1997 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 3 of 12

1997 Dodge Caravan Standard - "No Frills" 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired114500 miles
Most recent distance131500 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Wonderful!

Faults:

Chunk of ice hit and shattered the back of the tension rod, belt came off, November, 2006 the day after a massive ice and snow storm.

General Comments:

We wanted a family van for city driving and longer trips, and we found it! While researching vehicles, we noticed there were fewer problems with the 3.0L versus other engine designs, and are very happy with our purchase! Carfax report came back clean, previous owners must have babied this van. No leaks, no rattles, nothing but a purr. We recently took it on a 3,000 mile drive from St. Louis to Tucson, and had NO PROBLEMS whatsoever. I recently herniated a disk in my back, and the seats didn't cause me a minute of discomfort. We could have used a little more space in the "trunk," but otherwise had an enjoyable trip with it! We had the oil and transmission fluid checked when we got to our destination (both were clean, changed oil anyway), and when we returned (both were clean, will change oil again at 3,000 mile mark). Cruise control works better than any other we've ever had, and while this is a base model (manual windows) we do enjoy the power and heated side mirrors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2007

1997 Dodge Caravan grand caravan 8.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 8.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance15 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

I hope I can fix the new problem on it because its my baby..

Faults:

Brakes had them redone last year and 2 years ago a transmission... I have trouble with the windshield wipers.. they go off now and then and had my starter fixed and new battery.. has three batteries put into the car since I bought it back in 1997. I now have a new problem with the car.. the light in side on the dash are flickering and the car when stops tries to putt out... I'm hoping its the battery that it isn't charging to the car... I haven't had many problems with my car because I enjoy my car...

General Comments:

I have enjoyed my car... I had little problems with it.. Its still going strong with its little faults.. I would rather fix the problem before deciding to get another car.. The seating is great when it comes to me kids and their friends.. Great on trips too...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2006

6th Nov 2006, 16:34

Such low miles, too!!!

6th Nov 2006, 18:17

Uhhh...according to your review you haven't driven your Caravan ANY in 9 years. Maybe that's why it's had problems. It's molding from lack of use!! Seriously, I guess you forgot to put in the current mileage. The Caravan is an awesome vehicle, and I'm honestly surprised to read that you've had as many problems as you have. Several of our friends have put way over 200,000 miles on Caravans with very little trouble, and I drove a '90 Dodge Omni almost a quarter of a million miles with only 2 brake jobs and 2 timing belts replaced. Chrysler builds GREAT cars and trucks.

16th Mar 2007, 11:03

Although it is somewhat normal to have gone through 3of batteries since new (no-maintenance batteries are never the same, once you kill them, I have had 3 in mine), 3 batteries + lights that flicker would indicate something else. Try testing your alternator, battery connections (cables). I had mine not start every once and a while, replaced the battery twice and it turned out to be a short in a cable. Hope this helps. I have a 97 with 250+kms, and still looks great and has been great overall (knock on wood).

1997 Dodge Caravan 3.3 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles

Summary:

Great when it's not having problems

Faults:

I'm shocked to find so many others with the same problem. The squealing is driving me crazy. I have had the tensioner and pulley assembly replaced and the belts 3 time in less than a year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

1997 Dodge Caravan from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carDodge Dynasty

Summary:

Worse than my 1987 Dodge Dynasty

Faults:

Major $600 or more brake job every two years.

Intermittently windshield wipers came on for no reason, sometimes all accessories did not work on hot days until you turned it off and started the engine agian, took to dealer three times, was always told "it was a fuse", but it was never fixed.

Head gasket was replaced when 4 years old, cost over $1000 dollars out of pocket even after extended warranty paid a portion.

2 cassette decks died.

Fan not covered by extended warranty needed replacement over $500 at 4 years old.

Serpentine belt replaced 3 times.

Air conditioner condenser went up in 2005, did not bother fixing, was going to cost over $1000, it sounded like an airplane, just had them disconnect it.

Timing belt and kit plus water pump went at 82,000 miles, was going to cost $1100, that's wehn I packed it in.

General Comments:

Great for hauling things, especially as a musician, but not worth the repair costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th May, 2006

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 47 reviews