DeLorean DMC-12 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1981 DeLorean DMC-12 PRV-6 single overhead camshaft per bank of cylinde from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission PRV-6 single overhead camshaft per bank of cylinde Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance999034 miles

Summary:

We're sending you back to the future

Faults:

The doors mostly. Despite the cool factor, they suck. They don't really fit the body, water leaks constantly and there is just way to much crap inside of them. Pathetic horsepower. Easily fixed with the assistance of Nissan Motors.

General Comments:

I love this car, and I have been to the future believe it or not. Good looking car, very little room for really anything. A useful tip for some of you DeLorean fans, the engines are sad, pick up an SR-20 motor from Nissan, you will not be disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

25th Dec 2003, 03:30

I think any engine is entitled to have pathetic horsepower if it's done close to a million miles.

If you have been back to the future, can you give me the contact details of the firm which supplies Flex Capacitors? I can't find them in either the RS or Farnell catalogues, and E. Brown Enterprises Inc. is apparently no longer trading. I think it would be a rather neat addition to my Mazda MX-6.

Mind you, if every time jump bungs 15K on the odometer I'm not so sure.

31st Mar 2004, 13:56

I think you mean FLUX capacitors. I've read a few reviews on this car and from what I can see you could solve nearly all the problems associated with the car by putting in a Japanese engine, preferably a Honda or Toyota.

22nd Jul 2004, 13:43

All you have to do is find an early Volvo V6, and throw it in. DeLorean was smart in using engines developed by the Europeans, as they tend to keep them supplied with parts. Here in Australia, we have so many of the V6 Volvos ie; 264 sedans or 265 wagons. People sell them with rusted out bodies for under $500US. I don't know the availability of them in the US. Hope this helps any prospective DeLorean restorers.

9th Sep 2005, 10:57

Fool's! Just add a twin turbo lotus esprit v8 engine to your dmc 12, plus this kinda keeps the car pure as a lot of the engineering was done by lotus. (This may not be cheap!)

15th Aug 2006, 12:47

I love these cars, but I can't find one and I want to buy one.

24th Aug 2006, 15:35

Go to ebay. there are usually a few Deloreans for sale. Some are basket-cases, but most been maintained pretty well. At least, on par with a used corvette. I'd take a restored Delorean any day.

25th Nov 2006, 22:31

When I got mine a year and a half ago I had the doors changed to open like normal, now its the same setup as the Ford GT.

28th May 2007, 12:53

I set up the doors so they open the opposite way, they open from the top. it's really hard to get in it now.

1981 DeLorean DMC-12 2.85 Liter PRV V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.85 Liter PRV V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

The Back To The Future car

Faults:

Transmission computer was shot, but I had no idea until I blew the actual transmission. DeLorean automatic transmissions are known for crapping out when you jump start the car (I wish I knew). It's a bad transmission to start with, only 3 forward gears and nobody knows how to service it ($3500 and 1 year later it's still not fixed).

The engine is by far the biggest disappointment this car has to offer. The engine is a very under powered PRV (Peugeot Renault Volvo) 2.8 liter V6. It's very good on gas, but I wouldn't dare drag a bicycle. The car starts only when it wants to and overheats just going to the supermarket. For a car that looks as fast as a Ferrari from the future, it performs like your 70's Volvo station wagon. Although I did not buy it for the performance it could still use a little more.

The interior all black leather (rare option) is perfect and very comfortable, except that it gives some people a claustrophobic feel (I feel very comfortable alone).

The all brushed stainless-steel body is awesome. The only complaint I have is that it very easily gathers fingerprints off the many people that just have to touch it. The body impresses everyone and is very easy to clean (and yes you can use Brillo). The gull-wing doors are fantastic and catch the eye of everyone for miles.

General Comments:

The car is a great car even despite the performance and hard serviceability. It's a lot of fun to drive and own. Everywhere I go people have to get a look.

The car handles like a sports car, very tight and very impressive (if only the engine could live up to the handling and design).

The DeLorean is a very well designed timeless classic. I am very lucky to own one that I am currently fixing.

Unfortunately after spending almost $10,000 on engine and transmission repairs I must replace them as they just get worse and worse. I have decided to put a more reliable and high performance engine to live up to the DeLorean styling, a Cadillac 4.6L Northstar V8. That will put an end to the DeLorean plagued engine performance.

If John Z. DeLorean were to go into business today I would be the first on line to buy the new generation DeLorean Hopefully this time it will sport a V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2002

8th Dec 2002, 21:53

Go to www.delorean.com; it may be able to help you with some of the hard to find parts.

I love DeLoreans, but I do agree they need a more reliable drive train, but I still love the cars.

Let me just add; what can you expect from a man that used to work for General Motors? He isn't going to know how to build a dependable drive train, but can build a nice looking car with pretty good handling.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews