1989 Dodge Daytona Reviews - Page 2 of 8

1989 Dodge Daytona ES 2.5 Liter 4-cylinder from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired209603 miles
Most recent distance209673 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Good car for what I paid.

Faults:

Power steering pump is bad.

Tires were bald.

Had no lights at all.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive and has lots of power on the low end. (0-35 mph).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2005

1989 Dodge Daytona 2.2L Non-turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2L Non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 kilometres
Most recent distance285000 kilometres

Summary:

Buy a manual turbo Daytona for a decent car.

Faults:

Back window wiper doesn't work.

Power mirrors don't work.

Emergency Brake works 50/50.

Trunk must be held open by hand to put stuff in.

General Comments:

My Daytona is sporty looking, but automatic transmission and the non-turbo engine made the car sluggish.

The car also seems far too overweight, there were many a person who thought the door was locked when really it was the fact that the door weighed 50 tons.

Back seat space is non-existent, but the fold down seats and hatch make great cargo room.

Blind spots are absolutely horrible.

Very difficult to see the edge of the hood from drivers position.

Front seats are roomy and comfortable.

Installing my stereo system was easy, there was lots of room to work in, good places to hide wires, and the central dashboard is easy to work with.

Gas consumption was average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

15th Dec 2005, 13:46

You might enjoy www.allpar.com! I have an '87 Daytona Shelby Z and a '92 IROC (2.5L turbo, but not the R/T). I've solved quite a few maladies using that site.

Your rear hatch struts seem to be shot. You can pick them up from Autozone or O'Reilly (or any auto parts store) for around $25.00 and change them yourself. It takes about 3 minutes a side. You also need $5.00 worth of hinge pins for your door, and a friend to help. Go slow with the repair... you might want to find a small pry bar with a fairly sharp end on it, to get the old sleeves off the door. These sleeves get worn, which lets the door sag. Don't just replace the pins! Also (VERY important), grease the pins every other month and you shouldn't have anymore problems with the doors!

Check out the web site and look at the other links. There are so many little things you can do to make even the non-turbo, automatics go a little faster - and you don't have to have big bucks or know a good mechanic.

One other hint: buy a Haynes manual and use it! I've saved thousands of dollars in repairs by referring to the manual. Good luck!

1989 Dodge Daytona ES Turbo 2.5L turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

I love these cars!

Faults:

Replaced radiator which was corroded from the inside from sitting over two years in previous owner's backyard.

New tires, brakes, struts and shocks.

Replaced faded old aluminum rims with identical rims from a Le Baron at a salvage yard.

New muffler.

New timing belt.

Replaced the turbo and associated plumbing.

Had the car detailed inside, carpets shampooed, seats cleaned.

General Comments:

Considering car had sat for a while, it started and ran with a new battery, Charging system checked out and I drove it home. After a couple months and all the above replacements I had it repainted in the original red/ silver 2-tone ($2,700).

The 1989 Daytona with the 2.5L turbo is pretty rare and if you look at used ones for sale, if they are in good condition, the price is going up!

This is a great "undiscovered" car that is still available (if you hurry) for a good price and will be lots of fun to own and drive.

This is my second Daytona, I also own a 1985 Chrysler Laser and a 1990 Daytona ES 3.0L V6. You have to drive one to understand!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

21st Jan 2007, 20:21

I just recently bought an 89 dodge daytona es turbo. and it is by far the best car I have ever had. I love it. love the speed. love the looks love everything about it.

22nd Jun 2010, 13:09

I have a 1989 Dodge Daytona ES Turbo in Daytona Blue. I had it repainted a couple of years ago, and apparently they took the automatic window regulator out and bolted it back in instead of riveting it on, and the window wouldn't go up and down right. I have just had it "fixed" as good as it can be, as there are no parts being manufactured for the car any more. I love my car, but am wondering if something else happens, what will I do to repair it? Any suggestions for parts - where to get them? I hit a deer back in 2000, and they told me then that I had the last new OEM hood.

9th Jul 2010, 11:23

I bought a 1989 Dodge Daytona Turbo ES with a 2.4 L engine. I am having difficulty finding parts to replace the interior of this car. Would love to have black seats, the fuse cover that goes under the dash on the driver's side is bare metal, and though I painted it black, still noticed!

I will be restoring this car gradually, as I can find the parts. We tried using fabric/vinyl paint, but it is already rubbing off.

I will have to replace the A/C system, someone took it completely out, will I be able to find the replacement?

I have already replaced shocks, struts, tires, and other safety items. Now it's time to get started on cosmetics.

Anyone with any suggestions, please contact me @ ladywolf1953@yahoo.com

Will I be able to find replacement decals once the body work is finished and painted?

23rd Jan 2013, 05:29

As for your A/C, I have a place in Miami that has everything for your A/C (all new parts). Email address is ursodennis @yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 31 reviews