1997 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 9 of 12

1997 Dodge Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Lemon joke of Dodge

Faults:

72000 transmission went out

Oil Leak and A/C not working

Wheel cylinders busted

Tires wearing out very fast, car never wants to stay aligned

Windshield wipers have a mind of their own

Front end shakes horribly

Driver seat acts like not bolted to floor properly

Starter fell off (yes, fell off)

Fortunately I bought the warranty of the lowest grade, which covered the transmission. Next I had the wheel cylinders fixed and replaced the tires myself. I fought with the dealership for almost a year before they agreed to fix the head gasket leak, water pump, and timing belt. Car ran good for 3 months or so and I come home from work and the starter fell off. I had to have towed and spent $345.00 having a new one on it. About a month ago my air went out again and car started hesitating and idling very low. Have had different things done to it to determine the problem. Tonight I am driving home from the grocery store and the transmission is starting to go out again. I have invested atleast $3000.00 in this car in the last year. After reading what I have tonight has made me reconsider Dodge products and make a call to their office. This is ridiculous of what I am finding out here on the Internet. Does it take someone getting killed or something before Dodge decides to take action? Look at what happened with Ford and their tires. All complaints should be emailed to Dodge. We invest in America for out future and get nothing in return. What Happened?

General Comments:

Car is rooming for hauling kids and going on trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

1997 Dodge Caravan V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Cheap minivan

Faults:

The transmission went bad after I owned the car for 5000 miles. Rebuilt and then went bad again.

The air conditioning was poor. First the compressor clutch went and then a major leak in the system (inside the dash)

Front struts were vary noisy when cold.

General Comments:

I bought this car with a lot of miles, but it seems that everything was going bad after I owned it for only 10000 miles. Maybe this is why it was sold by the last owner, but I feel I am a better used car purchaser than that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

1997 Dodge Caravan SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Great van, except for all the defects

Faults:

Transmission went to limp mode at 63000.

Due to the manufacturers defective clock-spring located in the steering column, the following items have faulted; Windshield wipers cycle automatically, airbag light stays lit, and the horn does not work.

General Comments:

Great van except for all the defects.

Great service, but manufacturer defects should be resolved by the manufacturer.

My 1999 Grand voyager has the same issues as the 1997 Dodge.

Obvious manufacturer defects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

16th Nov 2002, 11:48

Your review sounds like a re-run, we've had all the same issues except the transmission. We just decided our van has a mind of its own and when it wants to speak it turns on the wipers. Especially when we talk about trading it in.

25th Nov 2002, 12:32

Sounds like problems I've been having with my ES. Transmission went out at 43,000 miles. Luckily I had bought the extended warranty (I'd only had the van six weeks). Since then the coil spring has gone out (which they said wasn't covered by the warranty, but after all the problems I'd had with the van, the dealership made sure it was covered by "someone" - I just don't know who), the front end creaks when I back out of a driveway with the wheels turning, the major belt has gone out, I've replaced all four tires, the radio works sporadically, the power steering hoses need to be replaced, but aren't interfering with the driving - yet. I think there's other things, but can't remember them all. Only have 77K on the van now.

28th Sep 2003, 13:11

I had the same problem with the wipers, too. Dealer covered it under original warranty. But here is a new one. Lights will automatically come on by themselves, like the car is possessed. One night, they just kept coming on and then off, on and off at different intervals. Had to pull out the low beam and parking lot relays to prevent the battery from draining. Still need to fix it. Has to be something with the auto shutoff relay.

6th Oct 2003, 11:51

Nothing but trouble. Got a new transmission. Wipers come on and off. Latest is the service engine soon light seems to always be on. Will never purchase another Chrysler product.

29th Apr 2005, 08:17

I also have experienced the phantom wiper syndrome, and my friend Richard had his wiring harness melt because he let the wiper/light symptoms drag on without fixing them. The insurance company would not cover him under fire insurance because in his statement "he did not see an actual flame".

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 47 reviews