1992 Daihatsu Feroza Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Daihatsu Feroza EFI 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Fun little machine

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump at 150,000ks and apparetly my radiator had to be rebored at the same time.

Every time I have the steering fully turned to the left and am slowly ascending or descending a bump there is a loud snapping sound. Mechanic says he can't find anything wrong.

Whistling that sounds like turbo at about 2800 revs... any ideas what it is.

General Comments:

The car has been very good to drive and I love it. The water pump and radiator dying have annoyed me because I'm stuck in Canberra with the mechanics unable to find parts straight away.

Besides that the car has been a dream. I live in the city (Melbourne) so its lots of fun taking it off road once in a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

16th Sep 2006, 11:12

Hi!

I'm a Feroza owner too, from Portugal. that noise you hear when turning... happends with mine too so I think its normal. a mechanic that is friend of mine told me he fixed a Mitsubishi from 2005 that had the same noise and that noise was unfixable... I think some 4x4 have that characteristic :P.

Be good.

23rd Oct 2006, 18:38

I also own a 1997 Feroza. The whistling noise many people complain of is actually an exhaust blockage... most likely the catalytic converter. This blockage or partial blockage can also be muffler and also been known to occur in the exhaust manifold itself.

Cheers.

Wayne.

24th Oct 2006, 04:59

Hey I just bought one of the rare automatic ferozas and I love it... but as you said above the exact same thing are happening with mine... on average how much money and time did it cost to have the water pump replaced???

Thanx.

13th Feb 2007, 15:22

I too had the problem, it was the rear muffler, the standard factory muffler had collapsed internally and was obstructing air flow. hence the noise.

I replac3ed with a Lukey racing muffler, 21/2 inch pipe work, and a bullet resonator.

Awesome Sound and much more power, although you do get a few confused looks from other motorists as it does sound like a racecar.

11th Mar 2012, 17:59

The cracking noise could be your stoppers for the steering. That was the noise in my Feroza; just grease them up.

8th Aug 2012, 20:28

Try greasing the steering lock stops on the lower suspension arms; that should stop any creaking/cracking type noises.

21st Oct 2013, 20:07

Extractors. New pipe. Clean out cat converter. New high flow muffler. Solved and improved!

1992 Daihatsu Feroza SX II 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired231705 kilometres
Most recent distance236315 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

A small four wheel drive with a big heart

Faults:

I have noticed that from the first day that I bought the vehicle there has been a distinct humming noise, similar to a bearing noise, coming from the rear driver's side. The noise starts and then stops occasionally while waiting at the set of lights.

On the whole the vehicle has left most of the larger four wheel drives behind when it comes to steep undulating tracks. It's shorter wheel base, but wider track allows it to out perform most of the other vehicles in it class. The Suzuki Sierra to name just one.

There are plans to lift the vehicle and drop a 3.6 liter Holden Commodore engine into it with a conversion kit. That should solve the under powered engine problems.

General Comments:

The interior has been kept in immaculate condition.

The condition of the external paint work equally surprising for it's age.

The ability to remove the hard top is an added bonus.

All joints have been greased periodically every 3300Km, and oils have been changed/topped up, at the same intervals since I have owned the vehicle. Prior to that it has been serviced ever 10,000km.

On the whole a top car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2004

2nd Dec 2004, 03:29

All I can say is that drive both of them and then you will know which one to buy. The Feroza on the whole just looks great on the road. More attitude then the Suzies. The pulling power and road handling for me, out weighs the suzies.

1992 Daihatsu Feroza DX 1.6 carb.16v from Argentina

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 carb.16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

It's a daihatsu, it's great, it's fun transformed into a car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

It's a great 4x4 car. I used to own a Charade GTti (Grand Tourism turbo injection twin-cam 12V), a real high performance bargain, but now I can't get down from anything, but a 4x4.

It's reliable, cheap to maintain, easy to drive, comfortable, and roomy on the front and specially on the back seats.

It's great resin roof can be removed, and then it really becomes funny, staring at the sun and feeling the wind on your face.

It's really rough, and it can stand against any driving conditions, even in the real jungle.

Have one, and prepare to really enjoy driving anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

1992 Daihatsu Feroza DX 1.6 carb. from Ecuador

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 carb. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12600 kilometres
Most recent distance198600 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Vitara

Summary:

A funky 4wd performer!

Faults:

Manifold repair 74000 km circa. (strange whistle)

Interior lights worked bad.

Transfer case overhaul at 186000 km.

By mistake I broke the rear glass, replace was really expensive.

General Comments:

Nevertheless was a low expense comparing what this car has given to us.

Easy to drive and park, wonderful 4wd performance, for me this car is a sort of partner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

25th Sep 2006, 21:07

This car at the moment has done 390000 Km and the engine has not been rebuilt or over-hauled. Still doing fine, never the less is no longer mine.

Clutch and clutch cable, radiator and manual locking-hubs where replaced. I think necesarelly buy anoher again.

1992 Daihatsu Feroza 1992 1.6 from Israel

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Applause

Summary:

Bought it, love it!!!

Faults:

I bought it one month ago.

General Comments:

The seats are good, it's a great car, especially on the field.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

1992 Daihatsu Feroza ELII 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Faults:

Clutch replaced - well due for it.

Gearbox replaced - thought I was in a race car.

Cracked windscreen - usual offroad antics.

General Comments:

Very happy with my purchase - $15,000 and well worth every cent.

Reliable, sporty (with mags & big rubber), head turner with the roof on or off and will always be my pride and joy.

The power options make up for driver and front passenger room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 9 reviews