2002 Daewoo Nubira Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2002 Daewoo Nubira CDX Limited edition 2.0L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 kilometres

Summary:

Overall, a good car to drive and I don't regret buying it

Faults:

The car had a bit of a hiccup when accelerating from a standstill, but this was fixed by the dealer replacing the spark plug leads.

There was a grinding/stretching noise when you turned the steering wheel. This was only in hot weather and was intermittent. The dealer got it fixed. Apparently it was a minor repair.

General Comments:

I will start with the positives first:

The car is comfortable to drive and especially on long distances. It drives smoothly at 100-120kp/h.

The leather trim is very nice and comfortable.

It has good acceleration when you put your foot down, both around town and on the highway. I read the engine is a vauxhall built engine, but I may be wrong.

It holds the road well when steering around corners.

It is average on fuel. I get around 10-11L per 100km.

It has a simple non-cramped interior.

Now for the negatives:

The CD player isn't very good. It keeps skipping even on clean CD's. Although, the radio is fine and it has an excellent speaker system (6 speakers in all).

The immobiliser/keyless entry can be annoying to operate. One button unlocks the drivers door, then you need to press another button to unlock the passengers. Then to lock it you need to press the first button twice. Problem is that sometimes it seems to get confused with itself.

One of the rear passenger window button keeps sticking.

There is a disappointing lack of storage compartments.

The cup holder can be annoying when it is out as it rests on your knee and if you have a cup in it, you can't eject or insert CD's into the stereo.

No cruise control.

The indicator lever is on the left hand side of the steering wheel.

No middle armrest for the rear seat.

Not very good visability for the driver.

The headrests in the back can get in the way of visability. I have had a couple of near accidents because of this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2005

31st Oct 2005, 12:05

I really appreciated the specific examples of the car's deficiencies, as well as the overall balance of the review.

30th Jun 2007, 14:10

Am grateful I found this reviews. Am about to buy this car in 2days time. I just like it because of it's shape and I like the AC. I just highly hope I'll enjoy it, well, this is my first car and I hope you all wish me the best.

-Dr Smile.

2002 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Baleno

Summary:

Never touch one... not even with a barge pole

Faults:

What things haven't gone wrong with it?

This car is the biggest lump of crap I have had the pleasure to drive...

The engine blew up 5 kilometers from the Daewoo dealer (no joke). They placed a new engine in it which took 46 weeks to arrive (yes 46).

Power steering pump broke.

The front and rear suspension collapsed when I drove over a speed hump when driving my boss to work... the car could not make it over any more bumps or lumps, and in the end the body just fell flat against the road...

The car doesn't travel in a straight line, and after telling the dealer about it numerous times, it still hasn't been fixed.

Cup holders broke.

CD player buttons stay stuck if you push them, and the radio itself cannot find a station to play.

Crap korean made tyres wore out to bare rubber after driving on them for 15,000km's.

The interior light globe blows after around opening and closing the doors 50-60 times... this I am told is due to the battery sending the lights too much power (where'd the dealers pull that from?)

The air conditioner needed to be replaced after it conked out on a summer afternoon.

The paint just fades and peels off, even though you park it in the shade.

So far 3 out of the 4 door handles have fallen off.

The tail light bulbs blow all the time and are expensive to fix.

Brake pads had to be replaced at 5,000km's because they warped.

Radio/cd player was stolen!!! (what a joke... its crap house). It was only then given back to police with a note with my number plate no. and a sentence saying... 'it isn't good enough to flog off'

Power windows jam even though the dealer has sprayed numerous amounts of easy slide on the glass.

The exhaust pipe fell off the car and dragged along the road for two hours before I realised... I thought it was the noise from the drivers seat.

Central locking door system is stuffed.

The interior fabric lining on the roof has lifted off the cardboard it was stuck onto.

The list goes on and on and on..

p.s. I forgot to mention that the light fuse blew on the car... the fuse that blew was the one that powered the interior dash board lights... so I was driving in the dark for 1 1/2 hours.

General Comments:

It was a limited edition model and had a very nice leather steering wheel on it.. pity what it is connected to.

Lacks refinement handling and quality.

Colour of fabric in the car is disgusting.

I am scared that a big gust of wind will put a dint into the side of the car... it will only add to the many that are results of leaning on the cheap tin can metal the car is made out of.

I don't want to take it up a mountain because I fear that the brakes won't hold under the pressure when coming back down.

Headrests are too short.

Plastic hub-caps crack and fall apart... expensive to replace... replaced them four times on the fifth time I went to k-mart and got some for $4.99 each and they have lasted 6-times longer than the Korean junk.

The list just goes on with problems.

It seemed like a bargain... what a joke!!!

The Daewoo dealer service is shocking, they are rood and as dumb as wombats.

I will not buy a piece of junk like this ever again!!!

I am going to buy a brand new Suzuki Liana GS which is ten times better and has awesome reliability. I warn you... do not by a Daewoo Nubia in any case, do not buy any Daewoo at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

19th Sep 2004, 09:56

I'm also one of the furious owners of this crap (Daewoo Nubira).I really know some people very pleased (lucky fellows) by Nubira, unfortunately, I have to agree with the worst you are reading in those reviews,and even I have no problems with spare parts, that doesn't make life easier for me.. Daewoo mechanics have no idea of what are they doing. My car have an gas appetite of 15 miles per gallon and is an 1.6liter!!!.And gues what? They told me than according to ECU, everything seems to be OK, hahaha.Those are funny guys.

2002 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance20 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Camshaft sensor went bad. Dealer repaired it with no problem.

General Comments:

I owned many cars and this is by far the best one I have ever owned. Most people hate Korean cars and this is my first. I don't know why they hate these cars because I believe thir statements are unfounded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2003

2002 Daewoo Nubira from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44 miles
Most recent distance78 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Class without the cost!

General Comments:

I have not had the car for more than a day, but I already love it. I came on to this website to read some reviews because to be honest, my husband or I did not know anything about the Daewoo before we bought it. I am thinking it was a good decision. The dealer we bought it from is right down the street from us and they are the biggest Daewoo parts dealer in New England. They just bought out another Daewoo dealer so I am thinking if anything does go wrong we won't have to wait long for a repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

2002 Daewoo Nubira SE 2.0LDOHC16ValveD-Tech from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0LDOHC16ValveD-Tech Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles

Summary:

My Deawoo Nubira rocks

Faults:

Nothing I really enjoy my Deawoo.

General Comments:

Great little tin can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

2002 Daewoo Nubira SE from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Audi 100

Summary:

Good car for price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car so far and I don't expect anything soon to go wrong.

General Comments:

This is a very good car at a reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews