1998 Dodge Dakota Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1998 Dodge Dakota Sport 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance59163 miles

Summary:

A great buy for anyone wishing to learn vehicle maintenance

Faults:

The brake rotors required replacement shortly after purchase.

The ball joints, tie rod ends, and all rubber front suspension components required replacement at 40000 miles; all replacement parts were dealer supplied.

The front passenger seat belt will not lock when pulled rapidly as would be expected during a accident to stop the occupant from hitting the windshield.

The front brake calipers had to be replaced at 46000 miles along with another set of rotors.

The rear drum backing plates rusted through, this was discovered during a state safety inspection.

The valve seats had to be replaced at 52000 miles to remedy a major oil consumption problem.

The total exhaust system had to be replaced at 54000 miles.

The forward pick-up bed retaining bolts rusted off and were replaced.

Three of the exhaust manifold bolt heads were found to have rusted off.

The fuel injector on the number 3 cylinder failed at 59000 miles. Additionally, a brake fluid leak was discovered at the rear of the vehicle caused by severely rusted brake lines.

General Comments:

The truck is no longer safe to operate on the street. I have since welded the exhaust manifolds directly onto the heads and disabled the rear brakes. The vehicle is now only used for work on my property.

The quality of this vehicle is substandard to any thing I have ever seen before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2004

8th May 2006, 21:43

I guess if you have the 3.8L engine you gonna have problems.

Funny dodge never put a 3.8L in a truck! it's a 3.9L!

22nd May 2006, 14:12

Did you beat on that truck or something? Mine is still working great. Its one of my more favorite trucks I've had. I don't know what your talking about.

1998 Dodge Dakota SLT 3.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Pickup

Summary:

Will go back to a foreign import on my next vehicle

Faults:

On my third catalytic converter. First two replaced under warranty. Third used aftermarket.

Replaced brakes and rotors twice.

Headliner fell down when first purchased.

Fuel Pump Replaced at 110K Miles.

Factory Radio died first week I had the vehicle.

Replaced light dimmer switch.

Replaced water pump 105K miles.

Replaced arm rest bracket twice.

On third set of tires.

Replaced oxygen sensor.

Leaky front headlight.

General Comments:

Truck rides great and has nice styling.

Reliability is the worst of any vehicle I have every owned.

Dodge dealership bought from provide poor service and wasted considerable time.

Vehicle has great room for the driver with blind spots on the window down supports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

28th Oct 2008, 20:34

You must be foreign... Dodges only come 3.9, not 3.8.

1st Aug 2010, 00:21

Fuel pump, water pump and O2 sensor are pretty standard items to replace at the 100k mile mark.

Third set of tires? What kind of tires are you getting? Most tires only last about 45k miles anyway before they should be replaced.

1st Aug 2010, 12:09

Why buy foreign?? Ford currently ranks ahead of Honda and way ahead of Toyota, and both Ford and GM had more cars in the top three of every category of J. D. Powers Initial Quality Survey than ANY Foreign car maker.

1998 Dodge Dakota SLT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Looks great, rides nicely, awful reliability

Faults:

Intake Manifold Gasket failed at about 15K.

Engine required re-synchronizing almost as soon as I bought the truck.

The Dakota has been loping when idling (since about 20K miles). It either has a vaccum leak or, as I fear, a leaking head gasket. Perhaps Dodge will buy me a new motor!

The transmission sensor went bad (at 33K)

The fuel filter failed (at 31K)

General Comments:

I suppose it's easy to tell that I cannot stand the truck. It has soured me on Dodge products in general. The service dept. at the five-star Dodge dealer has been good about helping, and I am very, very glad that I purchased a 7-year extended warranty on this vehicle.

I purchased a Dakota because it is the perfect size for the sort of work I do. I haul loads about 6x per year (1500 lbs or slightly more) for garden and farm. The truck also hauls lighter stuff on a regular basis. Otherwise I take the bus or walk to work--so the truck gets about 6K miles per year of duty. I am meticulous about maintaining the truck and use, for instance, Castrol Syntech oil that I change myself.

It's too bad the Dakota is so unreliable (see Consumer's Report) because it looks good and rides great. The only other truck in its size class, the Tundra, costs too much. Other trucks are too small or too darned big. I'll replace my Dodge with a Tundra or Tacoma as soon as the warranty runs out. Sigh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 35 reviews