1990 Dodge Daytona Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1990 Dodge Daytona ES 2.5L 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Tons of good, sporty fun

Faults:

The headlamps and tail lights did not work, a simple repair fixed that.

The parking brake doesn't work. No problem though, I just park in 1st.

General Comments:

It's a very sporty looking car that handles great, and the manual transmission will get you going in no time.

The car is made to appeal to young people and does not fail. Sporty looks, fun to drive - what more could you ask for at such a cheap price?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

1990 Dodge Daytona Hatchback 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95471 miles
Most recent distance124007 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

More dependable than any other car I've owned

Faults:

Timing Belt Broke at 118,000 miles (O.E)

Fuel pump gave out at 121,000 miles (O.E)

Head liner starting to sag.

General Comments:

One of the finest running cars I've ever owned.

Interior is extremely comfortable.

Average miles per gallon in the 28 to 29 miles on highway travel, 24 to 25 in city.

I bought it as a backup car, but has become my daily driver.

It is a terrific car, must to been made on a Wednesday...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

1990 Dodge Daytona ES 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117232 miles
Most recent distance120203 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Style, Speed, and Economy

Faults:

I had to have my front and rear strut assemblies replaced.

I also replaced the lower ball joints on my front tires.

My Serpentine Belt was worn down badly. Replaced that.

The entire Belt Tensioner had to be replaced. It broke off when I loosened it to get to my Serp Belt...

My coolant hoses are going soft, but it's only because they haven't been changed since the car was made.

General Comments:

This is the first car I've owned and I have to say that I'm going to hang onto it as long as I can! I'm impressed with it on so many levels.

The car handles nice, and takes corners no problem.

This is also the MOST fuel efficient vehicle I've ever driven. Sames me much money on gasoline.

The cockpit is sweet looking. It's very appealing and all the functions are easily operated.

I can accelerate quickly, which is always a plus. The 3.0 Liter V6 it's carrying has a lot of untapped power in it. Very sweet.

One of the few bad things about it is that the tires for the Daytona are hard to find for some reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

1990 Dodge Daytona ES 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A true mopar rocket

Faults:

When I first purchased the car I boosted the turbo to 18 pounds, the stock turbo did not like that for too long.

General Comments:

The car pulls hard right to third gear.

However hooking up when the boost gets up is a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1990 Dodge Daytona Base 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118275 miles
Most recent distance124308 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

A great project car

Faults:

I had to replace my engine. I just recently had to replace my flywheel.

General Comments:

I like this model, although it has no engine cooling system for when it overheats, but its comfortable. In my particular car, it doesn't accelerate quickly until it nears or passes 20 miles per hour. My transmission's messed up in a way that it searches for the gear when I make a right turn at a certain angle at a certain speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2002

1990 Dodge Daytona ES 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired49530 miles
Most recent distance50459 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Beauty and attitude in one sleek package

Faults:

There's been no problems other than the tints on the car, which has a weird watery effect. This was due to the previous owner using Wind-ex on them not knowing that it contains ammonia. Luckily this is only the back windshield and, living in Connecticut, there's no tint restrictions on rear windshields.

General Comments:

I love this car and am very protective over it. It's my baby. It's generally not expensive to maintain, but buying the higher octane gas and keeping clean oil in it (for anyone who's had a turbocharged car, you'll know that when dirty oil is in the engine, it basically takes the life right out of it, and this could also blow your turbo).

Performance parts are nearly impossible to find, I have looked all over for them to no success.

The paint (the car is currently competition yellow with black pinstripes) is immaculate and shiny as the day it rolled off the showroom floor, and since the car's 12 years old, it's nice to see it's still a well kept car.

The car came with an all original 49k miles on it and I only spent $2200 for it, so I'd think I got a great deal on it.

These cars are fun on four wheels and with a lower insurance rate than eclipses and talons, it's nice to drive a comfortable 4 banger with attitude.

Anyone who's been offered a Dodge Daytona, get it, you won't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2002

4th Dec 2002, 18:37

In 1987-1988 Dodge made a 52mm throttle body for the 3.0 v6. So if you own an 1989-to present you only have a 47mm throttle body this is goos for up to 6-8hp!!!

27th Jan 2003, 13:10

I used to own a 1990 Dodge Daytona. it only had 43k on it and it had many problems. it was a 5 speed 4 banger with no turbo. I could not get the car to hold oil if my life depended on it. the door on the driver had a broken hinge after 2 weeks. the heater was not in working shape and the hatch leaked. the rust was not too bad. I could not find any parts for it. the ones I did find were relitivly cheap though. it had fair pick up, but it was not fun to drive. in my opinion I would get rid of it asap.

24th Nov 2003, 17:39

There are plenty of performance parts for these cars. Just visit FWDPerformance.com, ForwardMotionInc.com and RelentlessRacing.com to name a few. Chrysler Turbo's are some of the cheapest most mod friendly engines you can have. How does 300+ HP sound with not much more than about $2000 invested, if that much?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews