1989 Dodge Daytona Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1989 Dodge Daytona Base 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120481 miles
Most recent distance120900 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

Sporty cheap and reliable

Faults:

Had to replace the dash lights.

Will need rear shocks soon.

Left side speakers are currently out.

Paint is flaking off on the rear of the car.

Small amount of rust on passenger door.

General Comments:

This is my second Dodge Daytona. It almost drives as good as the first (new in 1988). Comfortable interior. Drives very well for 14 years old. Great on gas! Pickup seems to have dropped on it, but once it's up to speed, will run all day there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

27th Feb 2005, 22:01

Update on this 1989 Dodge Daytona.

Current mileage: 127,000.

I was wrong about the left side speakers, problem was the radio.

Replaced the suspension wear items (Shocks/Struts), brakes, and fuel system (yes, the WHOLE system).

Overall, I can't complain. The car has never left me stranded and continues to be fun. Probably going to start restoring it in the summer of 2005. Needs some body work, 16 years in New England will rust the best of cars.

1989 Dodge Daytona Turbo 2 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance124000 kilometres

Summary:

The horsepower is too high for reliability

Faults:

New clutch at 30,000km.

Half shaft at 35,000km.

Brakes at 40,000km.

New transmission at 55,000km.

New engine at 60,000km.

New clutch at 64,000km.

New shocks at 66,000km.

Front axle half shafts at 68,000 km.

About 5 sets of tires by now (LOL).

Paint on top side of car flaking off in big chunks.

At 90,000 a new timing belt, power steering pump and hose.

95,000 - new starter.

The car is fun to drive, but is not really made to drive with a lead foot all the time. Wanted the gas mileage a 4 cylinder gave, but would get a Mustang V-8 for reliability next.

General Comments:

Great handling, play with the boost and great performance for a 4 banger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

3rd Nov 2005, 13:47

It seems to me like you are a clutch kicker. Your transmission and clutch don't just die that early. Same goes for the engine. So before you start knocking the car first learn how to drive.

1989 Dodge Daytona Base 2.5 Non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Non turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

A real reliable car, I can always count on it

Faults:

All I have had to do to the car is a small amount of brake work, and a new muffler.

General Comments:

This car has been the most dependable car I have ever owned. A true economical car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

1989 Dodge Daytona Basic model 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

I got my money's worth and I'll keep it till she croaks

Faults:

Electric windows have a hard time rolling up in the winter.

Rust is forming all over the underneath.

Rust on bolts and hard to see places.

Windows leak since the rubber is becoming old.

The original paint job is a joke. I know people who have had to paint their Daytona because of bad "Clear Coat" on the paint. My clear coat has just about had it. I have tried all the recomended waxes for it, it's just a lousy paint job.

The ride is not smooth. This isn't a luxury car anyway.

My gauges go wacky and sometimes get stuck on my dashboard. My speedometer has to be tapped in the winter for it too work.

The plastics do not hold up very much, but I must say my dashboard is perfect.

No room for comfort for people that are 6 ft. tall. It's O.K. if you have small kids.

Replaced a timing chain and map sensor, oxygen sensor, EGR valve, and a few minor things.

I would say it's been a great car. Excellent on gas.

General Comments:

I'm going to keep it and paint it.

The gas mileage is great.

The body rot is the only thing!!!

It still has a lot of power and is great in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

19th Aug 2002, 19:58

I just test drove a Daytona and I am 6'5. I agree that the back seat is way too small for a taller person, but I believe that the front is one of the most comfortable I have been in. :)

22nd Aug 2002, 13:12

I'm the 2nd owner of 89 Daytona ES. I also have the same problems with some of the gauges sticking in winter (I, too, tap the dash to get them going.) My power windows are also having a hard time getting up, especially the driver's side. I've never parked the car in a garage and the paint on the roof is only just starting to fail. I attribute it to having used automatic car washes in the past 2 years or so; scratched up the finish pretty good.

24th Oct 2002, 09:52

I am 16 and I don't know a lot about cars, but I own a 1989 dodge daytona ES in my learning of cars this car is not the greatest car made by dodge first of all my car shakes, the timing chain is out of whack, the engine knocks. But besides that and my door sticks on the passenger side it is an excellent car for me.

Matt R. Lordemann

Omaha, NE.

16th Feb 2004, 09:38

I don't know how many people owned this car before me. At 110,000 miles, it had the engine replaced, due to a blown head gasket. That's when I bought it.

My passenger's side door sticks from the outside handle, but the inside handle works fine.

It has rusted panels. The worst is the undercarriage under the passenger side door.

I've replaced the heater control valve, the oxygen sensor, the thermostat, and the temperature control valve in the radiator.

My indicators stick, sometimes.

The fuel pump went out at 118,500 miles.

The paint job needs work.

The power steering pump failed at 107,600 miles, but you can drive the car without it if you remove the belt.

The rear hatch lifters have also been replaced.

I drive an average of 100 miles per day with this car. I get 20 mpg in heavy city traffic. Stability is great. improved shocks and struts have evened out the road feel. It's responsive and fun to drive.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 31 reviews