1997 Dodge Avenger ES from North America - Comments

19th Jul 2002, 22:12

Did you ever resolve the stalling issue??? I'm going through the exact same horrible experience right now. This month a new fuel pump, alternator, and power train control module have been installed on my car. It still stalls. After a few minutes, I'm able to start the car and drive it again. I only have 51,000 miles on my 97 Dodge Avenger

Since I purchased the car, the engine has required throttle body cleaning and tune ups twice already. I've had to replace the battery at least twice. Due to oil leaks, I've had the cam sensor seal and the head gasket replaced. Also, my clutch master cylinder is making a snapping noise and needs to be replaced.

This was my first and probably the last Chrysler product that I'm buying.

31st Jul 2002, 13:18

I own a 1996 Dodge Avenger and have recently started having the stalling problem! It's extremely dangerous and there doesn't seem to be a "fix"...so also very frustrating. It's so intermittent which doesn't help either. I'm glad to hear that others are having the problem, too, though not glad that Dodge doesn't seem to have a fix for the stalling!

2nd Aug 2002, 11:12

I also have a Dodge Avenger (96) with 50,000 miles. It has been doing this stalling/won't start thing since the 35,000 mile mark. I believe it has something to do with the fuel system because when it won't start I don't hear the fuel pump cycle. I can continue to rotate the key until I hear the pump cycle and then I know it will start. The problem now is I want to sell the car, but every time someone test drives it, it stalls. I've had it at the Dodge dealership three times and they can't duplicate the problem. This is the last Dodge I will buy. I've also had huge problems with GMC. I guess I'll have to buy a Nissan or Toyota again. It's sad, but I work too hard to waste my money.

1st Oct 2002, 19:52

I have a 97 avenger sport with 117000miles and I've never had a problem or even a tune up, go thru a battery about every other year and I need struts bad, but that's it.I'm very happy.

2nd Jan 2003, 12:52

I have a 97 Avenger with about 120,000 miles on it. I have replaced the battery twice since owning it. It now has an oil and transmission fluid leak. The O2 sensor is bad as well. It also has the stalling problem which never seems to get fixed on it's numerous trips to the shop. I've also had to replace a bad water pump. Today it wouldn't start at all.

21st Jan 2003, 16:10

I have a (96) Avenger... need I say more? Within the last 2 years I have spent over $7k on repairs. From struts, endless alignments, continuous transmission repair, a check engine light that has a mind of its own, replacing O2 sensors every 6 months or so, and of course... the piece of wood I keep in my car, to knock on for luck, so my car won't stall.

I just recently checked into all the recalls made on my car and it was a full 3 pages long. When I contacted Dodge I was told I missed the recall deadline by not going to the dealership when I received notice. Bad thing is, I never received a single letter from them about a recall. My luck - as always.

To anyone who reads this.. hope you've better luck than I have.

10th Jun 2003, 17:50

I have a 97 avenger, I too have had the same problems. The car has 102,000 miles. At 84,000 miles I paid 2300.00 for a new trans. New water pump is now needed. I have had 3 batteries, 4 sets of brakes the struts have been replaced, and I too have had the stalling problem. The stalling problem on my car was a manufacturer problem. A wire was not sealed right. My control arms were replaced also. This car has cost me about the same in repairs as I paid for the car. Everything on it and the labor cost so much cause it basically is a foreign car.

1st Jul 2003, 08:44

I have a 1997 dodge avenger, it never gave me any problems until about 6-7 months ago first it was the alternator, now I think its the transmission, it does not want to change gears so I have to manually shift it. it has trouble starting. it is now sitting in my driveway with the grass growing around it, also with no brakes. I want it fixed so I can get rid of it, but don't have the money for whatever is wrong with it as I am sure it will cost an arm and a leg.

26th Jul 2003, 23:26

97 Dodge Avenger here. Same problem. Fuel pump won't start. And still no one knows how to fix this. Sounds like I should tell the repair guy to leave it alone and find another car.

3rd Sep 2003, 10:20

I own a Dodge Avenger (1996) and it has been in the shop for the past 3 weeks. The mechanics have ran the diagnostic test numerous times, as well as replaced numerous sensors. (crank shaft censor, cam censor, and even a coil pack) My car stalls not only when I come to a stop in traffic, but it has even shut off while driving 65 MPH. The latest and greatest from the mechanic... if this last censor that he replaced doesn't "fix" the problem, then he is going to assume that it is the computer.

6th Sep 2003, 17:52

All of you that have a stalling problem and fume problem, you might just have to get your gas pressure regulator checked. I had that problem 4 times and I had to change them every time. It gets to a point were the gas mileage is horrible. And it's about 350$ a piece.

30th Sep 2003, 13:54

I have a '97 Dodge Avenger. Same stalling problems. I have replaced the head gasket, battery, and water pump. I need to replace the struts, not to mention numerous small repairs. The biggest thing of all, not one, but two door handles have broken off. I have read other complaints with this same problem. I had to bust the seats down through the trunk and crawl through the car.

4th Oct 2003, 21:34

I have a 1996 Avenger and I just Started to have the stalling problem this summer. If anyone has any new information on what the fix is for this problem please let us know. It is a very frustrating problem. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks everyone.

14th Oct 2003, 20:09

1997 Dodge Avenger. Interesting thing happened on the way from the skating rink. A sound that resembled a cork popping out of a bottle, a cloud of white smoke from the right side of the engine, a cloud of white smoke from the tailpipe, anti-freeze pouring from the car. The car will not start and makes a squeaking noise when it tries to turn over. The mechanic says that there is no compression in the cylinders and that the spark plugs have melted. Any guess as to what may have happened?

9th Jan 2004, 14:10

I have a 95 avenger that I have had for about 4 years now. Since the week I bought it I have had problems. I have put several oxygen sensors, fuel pump, batteries almost every year, new brakes, water pump. My alarm and door locks stopped working and several times my alarm just went off on its own and wouldn't stop.

Things have gone great the last year and now it is stalling. It starts back up when it wants to. I am scared to death to take it in because I have spent thousands on it already. I know every time I take it in it cost me anywhere from 800-1500. I would never recommend this car and I wish when I bought it I could of read some of these reviews.