DeLorean DMC-12 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1982 DeLorean DMC-12 2.8 V6 aluminum alloy from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 aluminum alloy Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL600

Summary:

Owned two and will buy another!

Faults:

The car was abused by the previous owner. This is the lowest maintenance exotic out there, but its still an exotic. Its not a Geo.

With that said, after 100,000 miles the oil pan gasket has begun to drip oil. WOW.

I had to change the oil, filter, air cleaner and headlights. WOW.

General Comments:

At 65 MPH the car wanders, but have no fear! You're simply going to slow. The suspension is designed for 100+ MPH. If you only drive this car below 100, then you'll surely be disappointed. I've gone 140 and it actually gets smoother and easier to control.

This isn't the fastest car on the road, but if you want speed better find a good lawyer. Accelerating quickly is an exhibition of speed everywhere I've been.

This machine has style, and is unique!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

16th Aug 2004, 10:45

Oh, so it wanders at 65 mph, but is OK at 140 mph, yeah, that makes sense.

I doubt this writer has ever been anywhere near a Delorean, let alone owned any! WOW.

9th Nov 2004, 07:23

Actually, I spent a month driving an '81 around town in mixed driving and it does wander and constantly seem to need steering corrections at freeway speeds. This was on a car with only 6600 miles. The tires were fairly new Michelin MXV's so that was not an issue, but I believe the large rear tire small front tire combination is. It is also unusual driving a car without power steering.

13th May 2005, 11:50

The steering is tight at all speeds and the car does not wander at any speed.

FYI the Delorean can't barely make it up to 120MPH and it never could do 140MPH so you are also wrong with that comment too.

I own a Delorean and have never heard such nonsence in my life and you have posted false statements.

19th Dec 2005, 15:23

Does this guy have a turbo? I know the DMC is a horse with stock parts, but I've seen turbo's advertised in Delorean World that'll buy you an extra 80Hp. That might be what this guys got.

19th Dec 2005, 16:59

The guy does not have a DeLorean, let alone one with a turbo. At least 10% of the reviews on this site are complete fabrications by people who fantasize about owning the vehicles they are "reviewing", or just have nothing better to do with their time.

This review is one of those.

1982 DeLorean DMC-12 2.8 NA from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 NA Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance99700 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 220

Summary:

Amazing handling and style

Faults:

I knowingly bought the car with problems. It was abused by the previous owner. People seem to be unaware that this is an exotic, NOT a Honda, and requires good old fashioned enthusiasm and upkeep.

With that said, the seats were died out and the brake pads needed replacing.

General Comments:

This car handles amazingly well. At 65 it is hard to keep straight because the suspension is designed for 100+ MPH. If you only drive this car below 100, then you'll surely be disappointed.

Also, it won't out-accelerate everything on the road. But then again, in 2003 you can own a Ferrari and be outrun by a Toyota... so why bother trying to be the fastest?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

26th Apr 2004, 13:53

Have you ever driven a Delorean in good condition? it doesn't sound like it. My delorean drive and runs great at any speed. A well maintained Delorean is a pure pleasure to drive.

29th Sep 2004, 19:50

Both of the 1982 DeLorean "reviews" on this site appear to have been written by the same goober.

1981 DeLorean DMC-12 2.85L PRV-V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.85L PRV-V6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

A car to own for a lifetime

Faults:

I have had no major problems with this car because I keep it properly maintained, as all 22 year old cars should be.

General Comments:

This is a truly incredible car.

Very reliable if properly maintained, (lots of problems are due to a previous owner's cheap fixes).

You'll get looks wherever you go.

Handles very well.

Acceleration may not be fast, but I wouldn't consider it slow either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

11th Apr 2004, 00:48

First of all I love Deloreans the car was way ahead of its time and its not meant to be a fast car, but a rare exotic and I would take a Deloeran over a mustang anyday because the DMC has so much better looks and is just stunning to look at. But if its speed you want just modify the DMC and it will surely blow away a v8 mustang I have seen 4 bangers blow away mustangs, but the point here is that the DMC is a beautiful car and people who own them should be happy because the car is becoming rare to find. PS. I don't hate mustangs I just prefer a DMC. PEACE OUT.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews