2004 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2004 Dodge Durango LTD 5.7 HEMI from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 HEMI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Powerful, stylish and great to look at

Faults:

I am having a problem with the battery not holding a charge, the dealer has replaced the battery three times in the last 3 months. The cargo light indicator on the dash stays on when the rear lid is closed, If you open and close the lid twice, it goes off, If not is stays on while you drive, The dealer replaced the rear latch mechanism and it still does the same thing. Other than this the Durango is GREAT, I had a 98 before this one and there is NO comparison, the 98 was a beast, it rode hard, no power and guzzled the gas, The new one still guzzles the gas, but the Hemi is awesome, The ride is awesome and the handling is superb,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

3rd Apr 2005, 08:59

Is anyone having trouble with their 2005 Limited Durango headrest hitting them right in the wrong place in the back of your head? Thanks.

If this is okay to get responses: katmat@clatskanie.com

2004 Dodge Durango SLT HEmi from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission HEmi Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

I do love my Dodge, Durango

Faults:

I have been having problems with it stalling. It stops running, no check engine light comes on. I had it in for service and they said you have to use high octane gas with the Hemi engines. So I started using higher octane gas and octane booster. I still have had a problem with it stalling.

I also had a problem with it shifting, it would not shift and stayed at 30mph.

General Comments:

I have to say I had a 2003 Dodge Durango and this vehicle saved my life in a head on crash. I feel if I was not in the vehicle I was in I would not be her to type this. This is why I decided to buy another Dodge Durango.. For the impact I took, there was not much intrusion into the driver's compartment. The vehicle was totaled, but I was hit by a pickup doing approx. 40-45mph head on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

1st Mar 2008, 22:50

My 2004 Durango stalled once. It happened on a trip to Florida. My wife and I were at a rest stop and I had forgot to lock the car. After it stalled, I locked and then unlocked the car with the key fob and it started and ran fine. I made the assumption that it had something to do with the security system. It hasn't stalled since.

2004 Dodge Durango LImited Hemi from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Lots of Power and Luxury

Faults:

The rubber gasket around the shifter keeps coming loose.

The leather seats mar easily.

General Comments:

I love the luxury of this car. It rides very smoothly and is quiet. The DVD player keeps the kids entertained and I can still listen to my Sirius radio.

The gas mileage on my Durango does fine in the city, but when towing anything, goes down drastically. The Hemi has lots of power, but when you put your foot down and speed up, the gas mileage goes to the dogs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

29th Dec 2004, 22:56

I had a 2001 Dodge Durango R/t and I loved every thing about the truck except the gas mileage. I was unfortunate to roll it over onto its wheels again. I was injured some, but the roll bars that are built in to it saved my life. I bought me a new 2004 Dodge Durango and I love it except for one thing. I miss my heated seats really bad, They are very good trucks.

2004 Dodge Durango limited HEMI from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission HEMI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Previous carDodge Jeep Cherokee Countr

Summary:

The Jury is still out. Is this a start of my problems?

Faults:

I bought the car and before I could get off the car lot, it would not start unless I pumped the gas pedal. I was told it was needing to be driven. at 6,000 miles, the check engine light came on. It is now in the shop with need of all new injectors. Two days in a rental. I rented a Ford f150 crew cab. nice... I also have problems with the air bag light indicating that they are disengaged.

General Comments:

The car is still in the shop, keep you posted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

1st Dec 2004, 15:03

You used to have a Dodge Jeep Cherokee?

Is that like a Chevy Oldsmobile Cutlass?

17th Jan 2005, 23:16

First off, you can't flood a fuel injection vehicle by pumping the gas pedal!!!

Second you should not pump the gas pedal on a fuel injected vehicle prior to and/or during the starting process!!!

This would explain the fuel injectors needing replacement!!!

2nd Mar 2005, 19:15

That is correct - also on the Hemi it is ETC - Electronic Thottle Control - so there is no mechanical contact between pedal and engine, its just a spring to make it feel like it.

The OCS (Airbag lights) is an issue all manuf. are having. Its getting better though.

2nd May 2005, 07:35

I own a 2004 dodge durango hemi limited and I have been having the Engine light problem for over a month, it has been into the dealer more times this month than any other car I have owned. To date they technicians cannot resolve the problem. The light goes off for 3 days and then is back again. Chrysler Customer service cannot offer any help... so good luck.

2004 Dodge Durango SLT V8 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carAcura MDX

Summary:

Give me American made any day!

Faults:

I have had no problems what so ever with my Dodge Durango SLT!

General Comments:

I have had this SUV for almost five months and I love it!

I have three children under 7 years of age and it is so roomy.

We have taken this SUV to Houston twice now and it has been a pleasure both times.

It rides very smooth and the air conditioning is very powerful and very cold fast, especially for living in Louisiana.

You don't get very good gas mileage (maybe 14 miles to gallon),however, I cannot expect much more for a large V8 vehicle.

I will definitely buy American made from now on!!

I have had nothing, but foreign cars before and have found them to be very expensive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2004

3rd Oct 2004, 19:27

After five months a new car should run like that. The test comes around 50,000 and the final exam around 200,000.

18th Oct 2004, 09:49

I'm not sure about that... 5 months is way too early, but I would say that 25k-30k is right around where the first test is, then 60k and final around 100k miles. Anything past 100k and it's still running like a champ, then consider yourself lucky.

2004 Dodge Durango Limited Hemi V.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Hemi V.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49 miles
Most recent distance84 miles
Previous carDodge Accord

Summary:

A beautiful car though I got a lemon

Faults:

The alarm system failed four times within a week and a half.

The electrical was affected by the alarm.

Car would not drive due to the failed alarm system.

The car would be service and the alarm replaced and the car still would not perform.

General Comments:

This car is beautiful and very spacious.

Everything I had wanted in a vehicle except for the numerous problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews