1982 Datsun 280ZX Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1982 Datsun 280ZX 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired218000 miles
Most recent distance238000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Sorry I got it with 218000 miles and not when it was new

Faults:

Electric harness, radio, washer pumps (front, rear), T-top leaks, transmission, starter coil, cracked dash and center console arm rest.Seats and carpets were worn.

All of the above have been repaired or replaced at a reasonable cost. There have been and continue to be rust spots, but I am told that is normal for this year model. These have been attended to as well.

General Comments:

The car handles very well despite having been banged around several times.

Can't go anywhere without favorable comments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1982 Datsun 280ZX L28 from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission L28 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carBMW BMW

Summary:

One of the best little 8 cylinder cars in the world!

Faults:

Wow, really like this car, the only fix it needed was to replace the original leather seats with new ones. That's the only thing I had to replace.

General Comments:

I really love this car, everybody is jealous of my Z car. Out performs all of my friends car except one (Acura 2001) besides that, best car I ever had.

I really recommend this car to anybody, handling is very good and you've got a better chance of finding a good parking space hehe!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

22nd May 2002, 21:52

Hello,

I could be mistaking, but I don't remember the 280 having an 8 cylinder. A L6 is more likely to be stock.

Please forgive my English.

Thank you, this web site is great.

24th Aug 2002, 23:28

I agree there was never a "stock" 8cylinder in these cars all the Z cars were powered by 6cylinder variations.

1982 Datsun 280ZX 2.8 (non turbo) from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 (non turbo) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance189120 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mighty Max

Summary:

Great bargain. Saw tons of them in auto trader for around $2500. Good price for a great car!

Faults:

First, I replaced 4 injectors at a cost of about $120. This fixed the gas leaks and made the car run a LOT better.

Second, I had to rewire the rear end light, but only because the previous owner thought he knew what he was doing and had it wired wrong.

Third, dash lights are out, but I'll get to that soon. I'm sure it's because of the previous owner again.

Fourth, the heater core is out, but from what I've read here, that's common. I live in Arizona, so that shouldn't be a problem.

General Comments:

Even with all the little things I've had to do, which really were not that bad, this car is a dream come true.

It handles great and runs strong. A huge change from my previous Mistubishi pickup with the 2.0 liter engine.

Very quick off the line and tight shifting.

I've only had the car 3 days now, but am very, very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

1982 Datsun 280ZX Coupe Turbo 2.8 SOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 SOHC turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carNissan Silvia

Summary:

Very good and fast for the money

Faults:

Heater core had gone bad so I had no heat over the winter.

The driver's seat does not lock in the first three positions so the seat is angled back pretty far.

Steering is leaking a little and I find that early Nissans tend to do this.

General Comments:

The car is very solid and drives well. The automatic makes the acceleration feel a little sluggish, but after the 5-speed swap, it's much better off the line. It can beat several of the newer "hotrod" compact cars. Not bad for a car made in 1982!

The handling is good, but not as great as my old Silvia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

1982 Datsun 280ZX 1.6 (?) not turbo'd from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 (?) not turbo'd Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Colt

Summary:

High performance can be expensive - but worth it!

Faults:

In the 6 years I've had the car, I've had to replace the computer module, alternator, starter, speedometer head, engine, ignition module and (most recently) clutch slave cylinder.

I've also replaced the rear struts, tie rod ends, and had the brakes rebuilt.

General Comments:

While I've practically rebuilt the car, it was 13 years old at the time of purchase and all original, so most of these repairs were to be expected.

In spite of the above, I believe these are great cars! They're built for the sheer pleasure of driving, and I love the way mine handles. I've gotten good, dependable performance and good gas mileage - and when I finally give mine up, it'll break my heart!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2001

21st Jan 2001, 20:46

280ZX's only came with 2.8 liter engines (not 1.6), hence the name, 280ZX.

30th Jan 2001, 06:43

A friend of mine bought one a few weeks ago. It's a well balanced and powerful sports car, however the headlight system isn't working and the service manuals are hard to find.

15th Jun 2001, 21:23

I bought my 280ZX in Dec 1999; it was a little run down, but had a good motor, fuel injected six, and gearbox, auto/ I've had it sprayed original blue, but what made the car special was a new set of 16" Lotus alloy wheels, fitted with low profile Dunlop tyres, it changed the whole feel of the car, from good to excellent. It also made the same difference to the look of it! I`ve spent a lot on it, but it is a great car!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews