2001 Daewoo Nubira Reviews

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired2400 kilometres
Most recent distance252000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

It's been a very good car, reliable

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 230,000 kms.

Bush nuts always need doing, but I've got a bad road to travel on.

General Comments:

Bit of a bumpy ride.

Have had it for over ten years, and have only done the head gasket.

It has been a very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2012

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0L DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Espero

Summary:

A brilliant cheapie!!!

Faults:

After an amazing 300,000+ kilometers, the transmission does sometimes miss a gear.

Some computer difficulties at about 285,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

Although Daewoo has one of the worst reputations in the car industry, this expectation has been proven wrong by our surviving Nubira. After 305,000 kilometers in just 7 years this car is still going strong.

Rarely is any maintenance needed. No oil or water checks for this 'newer' car.

Quite quick for what it is, our 16V 2.0L does the 0-100Km in 10 seconds, faster than our Impreza RS! Has no trouble getting to 180km/hr. The sedan is quite lighter then the station wagon that we own, and I can only imagine it would be even faster.

Not super fuel efficient for a 2.0L, about 10L/100km. Still better than most cars out there. When it was first purchased we were getting 800km out of the tank.

Lots of space and storage makes this car amazingly useful and perfect for a family with drivers who want some fun too. However the inside really lets the car down with classic 'Korean' looks. Seats are a little hard.

Handling isn't all that amazing as you would expect, however I believe the sedan is much more impressive as speeding round a corner can lead to the heavy back end of our station wagon losing grip.

Overall this car has proved to be a brilliant purchase, and since buying it new we have only been pleasantly surprised by its quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2008

30th Jun 2009, 03:51

320000 kms, not one days trouble from our wagon. Yes there are more dynamic wagons out there, but at what price. A truly under rated car. Thanks Daewoo for ten years happy motoring.

As a matter of interest, have you looked at the suspension on these cars? You will only find such on much more expensive cars. Stiffen the rear and what a difference. Will get another to keep for replacement. Wife won't drive anything else. Space etc fantastic.

Neil Paterson, Port Elizabeth SA.

2001 Daewoo Nubira SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nubira

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

No mechanical issues whatsoever.

The car did come with cheap tires.

General Comments:

I love this car.

It is a nice quiet, reliable economic ride. I drive less than 8k miles a year since I work from home.

I have had no mechanical issues with this car whatsoever.

When driving on interstate, I get about 30 mpg.

I do maintain the car with regular oil changes, etc.

I'm not worried about the fact this car is not manufactured any longer since most GM parts fit this car and Hyundai has taken over the parts division. I discovered this when my car was hit and the door had to be replaced. Obtaining parts was no problem.

I am getting ready to replace the brakes. Just about any parts dealer has this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2006

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance85500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Big flimsy pile of trash I should never got

Faults:

Let's see, control arms are gone.

Spark Plugs out.

Fuel Injectors clogged.

Other things I've not found out about yet.

General Comments:

The car is falling apart, I haven't been able to drive it in over three months, I can't find parts, OR anyone to fix it, because there are no more dealers in my area.

Uses entirely TOO much gas!

I wish I could sue them, the car is a complete rip off - I've spent more money on repairs, AND I'm STILL PAYING A NOTE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 4.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Pandora's box!

Faults:

I got the car for four hundred dollars at an auto auction because I had to sell my Jeep. It came with bad tires, bad brakes, and the check engine light was on. I don't know where I can get brake pads and rotors. My tail light blew and no one has a tail light that will fit it. I only hope I don't get pulled over before I can find another one to replace it. I took my car to a place to have the check engine light and they can't find anything wrong with it, but why would the light be on if there wasn't anything wrong?

General Comments:

I wish I had kept my Jeep and fixed it up. I would have been better off even though it had 256,000 miles at least I know Jeep isn't going anywhere. I wish I had known that they didn't even make Daewoos anymore before I bought this one. I'm just glad I don't have payments or anything like some of the other people have. I feel really bad for anyone who bought this car. I suggest everyone buy a Jeep they are the most reliable vehicles on the road. I would still own one if my dad hadn't talked me in to selling it. If I can get rid of this one that's what I will be back to buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

13th Apr 2005, 11:33

The ignorance of this reviewer does not make the Nubira a bad car. Anyone who was too stupid to see that the tires were worn and the check engine light was on, before they bought the car even for only $400, deserves whatever they get!

19th May 2005, 07:22

The reviewer does not care about fixing the car.

They have already decided they hate it and are now just looking for an excuse to get rid of it.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews