2001 Daewoo Nubira SE 4.0 from North America




The bracket on my water pump broke at 13,000 miles.

My tires had to be replaced at 20,000 miles. The brakes were replaced at the same time.

My rotors went bad at 27,000 miles. This caused my car to vibrate when braking.

My timing belt broke at 32,000 miles. The car was in the shop for four weeks.

Now, at 33,000 miles, my rotors are bad again.

General Comments:

This is a good car, when it's not in the shop. However, it's never out of the shop.

The car also dents very easily. I had a friend lean "slightly" on it while pumping gas, and it dented.

The dealership is very slow and unconcerned when working on my car. It takes them forever to get parts, and then they take their time putting them in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2003

20th Nov 2003, 13:35

Oh my God, what a funny review!!! lol.

Am I gonna be buying a Daewoo?? Girlfriend, "I don't think so-o-o-o-o-o-o-o".

12th Dec 2003, 08:13

My 2001 Daewoo Nubira has been a perfect car. It just turned 36K miles, and I have had it in 1 time, for the brake-line recall. If you really had as many problems as you stated, you clearly have not taken care of the car. Like most cars, if you take care of them, don't hot-rod them (it's a 4-banger!), regularly check and change things as needed, they will last a long time. I have to agree with the thin-metal though, I leaned on mine lightly the first week I had it and dented the fender. Mechanically and otherwise, the car has been great, and gets better mileage than my dads 99 toyota carolla. I would buy another when this one wears out... if they sold them.

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Performance, economy, comfort is excellent


Fan switch is faulty since first day. 4 speed fan, but when speed number 4 selected the fan switches off.

Warning signal within the security system has started to fail in all aspects.

General Comments:

The accelerator return spring is very light and I get cramps and aches in my leg from holding my foot off the accelerator. The spring needs to be less responsive.

The after sales service is almost non existant in that the dealer has never contacted me to see if I'm happy with the purchase.

The dealer spare parts and service section at Pt. Augusta (South Australia) leaves a lot to be desired. I recently ordered a tow-bar and replacement fan switch and booked the car in to have the task carried out. I drove 186km to the dealer only to find they hadn't booked me in and the parts hadn't arrived. That was a week ago and I still haven't heard from them in regards to this request.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

21st Dec 2002, 17:38

Try being a UK Daewoo owner!! Daewoo UK have gone bust, so the service centres have all been closed down. Servicing is supposed to be taken over by certain Vauxhall (our equivalent of Holden) dealers, but my local dealer is refusing to book my Nubira in because they haven't been paid by Daewoo's administrators for the last dozen or so cars they've serviced. So, I'm stuck with a car which needs a service, a wiper motor and some suspension work, which nobody wants to touch.

So, when can I expect to be able to get my year old, 10,000 mile car looked at? I guess that'll be the Daewoo!

29th Nov 2009, 21:22

Hi, I've got a 2002 Nubira CDX and my fan speed selector refuses to work on setting 4 also. It will come on on the odd occasion, but usually just send static thru my radio and then refuses to engage. Any idea's on whether replacing the control unit will help? Apart from that she runs really well, good on long trips, great lumbar support. Just a little cheap and nasty on the electrics methinks :-)

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 Litre DOHC from Australia and New Zealand


Bargain beast


Within a few weeks of acquiring the car, a rattling noise started somewhere in the dash.

General Comments:

Very nice car to drive, however the mirrors on the sun visors above the seats in the front are extremely distractive and annoying.

It's a quick sharp car, and looks really good.

Although only a 4 cylinder, it beats heaps of cars out of the lights.

Engine has a disgusting strangled noise... sounds like a dying cat, might get new exhaust or something.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX from North America


I love it, and would definitely buy another when I trade in


I have had no problems with this car. I am a teenager in High School, and this car is perfect for me. I spend about $15 a week on gas and have had no problems.

The only pet peeve I have is that my fuse box cover keeps falling off. I am told it is like that on all these makes.

General Comments:

I would definitely advise this car as a first car or even a family car. There is plenty of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

2001 Daewoo Nubira SE 2.0 L Gas from North America


Go for it!!!



General Comments:

This (so far) is a remarkable little car. This one gets outstanding fuel mileage, 35 highway, and 26 city. Far above what's advertised on the window sticker, and that's travelling 75 mph with the air conditioning on.

One complaint. The seats need to be a little bit more comfortable. After 3-4 hours riding you have to get out to rest your butt.

The motor has plenty of power and the transmission shifts smoothly.

A little wind noise around the windows, but no draughts.

Receive many compliments from our friends on the looks of this car.

So far so good but time will tell. The mechanic tells me they haven't gotten any back for repairs as yet. Which they can't say the same for their Chryslers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001