1999 Daewoo Nubira Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Stay away

Faults:

Transmission is shot at 46,000... the dealer is replacing it because it is under warranty... but what happens at 92,000 miles when there is no warranty left?

General Comments:

Bought the car for $17,000... two years later it books for $8000... we owe $13,000... so we are STUCK with this piece of crap. Remember the RESALE value when buying your car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

1999 Daewoo Nubira 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired105 miles
Most recent distance12995 miles

Summary:

I wish I had never bought it

Faults:

Transmission went out at 6000 miles.

General Comments:

This thing is junk, I wish I had never bought it, you CAN'T find parts for it anywhere except the overpriced dealer, I can't believe the tranny went out @ 6000 miles then the dealer was like what "you" do! This is the last time I buy a Korean car, they are all trash from what I've heard!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired81 miles
Most recent distance11690 miles
Previous car1988 Jeep Cherokee

Summary:

Best bang for the buck!

Faults:

Lifter noise - replaced lifters.

CD player would not work the day we bought it - they replaced it before we left the lot.

General Comments:

Wonderful car. Fun to drive. Throttle response is great. Everything and more I expected for the money. I am impressed with the gas mileage it gets (27 city, 35 highway). Very comfortable seats. Roomy back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

25th Jan 2007, 11:10

Very happy here with my CDX 101234 miles and still running great. Too bad I can find parts in USA, but YEEEEEEEEEEEEEs if found it in Porto Rico with next day delivery.

1999 Daewoo Nubira SE 2.0 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Very good car value

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is an enjoyable car to drive. It has gotten fairly good gas mileage, and handles very well in all types of conditions.

The only complaints I have are minor. The console needs to be larger, and the speedometer needs to have the 10,30,50 etc. numbers on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2000

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The best car for your money

Faults:

Other for than acts of vandalism ,I have only had the car in the shop for repairs once. Both inner CV boots had to be replaced at 3000 miles.

General Comments:

I would suggest, to all Nubira owners, purchasing a set of 205/40/ZR16 tires and 16 inch rims. This will improve handling and prevent your tires from coming apart at high speed. I've reached 140 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2000

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7900 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Faults:

The radio (includes both casette and CD player) had to be replaced 3 times!! Twice because the CD player would not work and once because the volume would turn up BY ITSELF. Also, at about 15,000 miles, the car mysteriously would not start after a 3 hours drive. The dealer was unable to replicate the problem and thus, it has not been solved. Also, the car doesn't seem to be able to hold a front-end alignment. I had to replace all 4 tires at 21,000 miles!!!

General Comments:

Dealer Service was great when I lived in California, where dealerships are Daewoo-owned. Now I live in Maryland where the dealerships are NOT company owned and I am very disappointed with the service. Dealers in Maryland seem too busy concentrating on selling and servicing the many other makes of cars they sell in addition to Daewoo.

Other than this, I actually LOVE my '99 Daewoo wagon. It is LOADED with every option but moonroof and was an excellent value for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th February, 2000

10th Aug 2001, 11:29

I would like to lend my support to the comment made here about the Daewoo dealership in Maryland. I have had the worst experience in customer service from the Daewoo dealer in Gaithersburg. They broke the windshield during a routine service on my 2000 Nubira and not only refused to take responsibility, but used unacceptable language when we were at their offices to complain.

Repeated complaints to the Daewoo USA offices by letter, phone and email produced no results and I have had to resort to my insurance company to make them take responsibility. Overall a BIG thumbs down.

28th Nov 2002, 23:32

I bought a 99 Nubira in Feb. of 2001. I have been very disappointed with the service that the dealer has given to me. After 3 months of owning my car I had problems, I had to have the battery cables changed, my idle was running at 3000 RPM or more and I was told that the idle was normal. The gas mileage is very poor I have to full tank my car every 3 days and it will take me only 157-180 miles. Just on Sept. of 2002 my engine gave up on me at 29,000 miles, luckily I still have warranty on my car. I think overall the best thing I like about my car is the warranty it's 5 years or 50,000 miles.

7th Sep 2004, 22:39

I just bought a 99 nubira through a private owner and I had no idea that daewoo is now nearly non-existent. I can't seem to find as much as a radiator hose for the car. pretty little car, but not a wise investment.

6th Nov 2004, 18:39

Hey everyone. I've been reading your comments and finding out that there are many of you that can't find parts for your Daewoo. May I suggest ordering parts off of the Internet and having a local mechanic install them? You can do an Altavista or Google search for "daewoo parts" or "nubria parts" and many of these place are legitimate. Just a little advice.

1999 Daewoo Nubira SX Hatchback 2.0 petrol from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.... 4000 miles.

I hope they bring back the hatchback by the time I'm ready for a new one!

General Comments:

I LOVE my Nubira! Just completed a trip from Reno to Seattle & back. Great on the highway, confident on icy mountain roads, nimble around town. I'll eventually plus-size with new rims and tires.

Only missing console/armrest (made one) and inside hatch release. Power compares well with my old Nissan 300ZX - except for top speed, though my Nubira has done 117mph! Very pleased (so far) with my first brand-new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2000

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

A piece of the moonroof broke off, but other than that, the car has been a gem.

General Comments:

It's all about details. If engineers would have thought just a bit harder and longer, I would recommend purchasing one of these things. Too many minor details trouble me however, such as the stiff transmission and the seating controls. Give them a few years, then check out the reviews. Please send your comments to eneg2@rocketmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

1999 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 Auto from Venezuela

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0 Auto
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

It is very noisy. A lot of clicking noise.

A hard noise in the power train and front suspension (Only 1600 km).

I have taken the car 3 times to Daewoo and they can not eliminate the noise.

General Comments:

Besides the noise it is a powerful car and a good engine but a little bit noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews