1992 Daihatsu Feroza EFI 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand


Fun little machine


I had to replace the water pump at 150,000ks and apparetly my radiator had to be rebored at the same time.

Every time I have the steering fully turned to the left and am slowly ascending or descending a bump there is a loud snapping sound. Mechanic says he can't find anything wrong.

Whistling that sounds like turbo at about 2800 revs... any ideas what it is.

General Comments:

The car has been very good to drive and I love it. The water pump and radiator dying have annoyed me because I'm stuck in Canberra with the mechanics unable to find parts straight away.

Besides that the car has been a dream. I live in the city (Melbourne) so its lots of fun taking it off road once in a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

16th Sep 2006, 11:12


I'm a Feroza owner too, from Portugal. that noise you hear when turning... happends with mine too so I think its normal. a mechanic that is friend of mine told me he fixed a Mitsubishi from 2005 that had the same noise and that noise was unfixable... I think some 4x4 have that characteristic :P.

Be good.

1992 Daihatsu Feroza SX II 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


A small four wheel drive with a big heart


I have noticed that from the first day that I bought the vehicle there has been a distinct humming noise, similar to a bearing noise, coming from the rear driver's side. The noise starts and then stops occasionally while waiting at the set of lights.

On the whole the vehicle has left most of the larger four wheel drives behind when it comes to steep undulating tracks. It's shorter wheel base, but wider track allows it to out perform most of the other vehicles in it class. The Suzuki Sierra to name just one.

There are plans to lift the vehicle and drop a 3.6 liter Holden Commodore engine into it with a conversion kit. That should solve the under powered engine problems.

General Comments:

The interior has been kept in immaculate condition.

The condition of the external paint work equally surprising for it's age.

The ability to remove the hard top is an added bonus.

All joints have been greased periodically every 3300Km, and oils have been changed/topped up, at the same intervals since I have owned the vehicle. Prior to that it has been serviced ever 10,000km.

On the whole a top car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2004

2nd Dec 2004, 03:29

All I can say is that drive both of them and then you will know which one to buy. The Feroza on the whole just looks great on the road. More attitude then the Suzies. The pulling power and road handling for me, out weighs the suzies.

1992 Daihatsu Feroza DX 1.6 carb.16v from Argentina


It's a daihatsu, it's great, it's fun transformed into a car


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

It's a great 4x4 car. I used to own a Charade GTti (Grand Tourism turbo injection twin-cam 12V), a real high performance bargain, but now I can't get down from anything, but a 4x4.

It's reliable, cheap to maintain, easy to drive, comfortable, and roomy on the front and specially on the back seats.

It's great resin roof can be removed, and then it really becomes funny, staring at the sun and feeling the wind on your face.

It's really rough, and it can stand against any driving conditions, even in the real jungle.

Have one, and prepare to really enjoy driving anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2004

1992 Daihatsu Feroza DX 1.6 carb. from Ecuador


A funky 4wd performer!


Manifold repair 74000 km circa. (strange whistle)

Interior lights worked bad.

Transfer case overhaul at 186000 km.

By mistake I broke the rear glass, replace was really expensive.

General Comments:

Nevertheless was a low expense comparing what this car has given to us.

Easy to drive and park, wonderful 4wd performance, for me this car is a sort of partner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

25th Sep 2006, 21:07

This car at the moment has done 390000 Km and the engine has not been rebuilt or over-hauled. Still doing fine, never the less is no longer mine.

Clutch and clutch cable, radiator and manual locking-hubs where replaced. I think necesarelly buy anoher again.

1992 Daihatsu Feroza 1992 1.6 from Israel


Bought it, love it!!!


I bought it one month ago.

General Comments:

The seats are good, it's a great car, especially on the field.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

1992 Daihatsu Feroza ELII 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand


Clutch replaced - well due for it.

Gearbox replaced - thought I was in a race car.

Cracked windscreen - usual offroad antics.

General Comments:

Very happy with my purchase - $15,000 and well worth every cent.

Reliable, sporty (with mags & big rubber), head turner with the roof on or off and will always be my pride and joy.

The power options make up for driver and front passenger room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000