2004 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2004 Dodge Durango Limited Hemi V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Hemi V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Nice style, moderate quality

Faults:

Both keys were defective. They don't work to remotely open or deactivate the alarm to the vehicle.

It is not the battery, but the actual key FOB that malfunctions/breaks.

General Comments:

Company doesn't stand behind it's products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

2004 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carHonda Pilot

Summary:

Best large SUV by far! A+++

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

I chose the 4.7 v8 in hopes of better fuel mileage. I get around 18 in town and 21 on a long trip. This is 2+ mpg better than the Honda. The 4.7 v8 is very quick and torquey. My brother bought a heavier 2006 Limited with the Hemi and I can tell very little real world difference. Has so much room behind the second seat that it serves as a pick up with a shell cover. I would have preferred a BMW X5 if I could have afforded it, but this truck does so many things well I have changed my mind. It is a vertable Swiss Army knife of a vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2006

22nd Mar 2006, 16:35

Wait till the auto tranny blows itself up.

19th Sep 2007, 07:18

I have 54k on my Durango and still running good very reliable.

I am surprised you are getting better gas mileage than the Honda Pilot.

4th Oct 2007, 22:11

I have a '04 durango with the 5.7 HEMI and I love it. I have 36,000+ miles on it and all I have done is change the oil. The only bad thing was the goodyear tires that were junk I replaced at about 10,000 but very satisfied.

2004 Dodge Durango ST 3.7 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

The lack of dependability and poor support from the manufacturer makes the Durango a poor choice

Faults:

Our Durango will fail to start (due to a computer problem) at the most inopportune times. We bought it to use camping and driving in the back country, but it has stranded is twice recently when we were hundreds of miles from home. We're afraid to drive it out of town. Even when driving in town, it has developed computer problems five times recently. The Chrysler national customer service line is of little help.

Chrysler is not interested in helping with the hundreds of dollars of expense we incur when it fails to start in remote locations.

It's a shame since the design and features of the Durango are very good, but if you can't trust it out of the city, it's of little value.

General Comments:

A few cars are always going to have computer problems. The biggest problem with the Durango is Chrysler's unwillingness to stand behind the original warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

2004 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 Litre V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7 Litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carHonda Element

Summary:

Excellent!

Faults:

Battery recall.

General Comments:

V8 is very torquey and felt smoother than Hemi.

Only one gallon per mile less than Honda Element!

Power, ride, quiet, and handling much better than the Pilot I test drove.

Much more refined than Pilot, Tahoe, and Sequoia (my second choice)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2005

2004 Dodge Durango Limited 5.7 Liter Hemi from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

This vehicle makes me feel like a kid again

Faults:

Nothing to report at this time.

General Comments:

I'm 40 years young and have had the privilege of owning many great vehicles. Past vehicles include luxuries, compacts, trucks, and muscle cars to name a few. I can honestly say this 2004 Dodge Durango Limited with the Hemi is the most awesome vehicle I have ever owned! Acceleration, handling, and comfort is absolutely superb. I should also mention the factory 368 watt Infinity stereo system that is not for the driver with the weak heart. There is no comparison to the rough riding poor performance 99 Durango I recently sold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

2004 Dodge Durango SLT from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles

Summary:

Maybe it's just our truck, but this purchase was a mistake that we sorely regret.

Faults:

Have had the front control module replaced twice. Once after 6 days of owning the truck, and then again at 20,000 miles.

Have had the driver's seat belt cover replaced 5 times since it keeps breaking.

Wouldn't go more than 25 mph 1 month after we had it. Had to have fuel injectors replaced.

There were seriously loud crunching noises coming from the front end. Had to have the whole front suspension totally replaced... at 22000 miles... and it's still making grinding crunching noises. They're calling in the corporate technicians now since they don't know what else it could be.

General Comments:

Very roomy inside and great dealer service.

I love the look and feel of this beautiful machine, but the lack of reliability outweighs everything. We have been stranded on more than one occasion and it seems like the truck is always in the shop. Dodge only offers a base rental when the truck is being fixed so we are stuck with the bill for upgraded cars since can't all fit in small car. A lot of hassle for a brand new truck. We actually had to buy a used car since our new truck is so unreliable!

Buying the new Dodge Durango SLT was a huge mistake for us. It is one trip away from implementing the lemon law. Dodge should be embarrassed of all the problems we have encountered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2005

22nd Jul 2005, 13:47

We have had two Dodge Durango's so far, and we have never once had one problem of any kind in either of the vehicles. They've always been excellent in every way and we kept pristine care of each one. They are an excellent vehicle...it's just unfortunate that you had a problem. They say there's a lemon in every bunch, so you must have gotten stuck with the lemon. Sorry you had problems, but it's the most reliable transportation on the market.

10th Dec 2008, 20:27

I bought my 2003 Durango SLT 4.7 V8 4WD new and I have to say this is the best vehicle I ever owned.

As of now I have 28,400 miles on it, and nothing has gone wrong outside the normal stuff like tires and a couple of recalls.

This will probably be the last new car I ever buy. I am more than satisfied with its looks, durability and dependability. Chrysler did a good service making this SUV. If they could only put as much pride in all their vehicles as they did in this one.

Here it is January 10th 2008 and no complaints about this vehicle. Mileage is 28,400 miles.

30th Jul 2010, 11:05

2004 Durango was a new body style, therefore different problems/issues that are unrelated to earlier models.

16th Aug 2010, 19:58

We purchased a new 2004 Dodge Durango and have had terrible experiences with it.

We have maintained it as per the owners manual and drive it as a family vehicle, but still have a very expensive paperweight.

We have had to replace the engine, the oil pump, the water pump, the radiator, thermostat, and I could go on and on. We also have electrical problems such as the windshield wipers stopping or going on randomly.

Currently we have to replace the transfer case, which is the last straw. Dodge has been less than helpful even though we have all of our service records and purchased the extended warranty.

Unfortunately this is the second new Dodge vehicle we have had trouble with. We purchased the Durango when we had a Dodge Intrepid, also purchased new, that had the transmission fail at 37k. Both vehicles were maintained by a local Dodge dealer.

Unfortunately, when we are now shopping for a new vehicle, we will not even consider another Dodge.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews