1990 Dodge Daytona 2.5 Inline 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Its worth the money you paid, not much!

Faults:

The throttle valve has gone at 110,000 miles and leaks gas into the air filter.

Trouble starting, you must push in gas to start when it's a fuel injected.

The suspension is going and the car is starting to tilt.

General Comments:

The car is a fast car, and even though it's a 1990 and 110,000 miles it still is in pretty good condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

1990 Dodge Daytona ES V6 from North America

Summary:

After 15 years still a handsome car and fun to drive... Lots of pep.

Faults:

Transmission went out early on. Chrysler replaced it at no cost.

Air Conditioner needed replacing after about 80,000 miles.

Driver's side door needs fixed. Hard to open.

Had to replace thermostat.

Had to replace alternator.

At 87,000 miles I'm replacing the timing belt and water pump. (Preventative.)

Hatchback had to be replaced early on. It hit me on the head. Is getting bad again.

General Comments:

Inside like new.

Runs as good as it did when I bought it off the show room floor.

Dependable when cared for.

Fun to drive.

Can be hard to get in and out of if you have a physical limitation or injury.

Seats may be too low for very short people.

Hatchback is not dependable and could be dangerous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

1990 Dodge Daytona C/S Turbo 2.5L turbo from North America

Summary:

Best car ever built

Faults:

Major problem - original rear disc brakes. Laminated pads freeze to rotor in winter then crack off backing plate. Fixed with NAPA replacement pads.

Lost fuel level sensor early.

Outside door handle problems - replaced.

General Comments:

Perfect paint (Flash Red) and turbo engine.

Started showing car in shows in 2003. Won some awards.

Driven every day for 15 years.

A/C kept its original charge.

It seems to get faster every year. 0-60 in 7+ seconds, 33MPG highway.

Drives better, starts better and more fun to drive than my 2003 Alero V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2005

1990 Dodge Daytona 2.5L from North America

Summary:

Good reliable car for the money

Faults:

Replaced the valve seal times in 7 years, and still has a tendency to leak around seal.

Replaced master brake cylinder at 96k miles, timing belt about 60-70k miles.

A/c compressor not working, but I didn't replace it as cost is about 400.

Starting to get some rust damage around lower part of doors.

Replaced muffler/piping from catalytic converter back at about 90k miles.

General Comments:

I have had this car for about 7 years and racked up about 60k miles on her. I can't really complain as it is very reliable. Drives well and is comfortable. As with any used care have normal wear and tear replacements.

I still recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

1990 Dodge Daytona Shelby 2.5 turbo intercooled from North America

Summary:

Shelby, enough said!

Faults:

When I bought the car I decided to rebuild the motor and get it modded up some, but before I did that I had to replace the engine mounts, shocks and struts and repair the power windows.

General Comments:

After putting about $4000 into the car, it's better than brand new. Parts are very cheap for the car so I have replaced just about everything you can.

Stock performance was impressive, but adding a racing cam, porting and polishing, adding a inter-cooler and larger fuel injectors and a flow master exhaust, the car's performance really became something to talk about.

My future mods for the car are to redo the interior, not that it needs it because the car was well taken car of, but I would like to make it look a bit better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2004

1990 Dodge Daytona Hatchback 2.5 from North America

Summary:

It sucks

Faults:

In almost one years time the fuel pump has gone four times. One time was caused by a defect in the pump. Recently it has gone again. The undercarriage is falling apart and you can see my floor boards. Now the head gasket is going at 132,000 odd miles. What next.

General Comments:

If it wasn't for the stuff that is wrong with it, generally it gets me to point A and then to point B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

27th Oct 2004, 00:29

I agree. My Daytona sucks also. Nothing but cooling system problems!! Gages don't work half the time!!! Also head gasket has been replaced and may have to be replaced again.

19th Sep 2006, 10:54

Do you take care of ur car or did you, but it used or was it bought from a personal owner. That might have something to do with it. But then again my dad is a mechanic so my car is always in good machanical condition.

20th Sep 2006, 13:10

LOL! I'm sorry, but your story is funny. LOL Everyone I know that has a Daytona has had nothing, but problems from the beginning. I think they look good they, I like the design of them and the doors especially. It's too bad Dodge didn't put good engineers on the job to keep they from falling apart. Sure wish I could have one, but I learn from other people not too. Sorry you didn't have much luck.

9th Jun 2007, 09:18

To fellow daytona owners, and perspective buyers,

Yes these cars do have their issues, but they are getting long in the tooth. I have 2 one with a t-bar roof and 4 banger and a 1990 with a v-6,with a few upgrades these cars haul butt. as for problems.yes.but I have owned more expensive and fancier cars and had more trouble with them and with many less miles on them as well, these cars are a bargain for their price tag and if you don't neglect them they are a fun car.

2nd Sep 2008, 22:26

My brother owned an '87 Shelby Daytona and I owned an '88. Both were great cars. I traded mine at 100,000 miles in perfect condition. All I ever had to do was replace the warped front brake rotors when the car was new. Chrysler refused to fix it. They are not much on honoring their warranty. My brother drove his 150,000 before trading it for a Mustang GT.

I have always loved the styling of the Daytona and would not mind having another one some day.