1987 Dodge 600 Standard 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


Worth every penny..


Had to recharge the air-conditioner. Everything else is perfect on this car.

General Comments:

My '87 Dodge 600 is in absolute mint condition. It has only has 63,000 original miles, and was owned by 1 person before me. The car was owned by a 94 year old man who recently passed away. The car was taken meticulous care of and garaged kept. It is not the fastest car I've owned, but at least it has the bigger, fuel injected 2.5 liter 4, so it does have a little pep. I'm looking around now to see if I can find another one of these cars in a junk yard, with the turbocharged engine, so I can steal the turbo and manifold off of it and bolt on to my engine. hehehehe...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

25th Apr 2005, 21:32

If you're gonna go turbo, you'll have to swap the Turbo engine into your car, the whole thing. There are a few reasons why. The turbo motor is Multi Point Injection, whereas the 2.5L is a throttle body design. They have different computers. And more importantly, the internals of the engine (and transmission, 3 speed right?) are beefier in the turbo. Use the normal ones, and they'll burn out in about a month.

Good luck finding a good donor car though!

1988 Dodge 600 2.2 from North America


You get what you pay for


When we first got the car, the first thing we noticed was it leaked oil from the side pan on the transmission. With further inspection, I found out that the oil pan was almost completely rusted out, thus the oil leak. Also the dash light behind the heater panel didn't work. Another problem I found was gas mileage. After crawling under the car I found that the fuel line had a hole about the size of a pin in it. Other minor problems include: dome light malfunction in the drivers side and seat belt re-tractability.

General Comments:

This car definitely is not a car you'd see on the fast and the furious, but it handles very well and gets me from point A to B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

16th Jan 2005, 02:00

Generally speaking economy was the word of the day when these cars were produced. As well, the fire and forget maintenance attitude of the day did not go ever well, finicky beasts these cars be.

1988 Dodge 600 dodge SE 2.2 gas from North America


I could never ask for a better car


I have replaced my head gasket three times.

General Comments:

I have never had such a great car in my life. This car has been so cheap to run, Its always starts in the winter when it 40 below zero. The paint job is peeling and there is some rust, but other than that it's a good car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2003

1988 Dodge 600 SE from North America


It's a good car - unless the previous owners were oblivious to proper maitenance


One of the brake lines burst 5 days after I bought it. I had to replace the brake lines and the brake pads as they were also worn very badly.

The shocks and struts were beyond repair. This caused the car to bounce horribly - but that's my own fault for not fixing them, although I didn't really feel like paying for new shocks and struts for a $500 car.

I replaced the front driver's side drive axle and a month later the passenger one went.

There were slight problems with the electrical components of ignition which were easily fixed.

The clear coat was peeling/chipping off very badly, even though it was a 15 year old car, most other vehicles of its age still had decent paint jobs.

General Comments:

This car is very fuel efficient. I used it to drive to school and to work and I usually only had to put $20 gas in it every two weeks - and the tank wasn't empty yet.

The seats are very comfortable and the power features and air conditioning spoiled me.

The engine is pretty good. It's got a decent amount of power, it's no muscle car - but it's not a dog either. The engine itself is probably worth twice what the car itself is.

I imagine that most of the problems this car had were due to it's previous owners negligence. I do know other owners of the same car (same model, trim line and year) that have good paint and very few problems with their car. So I would definitely recommend this car to someone who needs the passenger room and likes the looks of late 80's sedans - just make sure the previous owner looked after this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2003

25th Jan 2005, 01:45

I have the same problem with my light not turning on when I open the driver door, I also changed my head gasket twice and I got a new transmission on it too, my car has 100 k, and maintainance has not been that much, it does waste a lot of gas, maybe I have a leak somewhere? but I do travel a lot. Its been great on road trips top speed is 135 km/h, and the only problems I have right now is it over heating, so I might have do something about that, but as long as I put in coolant once a week I'm fine. the car has enough power, and its fun to drive I find, the 6 seater is awesome too.

5th Oct 2005, 17:08

I have a Dodge 600 SE, and it is a great little car. The paint job on the car when I got it was not too bad, but I fixed it up a little better than it was before. I got a sound system put in it and it sounds great. I use the car to get my friends and I around town, and it is a all around great car.

22nd Mar 2010, 09:31

The paint on these are not very good and peels easily. The one that don't are usually the ones that are regularly garaged and waxed. If you have peeling, it's because it's been standing outside in the sun all day when parked. A neighbour had one being regularly used. But she always had it garaged when not driving, and she always parked in the shade when at work. She had it washed and waxed regularly. Even at 15 years this car looked more or less as new with no paint flaking, while I've seen 8-10 years old 600's that were flaking all over the place. So how you treat your car plays a major role in how it'll look like after some years.