2001 Daewoo Nubira Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2001 Daewoo Nubira SX 1.6 from Egypt

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Very good car

Faults:

Power steering felt heavy over time, inspected by the dealer who recommended replacement, they were mistaken diagnosis as I was able to fix it with anti rust spray, went fine till now.

General Comments:

The car handles great on long distance and speed, I am able to travel smoothly in a speed range (100- 150 km/h) generally feeling safe, acceleration is adequate considering its weight, but engine noise is high to annoy your music listening sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

3rd Jan 2006, 06:23

I recently bought a Nubira car. It is very noisy and affects my listening to the radio also.

2001 Daewoo Nubira SE 4-door sedan 2.0? from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0? Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Good car for money and commuting

Faults:

Camshaft position sensor - replaced under warranty (and recently recalled by GM Daewoo), because it is such a common problem.

Front brake lines - warranty recall done under warranty.

General Comments:

This car has been an excellent, reliable, commuter car. I travel 20K miles a year to and from work on the freeway, and this car has never broken down, been stranded or anything.

It handles pretty good and is peppy with the 5-speed, but loud at anything over 3K RPM's.

I am not the most gentle driver, but do maintain my vehicles very well, and this Nubira has held up admirably.

My other car is a subaru, and is much more solid feeling, but also cost a lot more...

I paid $10,500 for my Daewoo and it was worth every penny!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX 4 Banger from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 Banger Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A Wonderful Piece of Junkyard Material

Faults:

Several things have gone wrong with this car. It's hard to find parts for the car in the first place. The Spark plug wires are fried at 40k you can't find anyone that carries them. Power Windows aren't suppose to break at 50k Jesus... I had 200k on my buick century and the power windows still worked!!! This car is a piece of crap and if you buy one beware of the hidden costs Your better off spending a few more bucks on a more reliable car.

General Comments:

This car is an OK Car. I wouldn't recommend anyone buying one b/c of the problems that come with it.

-Brakes 30,000miles

-Broken Strut know anyone that carries one

-Spark Plug wires are crap

-P/Window Failure

-Fog Light out, No one carries the light blub.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 11:35

Anyone who hasn't been living under a rock for the last four years knows that Daewoo filed for bankruptcy and the North American dealer organization has largely disappeared.

You just bought the car this year. It's your own fault for not bothering to research before you made the purchase. You have no one to blame, but yourself for the difficulty in finding parts.

2001 Daewoo Nubira CDX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Piece of Doo doo

Faults:

Fuses for engine broke 3 times.

The brakes went.

The paint peeled off on bumper.

The door handles on driver and passenger broke.

The front end broke.

The Horn broke.

General Comments:

I wouldn't recommend this car to the devil himself.

This car fell apart within 3 months of me driving. What a junk heap.

Due to Daewoo filing bankruptcy my dealer would not honor the warranty - AT ALL. I couldn't even buy parts for this car. I drove this car around for 1 year and it only partially ran. I finally called company and told them to take it back.

When I complained to the dealer about the car falling apart and them not honoring the warranty he actually told me to take the car across the border to Mexico, leave it running and then file with my insurance company (I'm NOT lying!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

17th Aug 2004, 03:03

My car is going to Mexico!!! Piece of Korean crap!

4th Oct 2008, 23:50

A Daewoo, as with any other vehicle is only going to give good service if it is respected and taken care of, I assume by the remarks left on this web site that most comments are from very young drivers.

I was young once and I also managed to ruin a few good cars by slamming them around corners, and generally driving too fast and braking too hard constantly.

I have personally owned three Daewoos, and can honestly state that I have never had any serious problems with any of them. I serviced them regularly and the only part that ever broke down on me was a brake light on a Lanos Coupe.

I am currently looking for a late model Nubira CDX Station wagon, so if you have one that has low mileage then please let me know.

For the money they represent very good value, and Dollar for Dollar they are better value than American cars.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews