira Reviews

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX Station Wagon 2.0 from Germany

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Cheap ride - if well kept

Faults:

Some nuts and bolts (e.g. those holding door contacts, number plate lights) are badly corroded.

Some smaller wiring issues (radio aerial was loose, door contact not working, light warning sound device not working) are mostly solved.

Rear wiper is not working, and the electric motor is broken.

Tailgate lock corroded and not working.

General Comments:

I only have it for a few weeks, but the car was maintained by a friend for some three years. If well kept, this car is reliable like every other car.

The timing belt was now changed for the third time in 150.000 km, and the engine is just doing fine.

The tailgate generally needs some work, which is very common here with these cars. Wiper motor is broken, lock is corroded, and the bolts of the number plate lights are so corroded that you cannot open them without drilling them out.

Going fast needs lots of revs (and fuel!), and you will quite surely hear and feel that there is an engine. Top speed was 210 km/h on the speedometer.

With low revs, the engine is quiet enough for a comfortable ride. The Nubira has lots of space for passengers and luggage, and the seats are OK.

You will hear some servos and pumps when going very slow, but that seems to be normal.

All in all, it is a cheap old car, which will go for at least another four or even more years if well kept.

My Advice: This car sells cheap. Buy the best maintained and most expensive one from the most reliable source you can find. Invest in good maintenance, especially in a timing belt change when it is time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2011

7th Feb 2012, 14:29

Well, it is some 6 months later, and no other car has ever let me down that often in 28 years.

Fuel pump broke, some more wiring issues and a whole lot of crap. Anyway: Cheap ride, if better kept than mine...

1999 Daewoo Nubira SX 1.6 from Poland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 kilometres
Most recent distance83000 kilometres

Summary:

It is really nice car

Faults:

Left front speaker stopped working.

General Comments:

Big, comfortable car. Cheap to buy, but drinks quite lot of fuel. Very good performances (as 1.6 engine).

Car gives good comfort and is reliable. Parts are very cheap. There is much space inside and 5 persons can travel with comfort. Engine is dynamic, but likes fuel.

Car is very cheap (in Poland) and I think, that you won't find better vehicle with so low price.

Good visibility, air conditioning, much space... It is a really good car!

I'm positively surprised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2008

1999 Daewoo Nubira SX 1.6 from Egypt

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Terios

Summary:

It's alright

Faults:

Timing belt snapped twice.

Water pipe burst 3 times.

AC compressor replaced at 130 000.

Non stop water leakage from everywhere (pipes, motor)

General Comments:

The car drives fine, but mine is a lemon! I bought it used and can only imagine what the previous owner has done to it.

Two of my friends have the exact same car and they are very happy. The only problem they've had has been with suspension. So this is a good car if you treat it well.

I owned a Terios (1999) before this one and it was extremely uncomfortable and weak, but reliable as hell! I would literally abuse the car in every possible way and it would keep running. How do the Japanese do it?

So if you buy a Nubira, make sure it's been treated well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nubira

Summary:

It stinks

Faults:

The car stinks, bad gas millage, engine miss firing, camshaft sensor went bad, tires went out after 32kmi. fog light went bad and no one carries is, my AC control unit went bad, had to replace it, parts are very expensive. cannot find after market spark blug wires. this car is bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

2nd Oct 2004, 14:16

Spark blug wires are available.

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.1 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Affordable, solid and reliable vehicle

Faults:

A valve gasket deteriorated in 3/04 at 38,000 miles and was replaced under warranty.

The exterior panels (but not front or rear bumpers) seem to dent easily, however even larger dings are reasonably cheap to have repaired.

Small plastic parts such as a ring around the buttons to put the rear seats down have popped out. Same with plastic bolt covers over where the front seat belts are bolted to the floor.

General Comments:

I am extremely pleased with my little hatchback and don't understand why other reviewers have had such a bad experience. I know other Daewoo owners with positive experiences like mine.

The Nubira hatchback has been a "no worries" reliable vehicle that handles great in all weather conditions for me.

I've driven in snow, ice, and hail as well as muddy dirt roads with no trouble.

Great visibility all around, standard heated mirrors are a nice touch on frosty mornings.

Very roomy interior and a surprising amount of legroom in the back seat for a compact car.

Interior cloth and carpet have held up very well and still in very new condition.

Solid enough for traversing back-roads for summer camping and hiking trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 11:54

I totally agree with you on the daewoo front. I have a Nexia and she has had a few problems, but with care and attention she is the best car I have driven in a long time, she handles beautifully, and drives like a dream all my family love her. I wouldn't swap her for anything else, no I'm no old man, I'm 30 years and she drives better than the peaguot 106 I had. long live daewoo!!

23rd Jun 2005, 13:31

Hello!

I`m from the Netherlands and I drive a Nexia to, so far is it a very reliable car! He is from 1995 and it`s still going strong...

Maybe in the next future, I will buy a Nubira Hatchback (CDX) It will always be a Daewoo.

Greetings...a Daewoo fan!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews