1982 Datsun 280ZX Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2+2 2.8(non-turbo) from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8(non-turbo) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Great fun and a real eye-catcher!

Faults:

As it is now, the rear shocks and springs are worn. The power steering pulley system seized. Dash and seats are cracked. Factory stereo doesn't work, but will be replaced anyways. Hatch's hydraulic lifts are worn out. Replaced clutch, and power steering system. Replaced seats. Clear coat is wearing off, but that's expected of a 21 year old car!

General Comments:

I've only had my Z-Car for a little more than a week. I've already done some minor work to it, but as it was, I couldn't think of a more fun car to drive. It could use wider tires, the previous owner had 195/75's on it. I'll soon replace those with some 225/35/17's complete with the California style spoke rally wheels, complete with chrome spinner caps. Overall, this car has serious potential to be a serious little hot-rod/cruiser with a little money and time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2.8L 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired195367 miles
Most recent distance198289 miles

Summary:

A high speed thrill for any speed demon that does not have a lot of money

Faults:

Car had a leaking head gasket.

Muffler rusted out.

Fuel injectors and mounts went out.

Oxygen sensor failed.

Belt tension adjusters broke.

Rear hatch lifts went out.

Oil pressure sensor failed.

Radiator houses blew at 196,200.

Positive crankcase ventilation valve failed.

Alternator went out at 197,400.

Differential gasket and mount replaced at 197,500.

Horn relay and horns replaced at 197,000.

Front strut rod bushings replaced at 198,100.

General Comments:

Other than the car's title being of salvage status and the car being a monster back from the grave on its way to revival, it is an excellent first car for a teenager.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2 seater 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

The 280ZX can never be duplicated and will always be the best import sports car

Faults:

The clutch slave cylinder went at 45,000 miles other than that the car is still original.

General Comments:

This is my third 280ZX.

My first one rotted beyond belief so I had to put her to rest. The frames are so weak.

My second Z got totaled by a stop sign runner.

This is my third Z and it runs better then any of my other ones. (might have something to do with the miles) The car is seriously a V8 eater, being that I modified it a little bit. pushing 400 horses is hard, but with my 225/35/18's on there I get some traction.

Full engine tuning has been done.

Full body mods have been done. Including whale tail wing and 4 piece fiberglass motor sport body kit.

The interior consists of Sparco seats, harnesses and steering wheel.

Also 2 TV's, a Playstation 2 along with a 1000 watt stereo system.

280ZX great

280ZX modified = death wish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

14th May 2003, 11:46

How much horsepower from an L28?? Give us a break, kid.

16th Mar 2004, 16:32

Hey, its possible to push 400 or so from an L28.

22nd Apr 2004, 13:14

You can have 600+ from these engines without internal modification! The turbo models are the easiest and cheapest to get to 400+ with just a few part changes (wastegate, fuel pressure reg, fuel pump, injectors, and exhaust). To get to the 500+ rage you need better turbo+. Most people don't know this or don't care, Since there so happy with the cars how they are. Need to remember this is a race engine from the start.

13th May 2004, 19:26

How did you do it really?

6th Jun 2004, 11:32

I just bought one of these cars. I was wondering what your secret was on how you got 400 horses coming out of the engine.

Email me back at jerchandler@comcast.net.

4th Dec 2004, 21:10

I was just wondering, because I'm planning on buying a 280Z or 280ZX / ZX turbo, what you did performance wise to the engine. And how reliable it is at that rate.

Please send comment to. metal_ink_inc@hotmail.com.

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2+2 straight 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission straight 6 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carDatsun 280ZX

Summary:

Wont more bang for your buck!

Faults:

It had a bad clutch pad when I first bought the car.

The windshield seal was leaking.

The dash was cracked and faded by the sun.

For some reason the Interior lights will just come on by there self when it's parked.

General Comments:

This car is pretty much stock and will out run Mustangs, Camaro's and everything else I've ran.

I'm only 5'10" so the car fits me perfectly, its like being in the cockpit of a fighter jet.

Some of the things have been difficult to work on, but overall I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews