2004 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2004 Dodge Durango Hemi from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Hemi Automatic
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Faults:

My CD player does not work, but my radio does.

Every time it rains, my check engine light comes on and my car shakes. The light turns off and it stops shaking after about a week. This last time it's been a week, and it still shakes and the engine light is still on.

For some reason, my front tires wear out really fast, and only on one side of the tire. I bought the tire in April, and now it's wire on one side.

My husband regrets buying it for me. He knows cars, but this one is too difficult.

Should I sell it and get rid of the problem? But I really love my car, there's just always something wrong with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2010

5th Sep 2011, 11:26

Our 2004 Durango does the same thing; every time it rains, it shakes. Does anyone know why?

10th Sep 2011, 18:13

My 2004 does the same thing in the rain. After much research, it seems that it is extremely common with the 2004 Durangos. Apparently Dodge is taking no responsibility...

2004 Dodge Durango XLT 5.7 Liter Hemi V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 Liter Hemi V8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

For a modern automobile, it was dreadfully pathetic

Faults:

Where do I begin? That truck was one of the WORST vehicles my family ever purchased. It was not right the day it came out of the factory because of the dog house over the engine could not repel the heat created by the massive engine, which literally melted the computer equipment for the car's "brain" and stereo equipment. It was so bad that Chrysler had to recall it and put in heat shields to protect the controls.

Then, the computer equipment itself was faulty to begin with. The novel idea of shutting down half of the cylinders while cruising to save fuel was the one thing the computer could not handle. It constantly revved irregularly on its own and eventually came to the point where it fried itself. Once again, the company did a recall around the same time and replaced the computer units.

Another problem was fuel consumption. It was a thirsty beast, around the same time that the country was going through the Iraqi gas crisis. It had an AWD system that could not be shut off.

The worst problem, though, was its faulty advertising. Chrysler advertised it as a true mountain goat S.U.V. like its Jeep cousins. We took it into the Gila National Forrest in New Mexico, where most of the ride, it was never on more than three wheels. On the way back home, there was a horrible sound of wind whipping through the cabin. It never went away because, as it turned out, the frame was bent! The entire truck was practically built off of a minivan chassis and could not stand up to any severe offroading. We had to get rid of it.

General Comments:

The only good part of the truck was that the engine was brilliant. It was zero to sixty in about ten seconds, which is incredibly good for a production S.U.V. You would be flying past traffic in a vehicle high enough to look into neighboring cars.

The cabin was pretty cheesy. With the plastic dashboard, plastic doors, and cheapo carpeting that lined the entire interior, it felt like you were back in the 1970's driving in your Chiffon Yellow AMC Pacer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2009

5th Oct 2009, 00:01

Absolutely not correct, never had a problem except for driver door adjusting. Perfect in the mountains, great on the highway and nice in the city. MDI wasn't available in 2004, check your facts!

16th Oct 2009, 09:02

This year, the expected residual value for a Durango after five years is just 18% of its original price. Truly pathetic!

2004 Dodge Durango 5.7L Hemi from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L Hemi Don't Know
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This car is an accident waiting to happen

Faults:

At least 5 times as many as 6 warning lights have come on as well, as the check engine light. The last time it happened I hit the brake at the same time the warning lights came on and the brake pedal went to the floor. We were all nearly killed in an intersection. When I stopped, I had a brake pedal again, but also a check engine light. Took to the dealer (for the third time) who reset check engine light and told me that nothing was wrong and that the brakes cannot go to the floor. I told him to drive it for a month and see, He refused. They did a recall for a control unit under the dash and hadn't had problem for 4 months. It happened again yesterday.

I have also reported that the engine sometimes revs way up and I barely make any headway. This goes on for 5-10 minutes and goes back to normal. Checked twice by 2 dealers and was told they cannot duplicate the problem. I am not driving the car, and have 9 mos. left on the lease and it's sitting in the garage. It's trash.

General Comments:

This car is a death trap and should be banned from the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2008

8th Feb 2009, 08:37

I have a 2004 Dodge Durango and have been experiencing the same issues, braking, engine revving up and engine stalling out. Each time I have taken to the dealer and they said nothing was wrong with the car.

The braking problem happened today, February 8, 2009, in an intersection. The pedal went to the floor, but the Durango did not stop. It made a buzzing noise. The road was dry. Lucky for me nothing was coming. I had to turn off the 4.7L Durango and restart it. The brakes worked fine again, although my confidence is low.

As for the revving issue and going nowhere, the dealer told me it was a common problem with a All Wheel Drive Durango, and would not cause any problems.

As for the Durango stalling out, it mostly happens when I am backing out of my driveway, stop, and put the Durango into drive. I turn the wheel and it shuts off completely, and I mean completely. No warning lights, nothing. It is just as if the Durango had the plug pulled on it. I restart it and everything is fine again. The Dealer cannot find anything wrong with it at all.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews