2002 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Summary:

Do not purchase one!

Faults:

Just like everyone else. My engine blew up the same day that I had my timing changed, which I paid $1361, and was then told it was due to lack of oil changes. My oil was changed the day before I took it in for a timing change. I am so upset because I just paid my car off! Now I am searching for a Engine and have been without a car for about 8 months and we have a 5 person family (the reason for choosing a durango). We we unable to go on vacation due to no vehicle that would hold us comfortably. I have spent so much money in this vehicle and it is still not running.

General Comments:

Do not purchase one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

10th Sep 2008, 12:05

I agree with you. My 2002 dodge durango started giving me problems very early on. My dashboard and driver's seat also came apart. The worst is when you call the dealer and ask wher e you can have it fixed nobody knows anything and worse they don't even try to find out. I will never buy a Dodge again.

2002 Dodge Durango SXT 4.7L V8 from North America

Summary:

A four wheel orgasm!

Faults:

A/C Died. Just needed a re-charge.

General Comments:

This truck is a four wheel drive fury.

Very dependable and a blast to drive.

Fits five adults well.

Tears through snow and mud with reckless abandon.

Talk about fast. The head rest might need replacing after your head being thrown back into it too many times.

2002 Dodge Durango SXT. If it were a man, and it were legal, I'd marry it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

2002 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Faults:

Master cylinder went bad and need to be replaced at 25000 miles.

Brakes do not respond quickly enough needs better braking system this is a family vehicle brake rotors should be larger for weight of vehicle.

Needs new rotors at 25000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle, but the safety issue with the braked rotors is disheartening.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

5th Mar 2005, 15:36

I own a 2002 Dodge Durango 4x4. I bought it seven months ago and already I fear my brakes would not stop me in time if I had to suddenly slam on them. The rotors are bad and I will be replacing them very soon. I had the recall done for the upper ball joints. I believe an investigation should be done to see if maybe there should be a recall on the rotors also. I do not believe the rotors are heavy enough to support the weight of the truck. How can a consumer go about complaining for this problem? I see I am not the only Durango owner left with this unsettling feeling!!!

2002 Dodge Durango SLT 4.6 V8 from North America

Summary:

Don't bother with A/C

Faults:

Air conditioning has not worked properly since I have owned the vehicle. The dealership keeps replacing the compressor (stating that there is an internal failure). I am on my third compressor after one year of ownership! Thank goodness for the manufacturer's warranty.

When the A/C does work, you can't hear yourself think! It puts out decibels of noise with hardly any air output.

Assorted rattles, creaks, and squeaks. Not a very solid-sounding vehicle.

General Comments:

I am in the middle of arbitration with DaimlerChrysler to get my money back under the lemon law.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

8th Jul 2004, 13:30

I don't think that you should hate dodge durango just because you got a bad one. I have had mine for quite some time and have had nothing wrong with it yet.

13th Nov 2009, 10:41

I have had a 2002 Durango since 2004. Problems with it are driver's heated seats, HUGE problems with the blower motor /resistor, after many dealer parts/repairs, the warranty ran out so I fixed it myself, all I did was use a larger gauge wire, and a better connector going to the heater/ resistor and has been fine since. Other than that, it'll pass anything but a gas station.

19th May 2010, 18:53

Hi, I have had my SXT Durango for about a year; 02, it has 149000 miles on it and I have had a couple of things go wrong with it, but I do love the truck, a family of five.

One thing that I've learned is that any truck or car is only as good as the person that maintenance it. Too many people complaining and not knowing anything about cars or trucks. You can just buy it and it will last forever, not. My truck will out pull, out work any 4runner. My friends have one and agree mine does better when stressed. Thank you Dodge.